• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with PSU/GPU.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#1
Howdy!


So the RX 480 does not work with the Seasonic M12-II evo 620 Watts Bronze???
https://seasonic.com/product/m12ii-620-evo/#tab-product_form_297_tab

Any ideas?? Please share. I've read on this and it seems that a rx 480 requires a 30 watts and my Seasonic sports two +12v rails of 24x2 = 48 amps/576 W.
I might be incorrect with the numbers above. Do excuse!

Isn't this sufficient to run a rx 480? MSI recommends a 500 W PSU for a 150 W TDP.

(bought the card approx. 2-3 months ago. Have been running it in "Windows Generic" mode.)

Today I installed the very latest AMD drivers 17.8.1 - Aug 18th, for the rx 480, (hoping for some tweaking by AMD on this issue), but here are the common symptoms that I experience -
I see the 'Windows Loading' screen and then BAM!! I see a "entering to power-save mode" on my monitor. (Similar to the one that we see when we Shutdown our computers). However, the system is still running, but without the display. I NEVER GET TO LOAD WINDOWS IN NORMAL MODE.

I then have to use DDU to clean out the drivers, boot Windows in normal mode, but at this point, the GPU runs on the "Windows Generic Drivers", which is of course not what I am looking for or not what the card is intended to be running in such a way. In this 'generic' mode, I get to Windows and its kind of manageable. I cant get to AMD's GlobalWattMan to undervolt or fine tune the voltage/wattage.

Things tried -
I can run the Polaris Bios Editor when in the "Windows Generic Mode".

'Safe Mode' boot with the proper drivers installed, no other options to access anything else are available coz of 'safe mode'.

Re-seat the GPU and double-checked the power connectors to have been fitted correctly.
---

Is there a way to tweak the TDP/voltage via the Polaris Bios Editor? If so, what's the recommended wattage/voltage I should use?

Maybe useful -
http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-radeon-rx-480-undervolting-performance_183699

I can do the basic stuff only! That is, watch avi/mpg videos only. (No 720p or 1080p), Surf the net etc. NO GAMING!! Is there a way out of this?
Or upgrading the PSU is the ONLY endgame!?

I've also attached the Polaris BIos editor screenshots with the default values picked up by the bios that I (somehow) managed to save.

Will flashing the bios of this to that of a RX 580 will help? Just wondering!

I have the following tools; ATIFlash 2.77, MSI Afterburner, Polaris Bios Editor 1.4 & Catalyst 17.8.1, ready to go!!

Let me know if more info of any sorts is required.

Thanks in advance!
 

Attachments

Raevenlord

News Editor
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
1,422 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,300
Location
Portugal
System Name The Ryzening
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7 GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 120
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200 (2x 8 GB)
Video Card(s) TPU's Awesome MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage Boot: Crucial MX100 128GB; Gaming: Crucial MX 300 525GB; Storage: Samsung 1TB HDD, Toshiba 2TB HDD
Display(s) LG 29UM68P (21:9 2560x1080 FreeSync Ultrawide)
Case NOX Hummer MC Black
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 620W 80+
Mouse Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Keyboard Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Not very helpful, but I have the exact same PSU, and had a Shappire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB working with it flawlessly for about 8 months...
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
316 (0.41/day)
Likes
329
Location
Croatia
System Name Hallowed Be Thy Name
Processor FX-6300 @4,0 GHz/ i3-2100 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0/ Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40-TB /w Akasa Viper/ Stock
Memory 2x4 GB G.Skill Ares @1600 MHz/ 2x4 GB Kingmax/Adata @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX1050Ti 4GB/ Palit GTX750Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 500 GB 7200 rpm/ WD Blue 160 GB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P/ ASUS VW190DE
Case Zalman Z3 Plus /w 5x Scythe Glidestream 1400 rpm/ Deepcool Smarter
Audio Device(s) Onboard x2
Power Supply OCZ ZS 550W / FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force / Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard Lenovo SK-8825 / Keytronic KT800P2
Software W7 Ultimate 64-bit/ W7 Pro 64-bit
#3
This looks like an issue with the graphics card itself. Has the card ever worked with AMD drivers (you noted you ran the card for 2-3 months on Generic driver)? Usually when a card refuses to work with drivers and only works with windows generic ones it's time for an RMA.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#4
Not very helpful, but I have the exact same PSU, and had a Shappire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB working with it flawlessly for about 8 months...
Good for you man. I really want this to work for me as well.

