• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need major help

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#1
So I am in the process of throwing my A64 rig back together but I am having major CPU cooling issues. The first time I thought I broke the seal between the CPU and HSF and reapplied AS5. The temps were fine sitting idle at 39-40C. However when I was on Windows Update (of all places) the temp would quickly shoot up to 75C! Then my computer would sound off an alarm. I have reapplied AS5 three times already and I still overheat.

Need this resolved ASAP and I need your suggestions to help me out.

Thanks in advance.

Crash
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#2
So I am in the process of throwing my A64 rig back together but I am having major CPU cooling issues. The first time I thought I broke the seal between the CPU and HSF and reapplied AS5. The temps were fine sitting idle at 39-40C. However when I was on Windows Update (of all places) the temp would quickly shoot up to 75C! Then my computer would sound off an alarm. I have reapplied AS5 three times already and I still overheat.

Need this resolved ASAP and I need your suggestions to help me out.

Thanks in advance.

Crash
Was there a thermal PAD in there to begin with?
Sometimes paste will not compensate if there is a small gap where an actual thermal pad was.
 

R^ven

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
England
System Name My 'Rig'
Processor Intel Pentium 4 HT @ 3.06Ghz
Motherboard ePox
Cooling Stock Intel Fan + 8Cm LED Fan Cooling GPU Heatsink
Memory 512Mb Transcend DDR SDRAM
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 4 MX 440, 64Mb, AGP 8X
Storage Samsung Spinpoint 120Gb
Display(s) 19" eMachines e17t4, Res. set to 1280 x 1024
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Software Windows XP SP2
#3
What heatsink and fan are you using?

You may be applying the thermal grease too thickly or thinly
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#4
try your stock heatsink, some rare cases the heatpipe coolers can develope a leak where the gas escapes thereby eliminating its ability to remove the heat. put you finger to the base of your cooler and if its hot and the cooler isnt warm then the heat is not being removed.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#5
Was there a thermal PAD in there to begin with?
Sometimes paste will not compensate if there is a small gap where an actual thermal pad was.
No. I dont use teh factory paste and this processor is a few years old. Just came out of my dad's old rig actually.

What heatsink and fan are you using?

You may be applying the thermal grease too thickly or thinly
Stock HSF with stock speeds.

I am using a pea size amount.

try your stock heatsink, some rare cases the heatpipe coolers can develope a leak where the gas escapes thereby eliminating its ability to remove the heat. put you finger to the base of your cooler and if its hot and the cooler isnt warm then the heat is not being removed.
It is the stock HSF.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name CuStOm Built
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 16x, 211 bus, 3379mhz
Motherboard MSI K9A Platinum
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper TX2 CPU Cooler
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 6400
Video Card(s) ATI RADEON 256MB PCI-E X1950PRO 621/756mhz
Storage COMING SOON WD 250GB SATAII 16mb cache
Display(s) 22"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) creative xgamer live
Power Supply ultra xfinity 500w
Software win xp
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 results 5245
#6
clean off the dust between the heatsink fins. if you have the air duster or air compressor or even vacuum it all out. just my 2 cents. i had a dell with an intel do the same thing. after i did that never had problem since.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#7
Tis clean.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#8
clean off the dust between the heatsink fins. if you have the air duster or air compressor or even vacuum it all out. just my 2 cents. i had a dell with an intel do the same thing. after i did that never had problem since.
he's overheating too fast to be dust related.

my thoughts:

IHS has seperated

psu or motherboard is over volting the cpu

use razor blade to check level surface of heatsink and cpu

if all else is ok then cpu is defective - replace cpu
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#9
I took out the CPU (as if I didnt have a choice because when I pulled the HSF off the CPU came with it :wtf:)

Anyway, I got looking around the IHS of the CPU and it looked as though it was detached a bit. I have another 3200+ venice that i tossed in and with Windows update again, its at 63C right now. :wtf:

Maybe its the case? There are only two fans,one on the inside that is pretty useless (front) as it has no ventilation for cool air, and a rear fan that is for exhaust. Im thinking I may just use a different case and see if that solves it.
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#10
clean off the dust between the heatsink fins. if you have the air duster or air compressor or even vacuum it all out. just my 2 cents. i had a dell with an intel do the same thing. after i did that never had problem since.
True. This happens to me a lot (have stock AMD cooler today). And I do exactly like you say - I vacuum the heatsink fins and then just to be sure I take a brush used to clean guns with and run it carefully between the fins. From having dust and a temp almost @ 35C It goes down to around 28 C (I'm serious, it really does).
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#11
The HSF is next to spotless. If it could sparkle, it would.

I am still having heat issues. The only thing I can think of is the cooling in general.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name CuStOm Built
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 16x, 211 bus, 3379mhz
Motherboard MSI K9A Platinum
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper TX2 CPU Cooler
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 6400
Video Card(s) ATI RADEON 256MB PCI-E X1950PRO 621/756mhz
Storage COMING SOON WD 250GB SATAII 16mb cache
Display(s) 22"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) creative xgamer live
Power Supply ultra xfinity 500w
Software win xp
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 results 5245
#12
The HSF is next to spotless. If it could sparkle, it would.

