• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help with NVMe

Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#1
Was ashamed to ask here again, i don't like busting people's privates..
But i don't think i'll be getting anywhere.. anywhere else, lol, so here it goes!
(And where is that donate button? Something to make me feel a bit less *censored*?)

Everything seems fine with the new rig thus far, except this one thing, Samsung Magician sees my Nvme as a PCIE x2.0 (read speeds accordingly topping at about 1,8k). Now since said same drive went as PCIE x3.0 in the previous mobo, i know it's either my doing or the new mobo's, but that's about as far as i've taken it. If you're still reading and assuming you own the same or similar mobo (Asus X99 Deluxe II), let me copy paste all relevant info:

- Latest drivers, so it's not that. BIOS, OS, the Nvme itself, all up to date.
- My drive is mounted on a platform that's installed ON the PCIExpress slots. It is -not- installed in the motherboard's vertical socket. Have tried two different platforms, my old one and the included HyperX module, same issue.
- Have had the same problem whether i mounted the drive at PCIEx16_3 [slot 4 going down], or PCIEx16_5 [slot 6].
- In case you're wondering about lanes: GPU at PCIEx16_1 [slot 1], sound card at PCIEx16_2 [slot 3]. Everything else unoccupied.
- In the BIOS, under "NB PCI-E Configuration", all slots are set to run as gen3
- In the BIOS, under 'OnBoard Devices Configuration', "U.2_2 Bandwidth" was set to Auto when i tried mounting it at [slot 4]PCIEx16_3.
(the other option being disabled, in which case obviously drive is not even 'seen').
- In the BIOS, under 'OnBoard Devices Configuration', "PCIEx16_5 Bandwidth" was set to 4x when i tried mounting it at (slot 6)PCIEx16_5.
(tried 8x just to be sure and, logically as they share lanes, it couldn't 'see' the drive. So at x4).
((both slots, same issue))
(((can't try slot 5/PCIEx16_4, as it shares with slot 1 and doing so would lower the gpu at a x8)))

What can i be missing?

Relevant schems:





Needless to reiterate, but my sincere thanks. If only for reading :)
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,905 (6.25/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#2
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/X99-DELUXE-II/specifications/
40-Lane CPU-
4 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (x16, x16/x16, x16/x16/x8, x8/x8/x8/x8) *1:pCIe x16_3 shares bandwidth with M.2 and U.2_2. It runs at x16 mode by default. PCIe X16_5 shares bandwidth with U.2_1. It runs at x4 mode by default with U.2_1 enabled.
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x1 mode)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (max at x4 mode) *3: PCIe x16_2 shares bandwidth with USB3_34 and USB 3.1_EA34. It runs at x2 mode by default.
1 x PCIe 2.0 x1

I think the problem is your "platform." I assume this "platform" is a PCI Express card with two M.2 slots. It likely has a PCI Express 2.0 chip on it.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#3
It likely has a PCI Express 2.0 chip on it.
Thanks for replying :)

After a lot of trial and error, i thought about that too, but discounted it.
Kinda tragic if a mobo of this value cannot do what a 150bucks cheaper one could, lol
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
116 (0.08/day)
Likes
53
Location
Prague CZ
Processor 8700k
Motherboard z370 extreme 4
Cooling EK CPU, GPU
Memory 32GB ddr4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080ti WC
Storage 500GB wd black nvme, 2x750gb mx300 raid0
Display(s) dell 34 Ultrawide
Case Lian-Li PC10
Audio Device(s) BW MM1
Power Supply Corsair SF600
#4
I have looked at the manual, m.2 shares lines with pcie x16_3,
have you tried removing the sound card?
if nothing works you can get pcie x4 to m.2 adapter card - cheap stuff
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#5
I have looked at the manual, m.2 shares lines with pcie x16_3,
have you tried removing the sound card?
if nothing works you can get pcie x4 to m.2 adapter card - cheap stuff
- The sound card is in slot 3/PCIEx16_2, which (to my poor understanding) is one of the two "fixed" PCIE 2.0 slots (the other being out of the question anyway, covered entirely by the GPU). Sound card runs on x1.0 anyway, so no problem there. Slotting it elsewhere would have more serious consequences than leaving it there; where it is, i lose one USB at the back, have a second USB again at the back becoming USB2.0. Don't use either, so that's fine. Move it, and i force another PCIE lane to drop to 8x without gaining anywhere else.
Long story short, lol, unless the manual has an error, i think the sound card is where it should be?

