• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need more help overclocking CPU XD

Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#1
I have a P4 2.8GHZ, 533fsb, 1mb l2 cache. Can I overclock it SAFELY? What program do you reccomend to use to do so? Also what GHZ speed/fsb speed do you reccomend that is garunteed won't blow up on me? xD
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#2
stealthfighter said:
I have a P4 2.8GHZ, 533fsb, 1mb l2 cache. Can I overclock it SAFELY? What program do you reccomend to use to do so? Also what GHZ speed/fsb speed do you reccomend that is garunteed won't blow up on me? xD
Don't use a software, most suck, go to the BIOS and overclock there, do you have the stock cooler?

For the max overclock ask Infrared, he got is P4 to 5.0
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#3
I have big heatsink & han on it yeah.
5.0 GHZ? man, I'm afaraid that would blow up (in pieces!!)
That would create a small black hole!!
Is 2.85 ghz safe?
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#4
stealthfighter said:
I have big heatsink & han on it yeah.
5.0 GHZ? man, I'm afaraid that would blow up (in pieces!!)
That would create a small black hole!!
Is 2.85 ghz safe?
2.85 is completely safe, it's just a 50mhz increase, wich i your mobo?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#5
hm I wonder if 2.93 is safe.
My mobo, don't know much about it. I know it supports serial drives, pentium 4's, has no pci-e slots (i'm compensating), 5 pci slots, 1 agp slot, does not stpport ddr2 ram. I'm sure thats not going to be enough, you need the part no right? I dunno how to find that out, I did'nt buy it. :eek: :eek:
Also I need to know if 2.93 is COMPLETELY safe. This processor is going to last me a LONG time.
edit: it's an intel-made mobo. Intel rules :D
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#6
do you know wich chipset the mobo has?,

AMD rules, 700mhz overclock on stock cooling, at 45ºc under load, you can't get this one on your P4 :D :D

PS: to make it easier just post your complete system specs
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#7
I dont know anything about the mobo other than stated above^^
how would I find out?
Ok, here we go:
Intel p4 2.8 533 FSB 1mb l2 cache
1GB BallistiX DDR400 w/ copper heatsinks (512x2)
300W PSU
120GB Maxtor HDD 133mb/s
--------------------------------
Nvidia GeForce 5200FX Ultra-
GPU: Standard: 325MHZ - OC'd to 350MHZ
RAM- 128mb DDR (64x2): standard 650MHZ - OC'd to 700MHZ
--------------------------------

:shadedshu
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#8
Hey I was gonna OC my CPU but when I pressed F8 at boot-up it said select o/s to boot from? How do I get into BIOS? omgwtflol
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.56/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#9
Should be like F1 to enter setup or what have you. Some use ESC. F8 is relegated mainly to OS Boot, Safe Mode or System Restore (using an on storage partition that has the image of the restore on it) Hope that helps. If your motherboard is made by intel, its probably one of the older 478 models (I think) Who made your comp?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#10
My uncle put it to geather and my family has been incrementally upgrading it.
I'll try F1 and ESC but to be absolutely sure will 2.93GHz be very save? It's a 130 MHZ increace I've never overclocked CPUs before I know nothing about it, so will 2.93 be absolutely safe?
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#11
Use the DELETE key to enter Bios, just download MBM5 or everest to find out wich board do you have, wich is the amp on the 12v rail of that PSU?
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#12
pt said:
Use the DELETE key to enter Bios, just download MBM5 or everest to find out wich board do you have, wich is the amp on the 12v rail of that PSU?
Before you overclock i don't know if your PSU can handle a cpu overclock, it will be a good idea to make another upgrade
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#13
dunno, but the model is allied AL-A300ATXREV:B if you can check it. I have no idea what "the amp on the 12v rail" means??
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#14
on your PSU there's a paper sticked on the side that says +3.3/+/+12/etc..., wich is the number under the +12v?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#15
under 3+3v: 20A
under +5v: 30A
under +12 v: 10A
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#16
just found it using google and the AMP on the 12v rail is 15A, anyways you should buy a new one, i think you can go to 3.0GHZ with this one, read some overclocking manuals first, if you put the pc at 3000mhz at the first time it will probabily lock you up
Going to Sleep...
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#17
stealthfighter said:
10A??, ARE YOU SURE?, it's too risky to overclock with that PSU, in my opinion at least
Wait for som more TPU menbers to read this thread
got to go
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#18
about the mobo MBM5 asked me to select my mobo i dunno what it is
About everest it wanted me to buy something :/
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#19
pt said:
10A??, ARE YOU SURE?, it's too risky to overclock with that PSU, in my opinion at least
Wait for som more TPU menbers to read this thread
got to go
Yes it says 10A, I'm sure. I can't upgrade my power supply and it came with my comp 2 or so yrs back...
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,747 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,656
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#20
ok slowly and steadily move up to 3ghz DO NOT BREAK 3ghz that is all that psu can handle go up in 5-10mhz incriments run sciencemark (do not run cpu burn in) and dont forget to drop the ram speed down (one speed from whatever you are using) when you break 230fsb and dont forget you may need to bump the cpu voltag when you get to 3ghz do this lightly only .1or.2 volts if it does not get 3.oghz o well just remember if it bsods that your max is the last safe setting dont push it cheap psu and oc'ing dont work good luck and fyi amd is way better than intel 440 stock amd hsf
btw whose name id on yours it will help us know your max oc
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#21
drop the ram speed? I have ddr 400 im not sure I want to do that and I'm getting a sound card too so maybe it's best to just leave it alone for now.
Also I'm not rich thats why I was overclocking lol
And I dunno what siencemark is/how to use it?
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#22
stealthfighter said:
drop the ram speed? I have ddr 400 im not sure I want to do that and I'm getting a sound card too so maybe it's best to just leave it alone for now.
Also I'm not rich thats why I was overclocking lol
And I dunno what siencemark is/how to use it?
You can get a good PSU for a low price, i recommend it over the soundcard
Just download Sciencemark and run it
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,747 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,656
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#23
sciencemark is a program that tests if your comp. is stable you just press run benchmark it is not that diff. btw dropping the ram speed is not bad it makes sure you dont break not vice versa and if you go to micro center they have a ultra psu for like $20 (after rebate) just get that
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#24
i only have 5$. I had 35$ and already spent that on the sound card.
I can save up for a better one, like 500w but those are like $60...