This looks like an issue with the graphics card itself. Has the card ever worked with AMD drivers (you noted you ran the card for 2-3 months on Generic driver)? Usually when a card refuses to work with drivers and only works with windows generic ones it's time for an RMA.
Nope. I never got the card to work with AMD drivers!

But then, one thing I wonder is how will it even give me a generic display!?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Processor 2500K @ 4.4
Motherboard asrock extrteame 3 gen 3
Cooling moded AC Freezer Xtreme.
Memory g.akill ripjaw X 1866 8gb
Video Card(s) 280X
Case CM HAF 922
#5
i wouldn't blame the psu for this, it has plenty of power for you're card.
try different drivers.
try the card on a different pc.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
316 (0.41/day)
Likes
329
Location
Croatia
System Name Hallowed Be Thy Name
Processor FX-6300 @4,0 GHz/ i3-2100 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0/ Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40-TB /w Akasa Viper/ Stock
Memory 2x4 GB G.Skill Ares @1600 MHz/ 2x4 GB Kingmax/Adata @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX1050Ti 4GB/ Palit GTX750Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 500 GB 7200 rpm/ WD Blue 160 GB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P/ ASUS VW190DE
Case Zalman Z3 Plus /w 5x Scythe Glidestream 1400 rpm/ Deepcool Smarter
Audio Device(s) Onboard x2
Power Supply OCZ ZS 550W / FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force / Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard Lenovo SK-8825 / Keytronic KT800P2
Software W7 Ultimate 64-bit/ W7 Pro 64-bit
#6
Nope. I never got the card to work with AMD drivers!

But then, one thing I wonder is how will it even give me a generic display!?
I've had a couple of situations when the driver just refused to install, or when it did the screen went blank just before entering windows (just like your situation). Check if someone else here has a solution but I'm pretty sure the card is faulty and needs a replacement.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#7
i wouldn't blame the psu for this, it has plenty of power for you're card.
try different drivers.
try the card on a different pc.
Okay.
Do you know any other drivers that I should try? Like previously there were 'Omega Drivers' for ATI cards? Can you suggest any other "type" of drivers that I might have any luck with?
I'll check with a friend's system as well.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
325 (0.08/day)
Likes
213
Location
Where the beer is good
System Name Karl Arsch v. u. z. Abgewischt
Processor i5 3570K delided
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Professional
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 240
Memory 4x 4GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 830 - 512GB; 1x 500 GB WD Blue; 2x 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung T240 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Shinobie XL
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar G600
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard CMStorm Ultimate QuickFire (CherryMX Brown)
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#8
I had a similar issue ~10 years back. In my case it was the PSU.

Either the GPU is faulty or you have a partly defect PSU. Only thing for you to figure out where the issue lies, is to cross test GPU and PSU in a different system one at a time. Though I 'd start with the GPU, just because it's less time consuming compared to the PSU.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#9
I've had a couple of situations when the driver just refused to install, or when it did the screen went blank just before entering windows (just like your situation). Check if someone else here has a solution but I'm pretty sure the card is faulty and needs a replacement.
Thanks IceScreamer. Liked your name btw!
=)
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
722 (0.41/day)
Likes
565
Location
Northern Europe
System Name PC
Processor FX 8350
Motherboard M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7 rev 2
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill 1600 @1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 Boost
Storage WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Microlab M200
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#10
17.8.1 are beta drivers you should download 17.7.2 if you already have not done so. And that PSU is more then enough for rx480

And i recommend filling you System Specs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#11
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
722 (0.41/day)
Likes
565
Location
Northern Europe
System Name PC
Processor FX 8350
Motherboard M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7 rev 2
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill 1600 @1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 Boost
Storage WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Microlab M200
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#12
Joined
Oct 8, 2014
Messages
67 (0.06/day)
Likes
43
#13
6 and 8 pin connectors are connected to gfx card? try reseating them. If the psu is modular, reseat the cables going into the psu.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,114 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,658
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#14
Howdy!


