1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with "Q-Fan control" ASUS K8N-E Deluxe

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by TechnicalFreak, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Need help with settings for "Q-Fan control" ASUS K8N-E Deluxe

    Ok, so I have now installed my AC-Freezer 64 pro :rockout:
    And I was reading the paper (manual?), and thought.. Hmm I do have something that can control the temps. Q-Fan control.

    Ok, so I list my system first (it's a bit easier for everyone else to know what I have):
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    ASUS K8N-E Deluxe.

    So, the options I get when I enable Q-Fan Control is:
    CPU OFF LIMIT Temperature [ 0]
    CPU START Temperature [30]
    CPU FULL Temperature [65]

    So, how do I set it??

    It also has the same for the Chassis fan, but it has it's own "control"..

    Thankful for any replies given, and thanks also to all of you who have helped me this far..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    TechFreak, what is your question? Your post is pretty much just informative.
     
  3. Duxx Guest

    Are you trying to understand how to use Speed Fan or if thats its a viable option? I'm just as confused as EnergyFx.. hah
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Oops, so sorry. I actually see now that I forgot to ask the question:
    How do I set the Q-Fan control?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    are you seeing this in the BIOS or an OS utility?

    There should be a screen within the BIOS that allows you to make adjustments to Q-Fan. Possibly under 'Power Managment' or 'Onboard Features'. It's hard to guess without seeing your BIOS, but I have worked with numerous ASUS boards and it has always been somewhere in the BIOS.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2008
  6. Yes it's in BIOS, I'm currently waiting for batteries for the camera to charge. Was thinking of taking a picture..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    You can't just nav to the value and change it? Be sure to use top row number keys or turn on NumLock to use Number Pad.
     
  8. Any value to recommend?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    Oooooooooooooooooohhhhh....

    You're wanting to know what to set the temps at... I thought you were just trying to figure out how to change it. lol

    In that case... it depends... are you looking for performance values or quiet operation?

    Also, is the CPU fan header on your motherboard 3-pin or 4-pin (PWM).
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2008
  10. Thanks. Yes, the fan header is 3 pin. It shows the RPM etc. in BIOS.
    And yes, I'm looking for performance. Another question, the fan itself has 4 pins or like you said "PWM" what does this do? They don't explain it..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. bohica_34613 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brooksville Fl, just north of Tampa
    Since you have an Asus MoBo you should have AI Suite on the disc that came with the MoBo.
    I installed AI Suite that came with my Asus MoBo and with it can change the chassis and cpu fanspeed for lower temps.
     
  12. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    This is PWM:

    [​IMG]

    This is MOLEX:

    [​IMG]

    Both are "4-pin", so just to be clear... which one do you have on your fan?
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  13. There is no such thing as AI Suite for the K8N-E Deluxe. Sorry..
    However, I do have the nVidia "System Utility" program, does the same. However, I just want to know what values to set the thing to..


    Edit: Thanks EnergyFX. Yes it's the first picture, that's what the fan has and I connected it to the fan header (CPU Fan) on the mobo. The instruction "paper" that came with the new fan say that I should set it to 65C, question is "what to set" since I have 3 options:
    CPU OFF LIMIT Temperature [ 0]
    CPU START Temperature [ 25]
    CPU FULL Temperature [ 40]
    (Thoose are the values set by "default" since last BIOS update).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    cpu off limit 0 means 0 fan
    cpu start temp 25 means @ 25deg fan starts
    cpu full temp means full fan @ 40deg

    i think :eek:

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    I'd have to agree, and personally I would leave it at those settings.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)