• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need HELP with problem most likely related to RAID

Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#1
Ok so here's new system specs:
-Biostar tforce 550 SE
-Athlon X2 3800+ (65W)
-2x Hitachi Dekstars 80gbs set to RAID 0

When I try to install Windows XP Home SP2 it goes through all the loading files and then says Setup is loading Windows(at the bottom there), screen goes black for a sec, then BSOD!
Here's what it says (abridged):
Problem...

If happens again follow these steps...

Check for viruses, remove new HDDs, check HDDs to make sure properly configured and terminated (what the heck does that mean?), run CHKDSK.

Technical Info:

*** STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7C7A524, 0x0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Please help! :respect:
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,573 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,471
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#2
cpu oc'd at all? could be bus speed issue
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#3
Did you press F6 when it says to, to install the RAID driver?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#4
Did you press F6 when it says to, to install the RAID driver?
I believe so! is it supposed to respond at all when I do? because it didn't do anything different when I press F6 (when it says to right at the beginning)

and no there's no OC or any, just hooked everything up
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
when you press f6 you should be prompted to put in a floppy with raid drivers, theres your problem
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#6
I believe so! is it supposed to respond at all when I do? because it didn't do anything different when I press F6 (when it says to right at the beginning)

and no there's no OC or any, just hooked everything up
Yup, thats your problem mate :).

Whats basically happening is that Windows has not installed any drivers for the RAID array. When it goes to install Windows, it cant detect what the HDD's are doing (the drivers basically tell it what RAID is), so it just BSOD's.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#7
when you press f6 you should be prompted to put in a floppy with raid drivers, theres your problem
well I don't have a floppy drive?! I put the RAID drivers on a jump drive in the hopes that would work...does it HAVE to be floppy?!
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#8
well I don't have a floppy drive?! I put the RAID drivers on a jump drive in the hopes that would work...does it HAVE to be floppy?!
With XP, it HAS to be a floppy. Vista is more flexible, lets you boot from what you want.

The only thing you can do, is IF your mobo supports it, "emulate" a USB flash disk to "act" as a floppy drive.

Not sure if your mobo supports it, but the option will be in the BIOS menu.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#9
well I don't have a floppy drive?! I put the RAID drivers on a jump drive in the hopes that would work...does it HAVE to be floppy?!
Actually, I think it does for windows XP. :banghead:
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#10
poop, well there's a little computer store down the road from here (at my fiance's) maybe they'll have a cheap one I can borrow for like 15 mins! haha
 

Verikon

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor AthlonX2 4600+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AM2
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Dual eVGA 7900GTs in SLI
Storage Dual WD 80GB SATA in Raid0
Display(s) Samsung 204BW 22" LCD
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 534+
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 500W
Software 3DMark06: 8203
#11
I just had this same exact problem (same stop error too) with my brand new Asus M2N-SLI. It would only happen when I had RAID enable. This is NOT an issue with RAID drivers -although you WILL need them for XP installer to see your RAID, otherwise it will see the two drives separately, or not at all, and yes it has to be a floppy-, this is a BIOS incompatibility issue.

Reboot, disable your raid, try the install again, and see if it will get passed the spot it normally BSODs. This is what happened to me, and once I updated my BIOS, the BSODs stopped completely when I re-enabled RAID.

I think the nForce 550/570/590 RAID controller has some bugs that are still being worked out.