• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with phone

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,480 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,207
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#1
So I am completely at a loss here. I have a Galaxy S7 that ive had for well over a year and a half now and the phone has been great. I mostly use the LG Tone headphones for anything I do on my phone (phone calls, YT, etc) but I lost them. So to cope, at work, I use an old pair of wired headphones that I used to use on my computer. They are made by Razer. For whatever reason when I have them plugged into the 3.5mm headphone jack and im watching youtube, any head gesture that I do whether I look away at something else or even tilt my head in a certain way, the video stops, pauses, the phone brings up Google voice search and it's driving me crazy.

Does anyone have any ideas? Im at my wits end.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,171 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,476
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Go into settings, apps, disable that function or go into google app snd disable it.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,480 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,207
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#3
There is no specific function or gesture that I see in the settings though that would make that even a thing. Thats whats confusing the hell out of me
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,880 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,180
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#4
Moved to "Phones & Tablets".
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.37/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#5
There is no specific function or gesture that I see in the settings though that would make that even a thing. Thats whats confusing the hell out of me
do they have an in-line microphone by chance, and if it does.. are those headphones for iPhone's at all?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,512 (3.85/day)
Likes
9,725
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#6
I can't speak to why it's bringing up Google voice search. But part of your problem sounds like when a 3.5 mm Jack isnt making it all the way in to the phone, sometimes due to a case or the plastic handle part of the 3.5 mm Jack not allowing the actual male End to go all the way in.

Try making sure that there's no case or plastic stopping the Jack from going in properly. I bring it up because my iPhone used to do that before I modified the case. it would plug-in but any movement would cause it to slightly unplug, and it would pause the video ,and it was really stupid and annoying so I had to cut the case a way to allow the plug to properly insert
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,553 (0.55/day)
Likes
656
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#7
I can't speak to why it's bringing up Google voice search. But part of your problem sounds like when a 3.5 mm Jack isnt making it all the way in to the phone, sometimes due to a case or the plastic handle part of the 3.5 mm Jack not allowing the actual male End to go all the way in.

Try making sure that there's no case or plastic stopping the Jack from going in properly. I bring it up because my iPhone used to do that before I modified the case. it would plug-in but any movement would cause it to slightly unplug, and it would pause the video ,and it was really stupid and annoying so I had to cut the case a way to allow the plug to properly insert

It might be easier to shave down the plastic barrel of the jack to make the prong longer.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,171 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,476
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
There is no specific function or gesture that I see in the settings though that would make that even a thing. Thats whats confusing the hell out of me
Go to settings, General, Language and Input, Voice Search.

By the way is there SVoice still with that phone?

Im on a S5 so Im doin my best to get you info needed.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,880 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,398
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#9
Never had this issue (Galaxy S7 Edge)
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
620 (1.12/day)
Likes
462
Location
Croatia
System Name 2A65
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply Lepa MaxBron B700-MB
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.81.1 (stock + XMP): 502 ST / 2543 MT
#10
How many rings are on headphone jack? Two or three? Standard headphones have usually 2 rings (left + right + ground). The one with three rings (left + right + microphone + ground) has the ability to carry sound/voice and there's possibility that some devices might not recognize such headphones correctly. I had to short-wire the third ring to get the clear sound out of my previous headphones - the device was MP4 player, not smartphone.
 

mac_user

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
15 (0.11/day)
Likes
6
#11
Maybe try with a different set of headphones so that you will know whether the problem is in the phone or the headphones. I feel like jboydgolferis right and they can't reach the bottom.