I am still having heat issues. The only thing I can think of is the cooling in general.
wheather you have the side panel or not does it make a difference? also if you have a portable fan blow it on there and see if anything improves. at least you can diagnosis your airflow if its the problem.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
1,073 (0.27/day)
Likes
52
Location
Chicago
System Name Blue by you
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-G1 Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master D92 MX-4 4 Corsair 120mm Blue led case fans 2 intake 2 exhaust
Memory G.Skill Trident X DDR3 2666 2X8gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming Geforce GTX 970
Storage Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB boot drive Samsung 950 Pro NVME 256gb Seagate 1TB platter
Display(s) Benq GW2765 2560X1440 27 inch
Case Corsair 88R Carbide SFF
Audio Device(s) nada
Power Supply Corsair HX 850i watt Professional
Software Windows 10
#13
The HSF is next to spotless. If it could sparkle, it would.

I am still having heat issues. The only thing I can think of is the cooling in general.
I thought you were using that diamond stuff? And if your using as5 and putting a drop the size of pea, thats 15-20 times too much. About the size of a grain of rice.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#14
I save the diamond stuff for my rigs. :)

Ill tell you one thing about that diamond paste, its hard as hell to get the CPU and HSF cleaned when you have used that stuff.

I use AS5 for the other rigs that I am trying to sell. With all these reapplications that Im doing with this computer, im running very low on AS5. Almost out.

I use no more than what I used to with AS5.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#15
wheather you have the side panel or not does it make a difference? also if you have a portable fan blow it on there and see if anything improves. at least you can diagnosis your airflow if its the problem.
With the side panel on and off it doesnt seem to make a difference. I dont have a small portable fan, but I will see what I can do. If anything.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#16
Could it be your Bios/MB misreading your temps? Do you have a temp diode you could verify with? What programs you using for temps?

You should've noticed at least a couple of degrees with the side off...even in a low flow situation (one small exhaust, one @ intake with really no venting, just a mount bracket) I noticed around 2-3C drop in temps almost across the board.

Hope you get it figured out! :toast:
 

EddxPT

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel Core 2Duo e4300 (@2700)
Motherboard Asus P5B-E (With mosfet passive coolers - Coolermaster)
Cooling CPU:Air Nb:Passive(Zalman) Sbridge:Passive(Zalman)
Memory 4 Gb Coirsair Twin2x 800Mhz 4-4-4.0-12 (@900)
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 7600GS 512MB (Passive Cooling)
Storage Hitachi 7200 RPM 160 GB
Case Modified Generic Case
Audio Device(s) HD Audio (onboard)
Power Supply Eurotech 460 W
Software Vista Business 64
#17
Can u check the voltage on the CPU, trough the motherboard readings or CPU-Z once on windows ?? How old is the motherboard ? also check for leakage in any capacitor on the motherboard, specially on the CPU socket surrounding areas.

If u haven't done it already, try a different PSU, although if the motherboard is old it is probably a damaged mosfet on the motherboard in the power circuitry that feeds the CPU, would advise you to test the CPU in another motherboard, or even replace the motherboard right away, has it is rather unlikely for two CPU's to start showing the same symptoms at the same time.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#18
Could it be your Bios/MB misreading your temps? Do you have a temp diode you could verify with? What programs you using for temps?

You should've noticed at least a couple of degrees with the side off...even in a low flow situation (one small exhaust, one @ intake with really no venting, just a mount bracket) I noticed around 2-3C drop in temps almost across the board.

Hope you get it figured out! :toast:
Dunno. The mobo was reading temps fine a month ago. Then again it was in a different case that had an 80MM intake fan on teh side panel. Maybe that has something to do with it? And I dont have a temp diode. :(

Im using BIOS and Everest Home Premium. Those seem to do quite well.

I really need to get it figured out because the guy that I work with is getting pretty damn close to getting the money to buy this thing and I cant get the CPU heat sorted. The money I was getting for that computer, I was going to buy my Q9450.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#19
Can u check the voltage on the CPU, trough the motherboard readings or CPU-Z once on windows ?? How old is the motherboard ? also check for leakage in any capacitor on the motherboard, specially on the CPU socket surrounding areas.

If u haven't done it already, try a different PSU, although if the motherboard is old it is probably a damaged mosfet on the motherboard in the power circuitry that feeds the CPU, would advise you to test the CPU in another motherboard, or even replace the motherboard right away, has it is rather unlikely for two CPU's to start showing the same symptoms at the same time.
Ill unplug my computer here and give CPUz a go. I will also check capacitors. The motherboard is a few years old. Its still an AGP board. Abit AV8 I believe. Cant really find another AGP board and Im not about to buy a used one. And I cant buy a PCIe board as I dont have a spare PCIe video card. And even if I did, it would up the price.

Ill see if I cant find another PSU. I know I have one around here somewhere. Will 425 watt's be enough for a single core Athlon 64 with 2GB ram and a 6800GS (AGP)?

This is a socket 939 system.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
if two CPU's give the same overheating, no matter the grease its one of two things.

The heatsink is not making good contact (make sure pressing it down is spreading the grease - if the grease isnt spreading evenly, the cooler isnt touching)

#2 is that the motherboard is giving the wrong voltages. reset all voltages/overclocking settings to auto in the bios.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#21
Heres the CPUz with a shot of Everest's temps.

The capacitors seem fine too.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
this doesnt answer the voltages, you'll need to check those in the bios.

38c is fine for an idle, and while it says 1.44v no one ever trusts software for CPU voltages :)
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#23
shouldnt it read 1.3v core?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#24
1.4V's is stock for that core.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#25
this doesnt answer the voltages, you'll need to check those in the bios.

38c is fine for an idle, and while it says 1.44v no one ever trusts software for CPU voltages :)
True, it doesnt answer the voltage, but it gives you and idea of what Im working with along with the Vcore. :)