- I saw m.2 and 16_3 share lanes, yeah.. except:
a) the actual m.2 slot is empty, so nothing is holding the 16_3 back.
b) even if somehow that doesn't matter (ie they share even when one is disabled), be reminded problem persists even if i move the drive elsewhere. Tried another "x3.0" slot and have had the same exact thing.

- Am not sure i follow regarding the adapter.. is it something different than these two i currently own? Cause them two haven't helped..
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboard-Accessory/HYPER_M2_X4_MINI_CARD/
http://www.aquatuning.us/water-cool...e-3.0-x4-adapter-fuer-m.2-ngff-pcie-ssd-m-key

Edit: the one thing i haven't tried is mounting the drive on the vertical slot. Just refraining from doing so as:
i) it's in a really bad spot, will literally be hugging the fourth RAM; also, way they made it, it will be facing 'the wrong way', ie no air hitting it from any of my fans.
ii) theoretically it shouldn't make a difference, considering the shared lane. If mounted vertically, horizontal is free, full lane; if mounted horizontally, vertical is free, so again full lane. Right? :S

If all else fails (try Wales), i might give it a shot though.. (am really starting to hate X99, lol)
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,905 (6.25/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#6
Hyper M.2 explicitly says PCI Express 3.0, kryoM.2 does not.

#1 PCIEx16_1 contains the video card.

#2 PCIEx16_2 "shares bandwidth with USB3_34 and USB 3.1_EA34. It runs at x2 mode by default." I know you have your sound card in this slot. Do you have anything in the USB3_34 (front panel header) and USB 3.1_EA34 (rear port) ports?

#3 The motherboard M.2 slot only supports SATA protocol, not NVMe. Putting anything in there will mess with the PCIEx16_3 slot.

#4 PCIEx16_4 to my understanding is empty.

#5 The motherboard U.2 slot does support NVMe but, well, going down that path is kind of nonsense. You found some U.2 options in the motherboard. I'd just disable that U.2 if it lets you because it's not really something anyone is going to be using unless they bought one of the first Intel NVMe cards that were available on the market. Putting anything in there will mess with the PCIEx16_5 slot.

Handy dandy PDF...
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb...e-o.pdf?_ga=1.230343196.1867268488.1487031336

It has an SLI/crossfire switch. What position is it in?


In your situation, I think I would go full retard:

1) set SLI/crossfire switch to 3-way:
#1 video card (3.0 x16)
#2 empty
#3 Hyper M.2 + Samsung 960 Pro (3.0 x16)
#4 empty
#5 sound card (3.0 x8)

2) Make sure all integrated M.2 and U.2 slots are unused.

3)




Edit: HOLD THE PHONE! Hyper M.2 NVM Express SSD support available with the ASUS Hyper Kit* (*Sold separately)

That rabbit hole is full of stupid, toss the Hyper M.2 aside! ...


Edit: Looking at that kyroM.2, it makes zero mention of NVMe too. Both are worthless for this endeavor by the looks of it.


Edit: Here's an example of one that says it explicitly supports NVMe:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017JGVTAM/?tag=tec06d-20
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#7
Damn, thanks for all the effort man! :)

I know the Kryo doesn't mention, but it does support it. Used it on the Gigabyte x99 mobo, drive showed as x3.0, read speeds and IOPS as advertized.

Now as to the rest, lol

#1 yes
#2 no, nothing on either USB slot. When i'm clueless, i play it safe, lol
#3 glad to know i did the right thing :)
#4 yes, tried there too, messed my gpu (brought it down to x8), so now it's empty
#5 i know, have it disabled too where possible (one option only gives you auto/enabled, so that one's on 'auto')

Jeesus.. you think it's the SLI switch? hahahahaha, ima gonna go out naked if it's that! Will try it, lol..
(have it at the leftmost setting currently, ie /one gpu)

As to the link, once again, thanks for all the effort, but i swear to you, the Kryo didn't prevent the Nvme from showing up as x3.0 in the other mobo, 101% certain on that. I checked, lol
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,905 (6.25/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
The reason for the using the SLI switch is because it should theoretically force the lanes to be as advertised (and there's no way for them to be PCIe 2.0).
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,242 (4.71/day)
Likes
17,385
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
#9
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#10
Liked it too :)

Did the switch thingy, same old, lol.. 2.0 x4
Ah well, least i tried.

