• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help with virus

Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#1
I think I got a virus from java and its disabling the Theme service on boot and the DHCP client on boot on XP to enable them I have to go into services and manually do it, can someone help me out with this

thx

malwarebytes isn't helping
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
498
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#3
maybe you just have to set the options to automatic if it is in services that you say and restart it. and try other free AVs out there.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#4
nope the services are all automatic I'm trying to get a log but theres a timebomb that floods the pc randomly, and freezes it too.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
The one and only sure way to get rid of a virus infection is to format your hard disc (quick format is fine) and reinstall Windows from scratch.

If you're noticing one, then there's likely to be more sitting stealthily in the background.

It doesn't matter how fantastic you're A/V program is, you cannot trust it to remove the infections, not even my beloved Kaspersky.

Don't forget to back up your data first, of course...
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
498
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#7
Another way but not 100% sure, maybe 95% is to repair windows(boot from windows disc and install and select repair) I had some problems also in the past that made my OS unusable( all functions were disable by virus and all i can see is my background pic) and that solved the problem.

Also if you haven't done yet and if its okay. Use system restore
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#8
tried to install avira, it found something and the pc restarted now it bluescreens and repair isn't working so im just gonna use an old hdd with linux on it and backup then zero fill the hdd.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#9
tried to install avira, it found something and the pc restarted now it bluescreens and repair isn't working so im just gonna use an old hdd with linux on it and backup then zero fill the hdd.
Don't bother wasting time with a zero fill. :rolleyes: A quick format and clean reinstall is all that's needed.
 

$immond$

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
394 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Edmonton
Processor AMD 1055t 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (Mini ITX)
Cooling Asus Stock cooler
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Storage 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce 2 / WD 640 Gb Sata 3
Case Thermalrock Eclipse
Power Supply 500 Watt OCZ (Modular)
Software Windows 7 64 Pro
#10
I would use killdisk and 1 pass of zeros on the HD, as the windows format utility is very poor imo.
I always use killdisk before a clean install of Win 7.

Avira is garbage and annoying with it constant adds to purchase the program.
Use Microsoft Security Essentials its great and its free with no adware.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#11
Combofix is another "sure-fire" scanner if you`re ever in this situation again
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#12
Try norton antivirus 2005 with update. It is totally sure it will find it.
 

$immond$

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
394 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Edmonton
Processor AMD 1055t 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (Mini ITX)
Cooling Asus Stock cooler
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Storage 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce 2 / WD 640 Gb Sata 3
Case Thermalrock Eclipse
Power Supply 500 Watt OCZ (Modular)
Software Windows 7 64 Pro
#13

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#15
Combofix is another "sure-fire" scanner if you`re ever in this situation again
Combofix can thump your comp if you don't know what you're doing.

And Norton 2005? :roll::roll::roll:roll:

Malwarebytes + Avast/MSE = Win.
 

$immond$

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
394 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Edmonton
Processor AMD 1055t 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (Mini ITX)
Cooling Asus Stock cooler
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Storage 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce 2 / WD 640 Gb Sata 3
Case Thermalrock Eclipse
Power Supply 500 Watt OCZ (Modular)
Software Windows 7 64 Pro
#16
Combofix can thump your comp if you don't know what you're doing.

And Norton 2005? :roll::roll::roll:roll:

Malwarebytes + Avast/MSE = Win.
Wow all I can say is resource hogs and over paranoid security.

Avast is poor in performance and scan time, I wouldn't recommend using all 3 at once.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#17
Avast/MSE was either /or; both have been rock solid for me. Not at the same time of course; I was going on the fact that most on a tech site would know not to run multiple antiviruses at once.

Malwarebytes is proven as a malware/virus/trojan scanner.

Make sure it's updated too; if it's a new problem sometimes it won't get caught by an old log.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
498
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#18
Repair as in like this? Windows XP Repair Installation Visit Link Please. Whenever i had problems that i can't really solve, I use this and it never failed on me. Never had to reformat and do a clean install.

and didn't work in what way? you already repaired and it didn't work or you can't start the repair process.

IF its okay to you to reformat-clean install. Then DO it. ITS THE ONLY 100% SURE WAY.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#19
This is a joke, right? A 5 year old a/v program?
Without updates, it is totally a joke. I have always updated it and it catches all kind of new viruses that attack my pc. Avast is not that good, avira is idiotic, kaspersky isn't enough powerful to compete with the updated norton 2005 and all other kinds of stuffs i have tried are totally out of discussion. I found that a powerful server in my country was using norton antivirus 2005, so i thought it would be the best one since the engineers are using it in a server. I tried and since that day all kind of viruses all disinfected. Norton 2005 is better than all >2005 nortons.
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.70/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#20
Without updates, it is totally a joke. I have always updated it and it catches all kind of new viruses that attack my pc. Avast is not that good, avira is idiotic, kaspersky isn't enough powerful to compete with the updated norton 2005 and all other kinds of stuffs i have tried are totally out of discussion. I found that a powerful server in my country was using norton antivirus 2005, so i thought it would be the best one since the engineers are using it in a server. I tried and since that day all kind of viruses all disinfected. Norton 2005 is better than all >2005 nortons.
Norton sucks balls!

