• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 580 4GB (Samsung) Stock BIOS (Game lags with low fps)

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Hi all respected ppl,

I bought this ex-mining GPU quite awhile back and didn't have much issues as I mostly doing work stuffs that didn't really stress the GPU. I have 3 monitors hooked up. Recently I tried watching the Dota 2 tournament via Steam in the game and it was fine for first few days. third day onwards, am having some fps issues in the game. It hardly can maintain above 30 fps when the game gets crowded. I have used the latest radeon drivers, and have tried dialing down the video requirements which doesn't help. I have a few questions though.

1. Issit normal that the VRAM utilization is always maximum or 99% used and GPU clock at max and temperature 75degC normal at fresh boot up?
2. This brings me to the main reason i put up this post. Realized the bios ROM could have been changed as it didn't match the PN number on the sticker (299-1E366-101SA SKU# 11265-07). When I bought it 2nd hand, it came with this ROM (113-1E3660EU-S5W) which I didn't bother to change initially as it wasn't giving me any problems for work usage until now when I tried gaming. But am unable to find the stock ROM for SAMSUNG RAM. Any idea how or where I can find it?
3. This is the only list this website's database has and I have tried flashing the latest one in the list as of now. I test run Dota under fresh boot up condition and it gives me some flickers and some horizontal line distortion. I checked the status, I suspect it was due to the game trying to downclock the RAM from 2000MHz to 1750MHz in game. Are the ROMs in the list legit or they are all considered tweaked versions as well like the mining ROM?
4. With reference to question 1 as that is the status in a fresh boot up condition. Occasionally it gives me a nice 50degC, low VRAM utilization, GPU Clock throttled down significantly, and in game it was very smooth. Screenshot as attached. Hence my question 1, what is normal? It's like having 2 different character like that. Dunno how else to describe it. I don't know why sometimes it knows how to throttle down but most of the time it just runs at max. Any idea what's happening?

I apologize for my length post, just trying to give as much information I could in my newbie troubleshooting experience.

Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211018_012244.jpg
    IMG_20211018_012244.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 33
  • GPU-Z.gif
    GPU-Z.gif
    25.2 KB · Views: 33
  • After waking up from sleep.gif
    After waking up from sleep.gif
    15.9 KB · Views: 34
  • After Fresh Reboot.gif
    After Fresh Reboot.gif
    16.8 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
423 (1.91/day)
Location
Europe
Hello
Attached you will find one of the latest version BIOSes for your exact ID and subID.
Also your memory chips are samsung, but what code does they have?
Would be nice to have a picture of the memory chips also for helping to identify correct file for you.

 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,805 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
That GPU is at 100% use, you have something using it... if a game wasnt running, you have a malware eth miner active
 

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Hello
Attached you will find one of the latest version BIOSes for your exact ID and subID.
Also your memory chips are samsung, but what code does they have?
Would be nice to have a picture of the memory chips also for helping to identify correct file for you.


Force flashing as below:

Old SSID: E366
New SSID: E366
Old P/N: 113-1E366UU-S5Y
New P/N: 113-2E366UU-O61
older ASIC, vbios is not signed.
Old DeviceID: 67DF
New DeviceID: 67DF
Old Product Name: E366 Polaris20 XTX A1 GDDR5 128Mx32 4GB
New Product Name: E366 Polaris20 XL A1 GDDR5 128Mx32 4GB
Old BIOS Version: 015.050.002.001.000000
New BIOS Version: 015.050.002.001.000000
Flash type: M25P20/c
40000/40000h bytes programmed
40000/40000h bytes verified

Restart System To Complete VBIOS Update.

Will update in a bit if restart is successful. Not sure if it makes any difference between the XTX vs XL.

Restart Successful. But my RX 580 now becomes a RX 570 already.


Resources still running at max.


That GPU is at 100% use, you have something using it... if a game wasnt running, you have a malware eth miner active
Hi. I wish it was true, so it would be an easy fix. But it is like this from fresh restart, the GPU doesn't know how to throttle down to lower freq, while in task manager it can tell there's nothing using the GPU however the VRAM is always at max i dunno why. Is there any way I can check what is using it? from Task manager I cant see anything for the GPU's VRAM.

1634535952944.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
423 (1.91/day)
Location
Europe
OK. you are right. Now you have RX470.
BUT remember i used exact product number and subID that you already had.
I just narrowed the files in the database using your previous BIOS.
Let me repair it by searching the RX580 now.