And again everyone, many many thanks for everything. Really appreciate it.
/bow
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#11
Update:

(disclaimer being that this is based solely on user comments, rather than anything official)

Looks like @FordGT90Concept pointed the right way after all..
To my current and revised understanding,
i) the mobo-included https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboard-Accessory/HYPER_M2_X4_MINI_CARD/ only helps so as for you to mount an m.2 horizontally; that's all it does. It's "Nvme-agmostic".
ii) the mobo itself, being a rebrand of a rebrand, is also "Nvme-agnostic", incapable of natively (is that the word?) supporting Nvme, like other, a LOT cheaper boards can. Which is why my other adapter didn't do anything either..

To have an Nvme driven at 3.0 x4, you need this and only this, unrelated to the adapter above: https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Accessory/Hyper_Kit/
(no, not others like it, this one is specific; read on)

- Assuming you have it, you need then go into BIOS settings, into PCH configuration (whatever that is), into SATA, and then click on 'enable Asus hyper kit'. Theoretically, this will make your stupid re-re-branded 500bucks (lol...) mobo drive the disk as it should have in the first place.
- (optionally) you can plug said https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Accessory/Hyper_Kit/ onto the included https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboard-Accessory/HYPER_M2_X4_MINI_CARD/ onto a PCIe slot, so as to not have anything mounted on the mobo ittself.

Now considering this is all just user comments (thank god for newegg sometimes) and that Asus has literally ignored me thus far, may well be i'll spending another 30ish bucks for nothing. But i'm gonna try and see if that sorts it. Am covered in everything else, so assuming this DOES work, the hell with it, i'll pay the extra.
Wil post back when it's all done; so you can all laugh, lol

/fingers crossed
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,905 (6.25/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#12
How does the Hyper Kit help though? All it does is turn the M.2 into a U.2 for connecting 2.5" U.2 NVMe SSDs. Your Samsung 960 Pro is an M.2.

I mean, the whole Hyper thing for both products comes across as kind of scam-like. First of all, the only requirement for NVMe is a chipset that supports it and PCIe x4 lanes. If the M.2 slot doesn't have access to x4 lanes, then why would a M.2 to U.2 adapter card have access to x4 lanes either? That goes for the Hyper add-in card as well as the M.2 built into the motherboard. Logic dictates the U.2 adapter will be stuck with (probably) x2 lanes no matter what M.2 you stick it in.


Personally, I would have tried that Ableconn PEXM2-SSD card. Says right on it supports NVMe where nothing else I looked at in your case makes that claim. There's also lots of reviews on it saying that they're getting the performance they expected, even with a Samsung 960 Pro. In other words, if that Ableconn doesn't give you the performance you expect, Asus is solely to blame. If the system is new (:love:0 days), I'd be demanding a refund on it.



Edit: Here is an example of an SSD that you need U.2 for:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B011HYVOY8/?tag=tec06d-20

Super rare (I only know of three models from Intel and that's it) and really expensive. U.2 made a lot of noise but it's literally already a dead standard. PCI Express add-in boards and M.2 M-key have taken over.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#13
How does the Hyper Kit help though?
My understanding is that without using it and enabling the relevant BIOS setting ('Hyper Kit -> Enabled'), the Nvme just won't run at its max speeds; least not in this mobo.
(do note here that i have tried enabling it with both adapters and got nada, drive isn't even seen. So whatever it is that this setting does, it is meant to go along with the actual module).