Avira, the best free antivirus. ESET NOD and Kaspersky are the best paid antivirus programs in the world. I've used Norton, Avira and ESET. And i can personally say that Norton is a shitty antivirus program.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#21
Without updates, it is totally a joke. I have always updated it and it catches all kind of new viruses that attack my pc. Avast is not that good, avira is idiotic, kaspersky isn't enough powerful to compete with the updated norton 2005 and all other kinds of stuffs i have tried are totally out of discussion. I found that a powerful server in my country was using norton antivirus 2005, so i thought it would be the best one since the engineers are using it in a server. I tried and since that day all kind of viruses all disinfected. Norton 2005 is better than all >2005 nortons.
While a lot of the Norton products are ropy for using up so much system resources, a modern a/v is going to be much better at picking up the latest threats. Also, the latest Norton 2010 is a totally revised product and even gives Kaspersky a run for its money on detection and resource usage. If you like Norton, get the latest one, not this ancient one that I'm surprised is even supported any more. It is supported though, I checked.

Your claim that this old Norton is better than the current Kaspersky is bull. In fact, any of the good quality current a/v's will be better. Got any hard facts to back up that claim? :rolleyes:
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#22
Funny thing, I just got hit by a virus today (maybe not so funny), first time in 3 years and guess what, it's the same virus that got me the last time, Win32.Sality.
Even the file share website DON'T DO IT IT, ITS INFECTED said it was infected but since I was in a rush I skipped my regular "inspect before execute" routine and here I'm now.
/rant

And yes, Norton 2005 + virus defenition updates is all you need (thats what I'm using right now to fully scan my computer, since sality infectes every executable on it and norton fixes them). I will still remove it after the scan+fix is done, since Norton SUCKS BALLS (for daily use or protection)!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#23
Funny thing, I just got hit by a virus today (maybe not so funny), first time in 3 years and guess what, it's the same virus that got me the last time, Win32.Sality.
Even the file share website DON'T DO IT IT, ITS INFECTED said it was infected but since I was in a rush I skipped my regular "inspect before execute" routine and here I'm now.
/rant

And yes, Norton 2005 + virus defenition updates is all you need (thats what I'm using right now to fully scan my computer, since sality infectes every executable on it and norton fixes them). I will still remove it after the scan+fix is done, since Norton SUCKS BALLS (for daily use or protection)!
Wait, so your running an ANTI virus program "norton" and you still got infected?

im sorry but i must have missed somthing when u said its a good A/V. how is it good if it let you get infected? i dont care if you did not scan the .exe file before running it (you downloaded a suspicious .exe file and ran it? and we are suspost to follow your advice on a good A/V program?) any decent A/V would have stoped it before you noticed you had a virus.



now i havnt use'd nortons latest A/V 2010 ... but i have use'd there old programs, and they are terible especialy 2005. i dont care if some engineer is running it on there server. would you follow that same engineer off a bridge if he told you to?
 

fredkruge

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#24
Wait, so your running an ANTI virus program "norton" and you still got infected?

im sorry but i must have missed somthing when u said its a good A/V. how is it good if it let you get infected? i dont care if you did not scan the .exe file before running it (you downloaded a suspicious .exe file and ran it? and we are suspost to follow your advice on a good A/V program?) any decent A/V would have stoped it before you noticed you had a virus.



now i havnt use'd nortons latest A/V 2010 ... but i have use'd there old programs, and they are terible especialy 2005. i dont care if some engineer is running it on there server. would you follow that same engineer off a bridge if he told you to?
ahahahaha. Exactley my point I made to a friend, he claimed norton was better than kaspersky because when he got a virus (norton couldnt remove it) he called their help line to get it removed. I was like, its not a good antivirus if it lets the virus in, let alone require calling them to get help :laugh:
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#25
Wait, so your running an ANTI virus program "norton" and you still got infected?

im sorry but i must have missed somthing when u said its a good A/V. how is it good if it let you get infected? i dont care if you did not scan the .exe file before running it (you downloaded a suspicious .exe file and ran it? and we are suspost to follow your advice on a good A/V program?) any decent A/V would have stoped it before you noticed you had a virus.



now i havnt use'd nortons latest A/V 2010 ... but i have use'd there old programs, and they are terible especialy 2005. i dont care if some engineer is running it on there server. would you follow that same engineer off a bridge if he told you to?
No, I was not running any Anti-virus when I got infected thats why I got infected don't you think? I only intall norton to remove the infection, fixes the mess it caused and after that it will be uninstalled (was uninstalled right now actually). And I never said it's a god AV, it does infact clean your computer, but the "price" (performance and constant naggin') you "pay" does not cover it for daily usage.