• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with an old AOC LED 22'' TV and a old Intel HD Graphics card resolution issue!!!

HighFrog

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
3 (0.06/day)
Hi guys.

I recently found an old laptop that my father used to have (i3-2nd generation with Intel HD 3000) so I try to connect the laptop via HDMI to an old AOC TV, the problem is that when I try to put the 1920x1080 resolution it looks ugly, the letters were ugly, it was blocky and fuzzy. This just happen with that resolution, bc when I change to 1680x1050, the colors return to the normal scale and the sharpness on the edges disappear at all.

My question is if there's a solution for this, like tweak the settings on the Intel software or something...

Thanks...
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
1,221 (0.21/day)
System Name Seriously ?
Processor Core i7 4790K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling Alpenföhne Broken 120 + 2 huge coolermaster chassis fans
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 2133Mhz Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce RTX 2070
Storage 1x Kingston SA400 128GB / 1x Crucial CT1050MX300 1TB / 1x Sandisk SSD Plus 1TB
Display(s) 40" Samsung UE40ES5500
Case Cooler Master HAF932
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Microsoft intellimouse optical
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/vmb641
hi, what is the native resolution & refresh rate of this AOC ? (you can get the info in the on-screen display menu)
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,174 (0.22/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Are you sure the TV is actually 1080p and not just 720p (HD ready) like a lot of older TV's were? Also older tft TV's don't look as good as actual computer monitors and you will find text blurred and see pixels/just get an overall poorer quality picture
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,627 (4.17/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
I had a TV that accepted 1080p but was in fact a 768p panel and it would look horrible. Probably the same with yours.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
57 (1.12/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Seems like some sort of incompatibility with the aspect ratio going on there between your GPU, connector & TV. You are trying to display a 16:9 aspect ratio while the image seems better with a 16:10 aspect ratio. What is your TV's native resolution & aspect ratio?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,488 (4.39/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Using the Laptop's display settings, Detect the external display and set to fit to screen and native resolution.
 

HighFrog

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
3 (0.06/day)
Hi guys, I was a little bit busy sorry for taking to long to answer.
I found this information on the user manual of the TV:

1.PNG


Also I found this information about resolutions if it's useful on something:

2.PNG

The TV model is the L22A1321

Are you sure the TV is actually 1080p and not just 720p (HD ready) like a lot of older TV's were? Also older tft TV's don't look as good as actual computer monitors and you will find text blurred and see pixels/just get an overall poorer quality picture
I was thinking a lot on that, bc it was a little bit cheap, but I'm curious about why the 1920x1080 resolution doesn't seems to work

I try to reach the TV setting to apply the "explorer mode" but doesn't seems to be active on the settings.
 
Last edited:

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
57 (1.12/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Hi guys, I was a little bit busy sorry for taking to long to answer.
I found this information on the user manual of the TV:

View attachment 164567

Also I found this information about resolutions if it's useful on something:

View attachment 164576
The TV model is the L22A1321


I was thinking a lot on that, bc it was a little bit cheap, but I'm curious about why the 1920x1080 resolution doesn't seems to work

I try to reach the TV setting to apply the "explorer mode" but doesn't seems to be active on the settings.
Your TV model is the middle chart with the 22 inch panel size right?
What about your laptop's native and/or max resolution as well as aspect ratio?
Also try out Caring1's solution.
 

HighFrog

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
3 (0.06/day)
Your TV model is the middle chart with the 22 inch panel size right?
What about your laptop's native and/or max resolution as well as aspect ratio?
Also try out Caring1's solution.
Yeah is the middle chart, mmm I think the native and max resolution on the laptop is 1366 x 768 and the aspect is 16:9. The thing is that I connected the same laptop to a 45'' Smart TV, the resolution was on 1920x1080 and it was ok, I think is more a problem of the TV.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,488 (4.39/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Look through the input menu on the AOC TV and select PC if it has it otherwise HDMI will have to do.
As mentioned previously go through the display settings of the laptop and find the display layout settings and detect the second screen, you can also set the AOC as primary if you wish and it will detect settings for that screen.
 
Top