• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

need help with video card

milosh

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
i am in the market for a new video card and i need a good video

i will sound foolish for looking for one with these requirements

1 it cannot need a psu higher than 300 watts
2 it will be used for moderatly seriouse gaming
3 pci express
 

Cybie1111

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
329 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, California, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 @ 3.33 Ghz 1333 FSB
Motherboard Gigabyte P965-DS3 rev 1.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Cooler
Memory Patriot Viper 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) (Sapphire) ATi Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage Western Digital 160GB/500GB Drive + Seagate 320GB Drive
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240HD 24" HDTV
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 832 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620 Watt Modular
Software Dual Boot Windows Vista Ultimate / Windows XP Pro
#2
I would suggest buying a 6600GT ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130251 ) since it dosent requre alot to power and it does a very good job in moderate resolutions with good detail. (800x600 and 1024x768).

I would like you to also take a look at the 6800XT ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130261 ) but I do not know the power requirement for that card right now. It seems to be less expensive but the downside of this card that it has lower clocks and uses regular 256bit DDR memory not GDDR3.
 

milosh

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
the 6600gt is a good card, as is the 6800xt
however, the 6600gt has a requirement of 350 watts
with a few moments of research, i have found that the 6800xt needs a 300 watt psu
i have a 305 watt, and am unable to upgrade
using a 305 psu would be cutting it too close
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#4
What kind of motherboard do you have?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
73 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
Cooling 2x120mm 2x80mm
Memory 1024mb OCZ premier dual-channel 2.5-2-3-7 @ DDR 433
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 3850
Storage Seagate barracuda 80gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF 19" LCD
Case Case-51W black
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 400W
Software Windows XP Professional
#5
the x1600xt is cheaper than that 6600gt...and it's quite a bit better too...i dunno about that wattage though, cause we don't know how much power you're already using...it's not like the card will be using the whole 300 watts....what are your specs??

peta, how the hell did you get your 9600 to hit those clocks?? my old 9600pro maxed out at 460/650...even with aftermarket cooling...
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,926 (1.35/day)
Likes
819
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#6
my laptop has a 90 watt power supply.. it powers a geforce 6600 go ultra and scores 2800 in 3Dmark 2005..

somehow if it really is a 300 watt power supply i recon we are inventing problems.. anything that dosnt requite a seperate plug in power cable to power it should be okay..

trog
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#7
I just cant imagine a motherboar with PCIExpress running stable with 300W PSU.
Can you post here your system spcecification please.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
1,540 (0.35/day)
Likes
118
Location
Athens - Hellas
Processor C2D E7600
Motherboard GA EG41M ES2L
Memory 2GB ADATA 800MHZ
Video Card(s) ASUS HD4350
Storage OCZ VERTEX TURBO 32GB + 2 MORE..
Display(s) SM226BW
Audio Device(s) 7.1 HD / X-540
Software 7X86 ULT
#8
no good.a 300W psu possibly wont give 17A on the 12v rail to have a fully working 6600GT.
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#9
-=CrAnSwIcK=- said:
peta, how the hell did you get your 9600 to hit those clocks?? my old 9600pro maxed out at 460/650...even with aftermarket cooling...
It has stock cooler, no VoltMod or anything else. It is the same as it came from the box. I think i was quite lucky with this card. But I have seen even higher clocks on 9600pro. With my new GTO2 I was not sio lucky. My max clock is only 505/580 with Arctic Cooler and that is not much for GTO2.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,926 (1.35/day)
Likes
819
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#10
"I just cant imagine a motherboar with PCIExpress running stable with 300W PSU.
Can you post here your system spcecification please."

so how does my 80 odd watt pci.e laptop.. errr.. about 5.5 amps in total manage it then..???

a 6600 gt cant draw any more than 50 watts which at 12 volts would be about 4 amps..

what with this 17 amps stuff.. 17 amps at 12 volts is 204 watts.. ????

a good 300 watt power supply should piss all over it..

think about it dudes..

trog

ps.. i keep these little pics for just such arguements as this.. he he he



and yep it does seem less than we think we need.. and it does help to have a little in reserve.. which is why i have a 600 watt jobby i know i dont really need.. he he he
 
Last edited:

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#11
Troq, you cant compare notebook PSU with desktop PSU. Dont you know that your notebooks harddrive is much smaller, that your CPU is specialy designed to drain less power. All components in notebook are smaller and have lower power requirements than desktop systems.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,926 (1.35/day)
Likes
819
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#12
course they are.. and of course i know that.. but they are not magic.. and 80 watts is still 80 watts.. and 300 watts is still 300 watts.. he he he..

and on top of that a notebooks 80 watts has to power its monitor as well.. a desktop power supply dosnt..

thow praps they are magic after all if it needs more than 300 watts to power a pissy arsed desktop 6600gt... he he he

basically it dosnt.. the pic i posted gives a good idea of real system power requirements..

6600 cards are fairly low power drawers.. my laptop version draws about 25 watts.. the laptop version of the 6800 for example draws more than double that.. over 65 watts..

the 6600gt is simply a faster clocked version of my laptop 6600 ultra.. it will draw more power because of this but not double.. which leaves us back to the max of 50 watts or just over 4 amps power requirements..

trog

ps.. the real problem here isnt that 300 watts aint enough.. its more than enough but most generic so called 300 watt power supplies will not produce 300 watts in total more like 150 watts..

they test the max output of each line seperately then add em all up and get say 300 watts.. in truth the supply will not deliver that power thru all the lines all at once.. a decent one will which is of course why i said a DECENT 300 watt power supply is more than enough..
 
Last edited:

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#13
Trog is right.
Thats why you never use a generic brand PSU, esp. when you are going to upgrade.
Antec, OCZ, etc. list what it can do and not just the highest amount of watts.

Milosh, if you want to upgrade you are going to need a good PSU (prob. cost you around 70 bucks). Otherwise, its just a waste of money putting a GPU in there. You should at least look to get a 6800GS to have your GPU good for a while. That as you can see from Trog's picture on page 1 requires a lot more power. Go get a nice 520W PSU (either the Antec TruePower or OCZ PowerStream) and then get a GPU.