• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with which is better for gaming.

Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
185 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
#1
I need some help. The Asus z97 Sabertooth only accept 1866 mhz ram speeds. Nothing higher. I plan on playing games a lot. So would I be better off getting a different motherboard that accepts high speed ram? I was looking at the Asus MAXIMUS VII HERO, It accepts ram speeds from 1333 mhz to 3200 mhz DDR3. Would I need faster ram then 1866 mhz? Is anything over 16 gig of ram waste?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#2
If all you are doing is gaming, then yes, anything over 16 gigs is a waste. Really, the majority game with 8 and are fine. As to RAM speeds, I see no point in going above 1866 on an intel platform. Really, 1600 is perfectly adequate.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.45/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#3
from what i have seen with intel boards its better to have more ram at slower speeds than less ram at faster speeds. apparently this is not as true for amd.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#4
The only reason you would want to using anything above 1600 is if you were using the IGP rather than adding a video card. Faster RAM will get you more frames per second from the IGP.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#5
from what i have seen with intel boards its better to have more ram at slower speeds than less ram at faster speeds. apparently this is not as true for amd.
The only reason you would want to using anything above 1600 is if you were using the IGP rather than adding a video card. Faster RAM will get you more frames per second from the IGP.
^^
This! Completely agree!
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#7
Short answer: Because they can. Longer answer: Because there are some people that actually need much faster RAM or in much greater quantities, such as video editing, CAD, and other intensive operations that I can only imagine. Also, as was said, AMD chips do benefit from faster RAM.

But with playing games on an Intel platform, you are pretty much good to use 8GB of DDR3-1600 RAM. But no one is stopping you from getting more or faster RAM, if that's your preference.

EDIT: Some people also just like the cushion, or comfort zone provided, or for bragging rights, or for that irresistable urge to super-upgrade that many people have. If you want to go further, it won't hurt anything.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
3,506 (1.66/day)
Likes
7,429
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay/Opticon As of 6/21/17
Processor i5 1.7GHz/ i3 2120's/i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP mini/Dell
Cooling Air/air/air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB samsung
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD2000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ couple of spinners/500GB WD
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP SFF/ Dell Mini
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ onboard
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell 265W
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless
Keyboard eMachines serial and a Dynex usb
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sarah/Mint 18
Benchmark Scores 6.9 processes per second!/ cruncher's!!
#9
Anything more than 1600 is a waste, unless you need it for benching, video editing, or other huge memory hogs. Gaming on an Intel with more than 8 gigs is also a waste of money.

If you plan on making a ram disk, very fast, get 16, otherwise 8 GB will do just fine.

2 cents. :lovetpu:
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,691 (2.71/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#10
I agree, I use 1866 but thats because of some apps I use along with gaming. Anything unless your using an APU from AMD and running on the IGPU above 1866 for the gamer is going to not give you any noticeable benefits in a game along with beyond 16gb. I have 16gb of DDR3 1866 and in all honesty I never go above (Well at least much if I do) 8gb so that should be more than enough for a straight up gaming machine.

I would say get a good cas latency (Like 9) 1600 or 1866 set for gaming and nothing beyond using only 2 sticks of 2x4gb or 2x8gb.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
I have 8gb's of 1333 and my machine runs surweet.

#agree with everything said in replies, so no point me saying it again.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#12
ram speed does not matter at ALL anything over ddr3 1600 is a waste of money UNLESS you are using a APU and in that case get the fastest kit you can
its not the motherboard limiting the ram speed its the CPU