So the RX 480 does not work with the Seasonic M12-II evo 620 Watts Bronze???
https://seasonic.com/product/m12ii-620-evo/#tab-product_form_297_tab

Any ideas?? Please share. I've read on this and it seems that a rx 480 requires a 30 watts and my Seasonic sports two +12v rails of 24x2 = 48 amps/576 W.
I might be incorrect with the numbers above. Do excuse!

Isn't this sufficient to run a rx 480? MSI recommends a 500 W PSU for a 150 W TDP.

(bought the card approx. 2-3 months ago. Have been running it in "Windows Generic" mode.)

Today I installed the very latest AMD drivers 17.8.1 - Aug 18th, for the rx 480, (hoping for some tweaking by AMD on this issue), but here are the common symptoms that I experience -
I see the 'Windows Loading' screen and then BAM!! I see a "entering to power-save mode" on my monitor. (Similar to the one that we see when we Shutdown our computers). However, the system is still running, but without the display. I NEVER GET TO LOAD WINDOWS IN NORMAL MODE.

I then have to use DDU to clean out the drivers, boot Windows in normal mode, but at this point, the GPU runs on the "Windows Generic Drivers", which is of course not what I am looking for or not what the card is intended to be running in such a way. In this 'generic' mode, I get to Windows and its kind of manageable. I cant get to AMD's GlobalWattMan to undervolt or fine tune the voltage/wattage.

Things tried -
I can run the Polaris Bios Editor when in the "Windows Generic Mode".

'Safe Mode' boot with the proper drivers installed, no other options to access anything else are available coz of 'safe mode'.

Re-seat the GPU and double-checked the power connectors to have been fitted correctly.
---

Is there a way to tweak the TDP/voltage via the Polaris Bios Editor? If so, what's the recommended wattage/voltage I should use?

Maybe useful -
http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-radeon-rx-480-undervolting-performance_183699

I can do the basic stuff only! That is, watch avi/mpg videos only. (No 720p or 1080p), Surf the net etc. NO GAMING!! Is there a way out of this?
Or upgrading the PSU is the ONLY endgame!?

I've also attached the Polaris BIos editor screenshots with the default values picked up by the bios that I (somehow) managed to save.

Will flashing the bios of this to that of a RX 580 will help? Just wondering!

I have the following tools; ATIFlash 2.77, MSI Afterburner, Polaris Bios Editor 1.4 & Catalyst 17.8.1, ready to go!!

Let me know if more info of any sorts is required.

Thanks in advance!
Sounds like you bios flashed it with a modded bios and the drivers are throwing their rattle out the pram to me try the pixel patcher guide over at oc.com its in this list.

I have had this as a similar issue when I was attempting to mod 480 bios thats why i mentioned it, where did you get the 480 and is it possible its been bios flashed by someone.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1604567/polaris-bios-editing-rx5xx-rx4xx
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,722 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,627
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#15
Sounds like the gpu is bad
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#16
Done!!

6 and 8 pin connectors are connected to gfx card? try reseating them. If the psu is modular, reseat the cables going into the psu.
Yes.
The GFX has a 8-pin connector, so there's a 6+2-pin cable linked bet. the PSU & the GFX.

