• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need reliable router for server network

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,154 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,221
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#1
I've just tried a dlink, it puked. I've got linksys, I hate it, it's flakey. I just need one wired 100 m/bit tank, programable router. Advice? I usually use dlink or linksys, but nothing is working, what newer model do I need? Help, very important, I run a multiple server network.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
I use a Linksys BEFSR41 V3 and had 0 issue's with it. Been great for getting stuff from one PC to another.

Although by programmable i'm not 100% sure what you mean by that. Well yes of course you can change stuff on it but if it can do what you want i don't know. I just know it's been great with 3 comps sharing files.


and yes it's 100Mb\s
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
cisco should have something that fits your needs
 

Th0rn0

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
422 (0.13/day)
Likes
50
Location
Yorkshire, UK
System Name tehHulk
Processor Phenom II x4 955 @ 4ghz
Motherboard Asus M4A79
Cooling Heatkiller v3, MP220 Rad
Memory 8 gig DDR2 PC6400 Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) X2 ATI HD5770 1Gig
Storage 500 gig main, X2 300 gig and 250 gig media, 120 gig external (pron)
Display(s) x3 19" widescreen @ 1440x900 Each And a 17" widescreen @ 1280x800
Case NZXT Tempest
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth 600w
Software Windows 7 RC1 64bit
Benchmark Scores 15000 3DMark06
#4
Linksys all the way on routers and switches. Although my current one is dead (nothing to do with the switch mind)

I think when he said programmable I think he meant managed.
 
P

Ptep

Guest
#5
I've just tried a dlink, it puked. I've got linksys, I hate it, it's flakey. I just need one wired 100 m/bit tank, programable router. Advice? I usually use dlink or linksys, but nothing is working, what newer model do I need? Help, very important, I run a multiple server network.
Perhaps a little more information on what your trying to achieve and your 'multiple server network' might aid us in pointing you towards the most suitable equipment? Cisco - whilst very good is also very expensive compared to most home networking gear and can be difficult to set up so it may well be total overkill for your situation.

Post back what your trying to do and what setup you have and im sure someone would be happy to point you towards the right gear.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
i'd interpret "multiple server network" (+ assumed clients) as something corporate that generates revenue, that depends on the internet connection. no/bad internet = no money.

100 mbit also suggests that there is quite some money involved for internet connectivity
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,506 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#7
I use Billion Routers here at home and there awesome, best ones ive ever used, Dlink just suck, never use one of those again, i sold it for cheap to some family lol. Always had to reboot the Dlink every 2 weeks, where the Billion very rarely ;)

I also use a 8port ASUS Switch it works fine, but i wouldn't recommend one.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#8
I`m quite pleased with Linksys routers. But as you said you don`t like them.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,556
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
LinkSys WRT54GL + Tomato Firmware
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,064 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,130
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
We'll have to wait on more info from OP... there's old Linksys, new Linksys, some models have trickled down from Cisco, etc. He could have used one with known problems.

Same goes for DLink and most other companies.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#11
my router performs flawlessly regardless of load, yay openWRT [X-Wrt is a great GUI for it]

ive heard good things about tomato too
 

mordant80

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
Likes
19
Location
West Virginia
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASRock 890FX DELUXE3
Cooling Swiftech Custom Water Setup
Memory Patriot Viper II 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PV234G1600LLK) @ 1667 7-7-7-20
Video Card(s) HIS Reference HD5870 core:1000 mem:1250 / EVGA 9800GTX for PhysX core:792 mem:1152 shaders:1998
Storage WD Black 1TB / Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Acer 23inch 1920x1080
Case LIAN LI PC-P50WB Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-S-B 950W
Software Windows 7 X64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage:P22970 SuperPI 1M:17.382
#12
I use dd-wrt on my linksys personally... Router acts better than with the stock firmware, that's for sure. But yea, a linksys with an alternative firmware can be quite nice.

But if you're in a professional environment, maybe you should look in to something a bit more like a cisco.. I've had experience with netopia equipment, it's not bad either. There are a few choices out there for non-home, professional type equipment.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.96/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#13
WRT54GL + DDWRT i use at home .. rock solid ...
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#14
I've got 2 Netgear FVL328's. One in UK, one in Germany. VPN running between them making one network. I Dameware NT to control remote machines and perform installs/upgrades. Never a problem. If you are looking for wired tanks and no inbuilt wireless, they are good. Cheap on ebay.
 

mordant80

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
Likes
19
Location
West Virginia
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASRock 890FX DELUXE3
Cooling Swiftech Custom Water Setup
Memory Patriot Viper II 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PV234G1600LLK) @ 1667 7-7-7-20
Video Card(s) HIS Reference HD5870 core:1000 mem:1250 / EVGA 9800GTX for PhysX core:792 mem:1152 shaders:1998
Storage WD Black 1TB / Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Acer 23inch 1920x1080
Case LIAN LI PC-P50WB Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-S-B 950W
Software Windows 7 X64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage:P22970 SuperPI 1M:17.382
#15
...and i just had to cycle my router.. I blame this thread.