• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need some advice

Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name Towly's Midrange Menace / Home File Server
Processor Intel Core2Quad E9550 2.83Ghz / Pentuim 4 3Ghz HT
Motherboard MSI G31TM-P25 / Gigabyte GA-945G Pro
Cooling Cooler master V6 / Intel Stock
Memory 4 gb 800mhz DDR2/ 2gb 800mhz DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI Geforce 460 GTX 768MB / Intel onboard
Storage 1x 120 gb 1x500gb / 2 x 1TB sata,1 x 160Gb,1 x 80Gb, 2 x 500Gb sata
Display(s) 19" HANNS-G LCD
Case Jeantech Achilles Mid Tower / Standard atx
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD / Onboard HD
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 600Watt / XGR 450W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit / Windows XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 03 = 42483 Unigine v2.5 = 1555 http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/2982.html
#1
Hi All TPU'ers

I've got an old intel pentium dual core e2180 2.0ghz processor with the ecs p4m900t-m2 mobo.
Now my question is, can I for instance put a C2D E7500 cpu in it. Cause the e2180 is a 65nm and the e7500 is a 45nm. Will it damage the mobo?
Please give me some advice.

Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#2
Hi All TPU'ers

I've got an old intel pentium dual core e2180 2.0ghz processor with the ecs p4m900t-m2 mobo.
Now my question is, can I for instance put a C2D E7500 cpu in it. Cause the e2180 is a 65nm and the e7500 is a 45nm. Will it damage the mobo?
Please give me some advice.

Thanks in advance
It wont damage the mobo. I would give it a try. If it boots up provable CPU would work at lower freq because the motherboard don`t support so high fsb. But you can overclock the mb fsb so it would reach the stock fsb of the CPU.

I have done this on intel 945 chipset motherboard.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name Towly's Midrange Menace / Home File Server
Processor Intel Core2Quad E9550 2.83Ghz / Pentuim 4 3Ghz HT
Motherboard MSI G31TM-P25 / Gigabyte GA-945G Pro
Cooling Cooler master V6 / Intel Stock
Memory 4 gb 800mhz DDR2/ 2gb 800mhz DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI Geforce 460 GTX 768MB / Intel onboard
Storage 1x 120 gb 1x500gb / 2 x 1TB sata,1 x 160Gb,1 x 80Gb, 2 x 500Gb sata
Display(s) 19" HANNS-G LCD
Case Jeantech Achilles Mid Tower / Standard atx
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD / Onboard HD
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 600Watt / XGR 450W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit / Windows XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 03 = 42483 Unigine v2.5 = 1555 http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/2982.html
#3
Well my mobo's fsb is rated to 1066 and the e7500's fsb is 1066fsb
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
Why dont you check the CPU list on the manufactures web site?

I did it says no. But it wont hurt to try
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name Towly's Midrange Menace / Home File Server
Processor Intel Core2Quad E9550 2.83Ghz / Pentuim 4 3Ghz HT
Motherboard MSI G31TM-P25 / Gigabyte GA-945G Pro
Cooling Cooler master V6 / Intel Stock
Memory 4 gb 800mhz DDR2/ 2gb 800mhz DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI Geforce 460 GTX 768MB / Intel onboard
Storage 1x 120 gb 1x500gb / 2 x 1TB sata,1 x 160Gb,1 x 80Gb, 2 x 500Gb sata
Display(s) 19" HANNS-G LCD
Case Jeantech Achilles Mid Tower / Standard atx
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD / Onboard HD
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 600Watt / XGR 450W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit / Windows XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 03 = 42483 Unigine v2.5 = 1555 http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/2982.html
#5
Been there...asked the support team...tried overclocking my cpu which the mobo does not support.
Just looking for all of your opinions. Will it work or not...done.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#6
Why dont you check the CPU list on the manufactures web site?

I did its says no
The CPU is not on the list. If support the fsb even better. For one the 45nm are using lower voltages so it should be safe.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
Not on the list is a no. I would be shocked if it even posts. Although if theres a bios update its a maybe
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name Towly's Midrange Menace / Home File Server
Processor Intel Core2Quad E9550 2.83Ghz / Pentuim 4 3Ghz HT
Motherboard MSI G31TM-P25 / Gigabyte GA-945G Pro
Cooling Cooler master V6 / Intel Stock
Memory 4 gb 800mhz DDR2/ 2gb 800mhz DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI Geforce 460 GTX 768MB / Intel onboard
Storage 1x 120 gb 1x500gb / 2 x 1TB sata,1 x 160Gb,1 x 80Gb, 2 x 500Gb sata
Display(s) 19" HANNS-G LCD
Case Jeantech Achilles Mid Tower / Standard atx
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD / Onboard HD
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 600Watt / XGR 450W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit / Windows XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 03 = 42483 Unigine v2.5 = 1555 http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/2982.html
#8
I saw there is a bios update to support the e5200. But i'm a bit sceptical about flashing a bios.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
If its a flash that does it from Windows then its fairly safe. Just dont lose power in the middle of it