The PSU is modular. I've re-seated everything I can multiple times. I'll do that again.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,613 (0.74/day)
Likes
554
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Thermaltake Gravity i1
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX970 4GB
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Thermaltake Urban R31
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
#17
Despite the fairly long first post I barely understood what your actual problem is. My suggestion would be to either sell the PSU or the GPU and replace it with a compatible one. Also, I find your thread title offensive.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#18
Sounds like you bios flashed it with a modded bios and the drivers are throwing their rattle out the pram to me try the pixel patcher guide over at oc.com its in this list.

I have had this as a similar issue when I was attempting to mod 480 bios thats why i mentioned it, where did you get the 480 and is it possible its been bios flashed by someone.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1604567/polaris-bios-editing-rx5xx-rx4xx
No Sir! I would not do that.
Liked I said earlier, I haven't got it to get to work since day one with any of the official/tweaked drivers. Let alone flashing it or even fidgeting with it. No bios flash was done from my side.
Its a brand new piece. I purchased it from amazon/global.
I'll check the pixel patcher guide at oc.com

Despite the fairly long first post I barely understood what your actual problem is. My suggestion would be to either sell the PSU or the GPU and replace it with a compatible one. Also, I find your thread title offensive.
Thread title fixed. (Guess no one else had an issue with it!??).

A unique suggestion IZ, I'll keep that as a last resort.
=)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,114 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,658
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#19
No Sir! I would not do that.
Liked I said earlier, I haven't got it to get to work since day one with any of the official/tweaked drivers. Let alone flashing it or even fidgeting with it. No bios flash was done from my side.
Its a brand new piece. I purchased it from amazon/global.
I'll check the pixel patcher guide at oc.com
Very strange situation then , good luck with it , a freind with a psu spare would now be ideal for you imho.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#20
Very strange situation then , good luck with it , a freind with a psu spare would now be ideal for you imho.
Ha ha...
I agree!
Will have to check around. No one builds a custom computer. I'm running out of options it seems.
=(
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,563 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,649
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#21
The problem is not your PSU, but the GPU.
If you bought it new, then do RMA as soon as possible. If it was used - contact the seller and return it.
Otherwise (if neither is possible, or seller disappeared "for some reason"), try flashing the stock BIOS for this model and see if it helps (I have a hunch that it won't).

I have about x7 of R9 270-290 cards laying in the workshop after excessive mining - same symptoms. I keep those for parts.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,376 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#22
A screen shot of GPU-z would help along with front and back pictures of the GPU.
Edit: Carefully compare how your card looks in comparison to the pictures in the review that w1zzard did of that card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
218 (0.05/day)
Likes
153
#23
I have used several Seasonic power supplies with high TDP graphics cards with zero problems. Insufficient ampere should occur at load, during gaming.

When Windows load, and you get a blank screen, is the system responsive? Can you hear sound? HDD led flashing? what happens if you press the power button?

Perhaps your monitor is just out-of-range, check out the monitor OSD settings, try to use a different cable (VGA/DVI/DP).
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
3,768 (3.09/day)
Likes
2,925
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.36v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#24
Ha ha...
I agree!
Will have to check around. No one builds a custom computer. I'm running out of options it seems.
=(
Stop wasting time and send it back for RMA / ask your money back. This card's DOA

If it were the PSU you wouldn't have a running PC in the first place, there's a lot more running across that +12V line and doing just fine. The PSU is still possible, but so unlikely I wouldn't bother at this point (yet). First get a new/replacement card, or use someone else's GPU to test on your PSU to confirm the suspicion. Its practically 95% chance to be a broken card.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Custom.
Processor FX 8320e
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX - 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
Display(s) 22"
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620 EVO Bronze
Software Win 7 x64
#25
Stop wasting time and send it back for RMA / ask your money back. This card's DOA

If it were the PSU you wouldn't have a running PC in the first place, there's a lot more running across that +12V line and doing just fine. The PSU is still possible, but so unlikely I wouldn't bother at this point (yet). First get a new/replacement card, or use someone else's GPU to test on your PSU to confirm the suspicion. Its practically 95% chance to be a broken card.
Okay Vayra.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.