Regarding the use of resources i will recommend to put this card in a new system and test it there. I suspect you have something in your windows system.
So before you wipe it out and do a clean install, i would recommend to test the card in another computer.


here you have a RX580 BIOS:

This one will be ok, but after you restart computer and test the card if it works correctly, please move it as i suggested to another system and test it there
 
Last edited:

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
I think i may have found the source of the problem. When Mussels say something about malware, instead of looking at things on the surface, i go through the list of processes one by one and found a Gpu-update.exe . After i kill this process, everything throttles back down. And turns out this is indeed a trojan coin miner as per this website:
https://howtofix.guide/gpu-update-exe-virus/

Let me get rid of it permanently and see if the issue persists.
 

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Flash your BIOS also with the new file i provided
Hi impero,

Have just flashed it. Back to RX580 again.


Thanks man.

Resources still peaked max usage until in kill the gpu_update.exe process then it goes back down.
Now I need to figure out how to get rid of it. after deleting the file it still comes back after reboot. Nicely snug inside the Mozilla installation folder.
 

Attachments

  • gpu_update.exe.png
    gpu_update.exe.png
    23.7 KB · Views: 15
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
423 (1.91/day)
Location
Europe
OK, 1st i am happy to have it back to original state.
2nd - please....please wipe out the entire widows and do a clean install.
I wait for info after you do the whole procedure.
Cheers
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,191 (3.16/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Hi impero,

Have just flashed it. Back to RX580 again.


Thanks man.

Resources still peaked max usage until in kill the gpu_update.exe process then it goes back down.
Now I need to figure out how to get rid of it. after deleting the file it still comes back after reboot. Nicely snug inside the Mozilla installation folder.
 

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
I just wanted to share my silliness in trying to troubleshoot the problem. Have a laugh. lol
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211017_142833.jpg
    IMG_20211017_142833.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 41

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Before i do a full format and reinstall, just want to double confirm is the memory clock meant to be stuck at 2000MHz or it should also throttle down by itself. Though usage is just 10% only now after i kill the malware.

 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,735 (4.91/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Scan with Malwarebytes first, you might not have to do a clean install.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,805 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I just wanted to share my silliness in trying to troubleshoot the problem. Have a laugh. lol
I did similar with my 3090 when i was mining... but i at least knew i was :p
The memory clock can stay high for a few reasons, such as having high refresh rate monitors, or multiple monitors

malwarebytes is great, but the latest versions get a bit naggy... you can just uninstall after its cleaned the system

Kaspersky Rescue Disk is also a decent option, as it boots before the OS does
 

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Scan with Malwarebytes first, you might not have to do a clean install.
Good suggestion.

Tried scanning one round found 70 threats including the malware gpu_update.exe and quarantine it. Then I manually delete the whole folder.
C:\Users\FYS\AppData\Local\Mozilla\Update\v11-3 which contains that malware, but it reappears again after reboot. Scan again and still detects and quarantine it. But at least now it no longer disturbs my GPU anymore. However, cant permanently remove it. I guess the total format is the only option. Oh well, might as well get it over and done with.

Thank you for the suggestion.

BTW I have 3 monitors hooked up, so i suppose its high because of that .
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,805 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Some threats are meaningless - cookies, PUPs' (potentially unwanted program - a miner you didnt install is bad, but if you DID install it, obv its fine)
Sounds like you got infected via firefox then, uninstall firefox, delete all the leftover folders and shortcuts , then reinstall it clean (seriously, some malware just replaces the shortcut and bam, you reinstall it)

Use a totally different browser in the meantime

Its not perfect (and should be removed after the cleanup), but CCleaner might be a good option here
 

fys

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
OK, 1st i am happy to have it back to original state.
2nd - please....please wipe out the entire widows and do a clean install.
I wait for info after you do the whole procedure.
Cheers
Just formatted and fresh installed windows. looking healthy now.


Thank you !
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
423 (1.91/day)
Location
Europe
Ohhhhh, good news.
I suggested you to do a clean install for Windows, because any registry records that had to do something with that malware should be removed.
So in order to achieve that I personally reinstall windows every time when i suspect something.
Easier and safer.
Cheers
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,805 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Just formatted and fresh installed windows. looking healthy now.


Thank you !
Can you run one monitor for a bit and see if the GPU memory drops, and the temp drops?
50C is totally fine if its because it's running the three displays, but it's easier to compare with single monitor results
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Good suggestion.

Tried scanning one round found 70 threats including the malware gpu_update.exe and quarantine it. Then I manually delete the whole folder.
C:\Users\FYS\AppData\Local\Mozilla\Update\v11-3 which contains that malware, but it reappears again after reboot. Scan again and still detects and quarantine it. But at least now it no longer disturbs my GPU anymore. However, cant permanently remove it. I guess the total format is the only option. Oh well, might as well get it over and done with.

Thank you for the suggestion.

BTW I have 3 monitors hooked up, so i suppose its high because of that .
Gah you need to go to www.askwoody.com or chris titus tech and research OS updates and use spywareblaster to do some lock downs with keeping defender updated and using browser plugins that block scripts.
 
Top