*edit: The mini module, not the hyper one, the one included in the mobo.. it doesn't show from the web pic, but it has a tiny switch on it; left for m.2, right for 'Hyper'. Circumstancial, but it does support the whole notion.. mini being an adapter, will be seen as just that; an adapter. You plug the Hyper on (instead of mounting it straight on the mobo), you flip the switch too. Now it's a 'Hyper' adapter. Or just PR shit, lol

How or why is beyond me. Now as previously stated, may well turn out to be useless in my case. Am just willing to 'risk' 30 bucks to find out, especially since it's my last resort.. nothing else left to try, lol

As to the adapter you mention? Have tried both i already own in the previous mobo (yes, i took everything apart again and put the old mobo back on to be sure) and both gave me 3.0 x4 without the need for specific settings, input or what not. Meaning it IS Asus's fault :)
Had either, not both, just one of them, failed to provide the relevant speeds, i'd be more than happy to purchase the one you name above.. but since they both did, i can only conclude that they do what they're meant to, even if the manufacturer neglected to specify that yes, they do support gen 3 speeds.

Anyway, such is my reasoning.. you may disagree.. :)
And thanks for replying btw, lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#14
Forgot to add an important detail, please see the *edit above. My apologies everyone.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
The reason for the using the SLI switch is because it should theoretically force the lanes to be as advertised (and there's no way for them to be PCIe 2.0).
Just FYI, that isn't what the SLI switch does. All the SLI switch does is light up the LEDs near the ports you should put the graphics cards in. It doesn't change the slot configurations at all.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#16
Just FYI, that isn't what the SLI switch does
At this point, am willing to try anything, including voodoo, mantras and sacrifices.. but yeah, that's all it did :)
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,905 (6.25/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#17
I hope it works then because, yeah, I'm out of ideas too.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,247
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#18
Call asus and have them walk you through it.
 

Nanty

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#19
Was ashamed to ask here again, i don't like busting people's privates..
But i don't think i'll be getting anywhere.. anywhere else, lol, so here it goes!
(And where is that donate button? Something to make me feel a bit less *censored*?)

Everything seems fine with the new rig thus far, except this one thing, Samsung Magician sees my Nvme as a PCIE x2.0 (read speeds accordingly topping at about 1,8k). Now since said same drive went as PCIE x3.0 in the previous mobo, i know it's either my doing or the new mobo's, but that's about as far as i've taken it. If you're still reading and assuming you own the same or similar mobo (Asus X99 Deluxe II), let me copy paste all relevant info:

- Latest drivers, so it's not that. BIOS, OS, the Nvme itself, all up to date.
- My drive is mounted on a platform that's installed ON the PCIExpress slots. It is -not- installed in the motherboard's vertical socket. Have tried two different platforms, my old one and the included HyperX module, same issue.
- Have had the same problem whether i mounted the drive at PCIEx16_3 [slot 4 going down], or PCIEx16_5 [slot 6].
- In case you're wondering about lanes: GPU at PCIEx16_1 [slot 1], sound card at PCIEx16_2 [slot 3]. Everything else unoccupied.
- In the BIOS, under "NB PCI-E Configuration", all slots are set to run as gen3
- In the BIOS, under 'OnBoard Devices Configuration', "U.2_2 Bandwidth" was set to Auto when i tried mounting it at [slot 4]PCIEx16_3.
(the other option being disabled, in which case obviously drive is not even 'seen').
- In the BIOS, under 'OnBoard Devices Configuration', "PCIEx16_5 Bandwidth" was set to 4x when i tried mounting it at (slot 6)PCIEx16_5.
(tried 8x just to be sure and, logically as they share lanes, it couldn't 'see' the drive. So at x4).
((both slots, same issue))
(((can't try slot 5/PCIEx16_4, as it shares with slot 1 and doing so would lower the gpu at a x8)))

What can i be missing?

Relevant schems:





Needless to reiterate, but my sincere thanks. If only for reading :)


Were you ever able to make that NVMe work on that X99 Deluxe II ??? If so what was the OS...??
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.67/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#20
Were you ever able to make that NVMe work on that X99 Deluxe II ??? If so what was the OS...??
Hi Nanty and welcome to TPU :)

No, never did; the mobo has a PCIex2 switch, just can't be done. Verified. The bastards sell it as a proper X99, gen3x4 bla bla bla mobo, but that's Asus for you, lol.. always quality stuff ^^
I've since sold it and gone back to my trusty Gigabyte (see sig). Hope that helped.