• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help with Absence of sensor information for Nvidia K20 Using GPU-Z

daf

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I need help with this since w/o GPU-Z sensor information I have no way of knowing the load on the GPU.
I have been unsuccessful in getting GPU-Z to work correctly with the K20c card. GPU-Z displays "0" for frequency and doesn't show any of the GPU load or memory sensing information.

My system consists of a Win7, i7-4960X cpu, Asus MB, a AMD Radeon 7800 card drives the display and a Nvidia K20c GPU (which is used for computing and doesn't have any provision to drive a display).

Previously, I had the Nvidia C2070 in the same system (same slot) and GPU-Z worked perfectly.

I tried with Nvidia Drivers 332.5 as well as the newest drivers. I also tried several older versions of GPU-Z.

This appears to be a common problem, but based on a perusal through the Forum database there are some K20 users who are successfully using GPU-Z for the K20.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
522 (0.15/day)
Likes
203
#2
I need help with this since w/o GPU-Z sensor information I have no way of knowing the load on the GPU.
I have been unsuccessful in getting GPU-Z to work correctly with the K20c card. GPU-Z displays "0" for frequency and doesn't show any of the GPU load or memory sensing information.

My system consists of a Win7, i7-4960X cpu, Asus MB, a AMD Radeon 7800 card drives the display.

Previously, I had the Nvidia C2070 in the same system (same slot) and GPU-Z worked perfectly.

I tried with Nvidia Drivers 332.5 as well as the newest drivers. I also tried several older versions of GPU-Z.

This appears to be a common problem, but based on a perusal through the Forum database there are some K20 users who are successfully using GPU-Z for the K20.
If I am reading this right, you are trying to install Nvidia drivers for a 7800 series AMD card. If so, you need to clean uninstall all Nvidia drivers using something like driversweeper (or whatever the new name is now) and install Catalyst drivers from AMD. http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

Edit: After reading again, are you using a Nvidia Tesla card and an AMD 7800 card at the same time?
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.61/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#3
If I am reading this right, you are trying to install Nvidia drivers for a 7800 series AMD card. If so, you need to clean uninstall all Nvidia drivers using something like driversweeper (or whatever the new name is now) and install Catalyst drivers from AMD. http://support.amd.com/en-us/download
You read it wrong. The Tesla K20 is not showing sensor information in GPU-Z. He made no claim of an issue with the AMD card
 

daf

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
I need help with this since w/o GPU-Z sensor information I have no way of knowing the load on the GPU.
I have been unsuccessful in getting GPU-Z to work correctly with the K20c card. GPU-Z displays "0" for frequency and doesn't show any of the GPU load or memory sensing information.

My system consists of a Win7, i7-4960X cpu, Asus MB, a AMD Radeon 7800 card drives the display.

Previously, I had the Nvidia C2070 in the same system (same slot) and GPU-Z worked perfectly.

I tried with Nvidia Drivers 332.5 as well as the newest drivers. I also tried several older versions of GPU-Z.

This appears to be a common problem, but based on a perusal through the Forum database there are some K20 users who are successfully using GPU-Z for the K20.
I am sorry it wasn't clear. I also have a Nvidia K20c installed for computation. This card appears to be working. It's the GPU-Z tool that I am trying to get working.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
522 (0.15/day)
Likes
203
#5
You read it wrong. The Tesla K20 is not showing sensor information in GPU-Z. He made no claim of an issue with the AMD card

He did mention a 7800 series card in the system and changed the OT to explain it. He is using both an AMD and Nvidia card. though only one for the display. My guess would be a driver issue since IIRC it is a pain to get the two sets of drivers to play nice together
 

daf

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
You read it wrong. The Tesla K20 is not showing sensor information in GPU-Z. He made no claim of an issue with the AMD card
Yes that is correct, I also clarified my posting. w/o GPU-Z working there is no way to know for sure what is going on with the K20c.
 

daf

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Yes. T
If I am reading this right, you are trying to install Nvidia drivers for a 7800 series AMD card. If so, you need to clean uninstall all Nvidia drivers using something like driversweeper (or whatever the new name is now) and install Catalyst drivers from AMD. http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

Edit: After reading again, are you using a Nvidia Tesla card and an AMD 7800 card at the same time?
Yes. Previously I had the Nvidia C2070 card in the same slot and configuration and the GPU-Z tool worked perfectly.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.61/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#8
Yes that is correct, I also clarified my posting. w/o GPU-Z working there is no way to know for sure what is going on with the K20c.
Have you tried using nvidia's monitoring tool? Just curious if it can read the sensors.

GPU MONITORING
The GPU monitoring software for Tesla is available using the nvsmi tool. This tool currently gives the GPU temperature, the fan speed, and also the ECC information. nvsmi will continue to evolve as we add more GPU monitoring features.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/software-for-tesla-products.html
http://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/6_0/rel/gdk/nvidia-smi.331.38.pdf

Located at: C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI
 

daf

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
Does that utility work? While GPU-Z does not work when started at the same time?
 

daf

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Does that utility work? While GPU-Z does not work when started at the same time?
Yes, indeed the Nvidia tools works with all the information. But it needs to be toggled every time I need the info so it's possible that I will miss important events. Also there is no graphics.

I want to add that I looked more into the Nvidia (nvidia-smi.exe) tool and it has an option for continuous updates.
 
Last edited: