• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with Supermicro bios flash w/Ubuntu 10.10

Status
Not open for further replies.

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,972 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,636
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#1
Ok, who can help me figure out how to flash a special bios onto my brand new SuperMicro H8QGL-IF+? I am a total Linux noob, but I'm picking up on it quickly. I'm running Ubuntu 10.10 due to it's ability to fold faster than current OS's. I have the special bios downloaded, but i am confused on where to go from here. I have a flash drive if I have to make it bootable. Help out a brother Please!!!!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#2
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,638
#3
Flashing bios doesn't necessarily depend on OS. However if you want to do with on Linux then do it with flashrom.

Here you can see how to do it.

edit: Example

Install it:
$ apt-get install flashrom

Detect whether flashrom knows about your chipset/mainboard/BIOS chip:
$ flashrom

Read the BIOS image into a file:
$ flashrom -r backup.bin

Write a BIOS image (proprietary or LinuxBIOS) on the ROM chip:
$ flashrom -wv newbios.bin


WARNING: This will overwrite your current BIOS! Make sure you know what you're doing!




p.s. I did that before and it works. It was long time ago tho. I don't flash bios much.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#4
Generally it is better to avoid doing a flash from a running OS. The described method using Unetbootin to make a FreeDOS USB drive that will act like "DOS floppy" is the safest way.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Where this myth came from? The software does exactly the same thing. Replaces old bin with the new one.
Exactly, if anything it is better these days to do it in the OS, because if something goes wrong, the OS running gives more options to figure out how to fix the issue. The machine will continue to run perfectly fine until you reboot. This gives you the chance to download recovery tools, attempt to reflash, try flashing a different BIOS, etc.

I think this myth used to be true back in the Win 95/98 days, when the OS would mess with the memory addressing and shit and flashing the BIOS from the OS could easily corrupt the BIOS if the OS wasn't addressing the BIOS ROM properly. As well as people trying to use DOS utilities inside the Windows virtual DOS window, which would cause all types of havok.

But in modern times the utilities are built to be run inside the OS, and they are perfectly safe to do so.

But anyway, this isn't answering the main question, so lets not get the thread sidetracked.

Sorry Buck.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,638
#7
newtekie1 said:
Exactly, if anything it is better these days to do it in the OS, because if something goes wrong, the OS running gives more options to figure out how to fix the issue. The machine will continue to run perfectly fine until you reboot. This gives you the chance to download recovery tools, attempt to reflash, try flashing a different BIOS, etc.
Sure. If that wasn't so manufacturers wouldn't create all that software in the first place.

I think this myth used to be true back in the Win 95/98 days, when the OS would mess with the memory addressing.
No idea, I was way too young in 95/98. And my first pc was a Linux machine anyway, it didn't mess with memory addressing lol.

But anyway, this isn't answering the main question, so lets not get the thread sidetracked.
There's nothing unhealthy in this kind of discussion. Because if there is a question "how" there can be a question "why". It's on topic.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#8
Thanks Newtekie1 for the info. Sorry for the false alarm.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,972 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,636
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#9
Thanks Drone & Newtekie1! I will use Flashrom. What is the chance that the chip is not supported?

:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,638
#10
Status
Not open for further replies.