• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need Some Help, Looking for a Router and Wireless Adapter but which Brand

Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#1
Well you know what im looking for, but dont know whats a reliable brand these are ones ive seen are D-Link and LINKSYS at Office Max cuz there they have sales only on D-Link :( but if the Eggs is less I'll go there :D

But I want to know what im getting before I get one, never got a Router brfore :eek:

And its for my comp and my girls dell and a laptop.

Also which is better USB or Pci for the Wireless Adapter ?

And do the Routers that say boost speed or is it all BS ?

Heres my current speed
 
Last edited:

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#2
I am not a fan of Linksys. I have the WRT54G and I don't like it. Online gaming is a crap shoot since it has difficulty forwarding ports.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#3
Ha, not DLink. You've got about a 50/50 shot that it will actually work. And if it does work, there's another 50/50 shot it will be buggy. Netgear is overpriced and overvolted (aka buggy and will cook itself). Linksys is, as far as I know, reliable but expensive.

I reccomend Buffalo and Gigabyte. $45 Buffalo router at Newegg, and I'm loving it :). And Gigabyte just makes reliable everything :rockout:.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
New Jersey
Processor AMD Athalon 64 X2 +3800
Motherboard ASUS A8N32 SLI M/B
Cooling 5 Antec Case Fans, Corsair Memory Cooler
Memory Kingston HyperX 2GB RAM
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 3870
Storage Seagate Barracuda 320GB and 250GB
Display(s) 22' View Sonic HD Widescreen
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97'
Power Supply XION 600w Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
#4
i have a linksys its pretty cool the port forwarding isnt too bad
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#5
well the Router is going to be in the same room as where my rig is, so I can just use the Ethernet cable right ? so which one :confused: :laugh:
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#6
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#7
OH yea whats better the USB or PCI Wireless Adapter

and which Router plz help

Linksys or Buffalo suggestions welcomed :D
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#8
Get the low-priced Buffalo router and a PCI wireless adapter from either Buffalo, Gigabyte, or Linksys :).
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#9
I heard alot of good about lynksis but I'm soley speaking from 3rd party information.. I use a crappy belkin..lol yea. ill change that soon..
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#10
I found one on this forum that kicks ass,...Airlink AR504.
It tested as being one of the fastest routers out there.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#11
Okay well if the Data Rates is higher its better Router ?? Cuz the Buffalo have Data Rates up to 125Mbps and Linksys up to 54Mbps :confused:

So is this setup any good ?? Dont know which Router does that 3X Range, 6X Speed vs 2XRange, 3XSpeed well I see any difference

And I have a Nintendo DS well it be able to get on the net with eather one "Router" ??

Routers Buffalo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833162173

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833162134

Wireless Adapters Buffalo
PCI
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833162111
USB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833162130
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#12
Get the G54-S, it's cheaper and you won't notice the difference between this and the other one unless you spend a crapload on high-tech antennas. And DEFINITELY get the PCI card, USB things just serve to annoy you when you're trying to install an operating system.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#13
Get the G54-S, it's cheaper and you won't notice the difference between this and the other one unless you spend a crapload on high-tech antennas. And DEFINITELY get the PCI card, USB things just serve to annoy you when you're trying to install an operating system.
Thanks :toast:

but all that X Rang, Speed crap is just for the Wireless things ? right?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#14
Yes.

Remind me, are you just going for wireless connections, or are you using a wired and one or two wireless? I'm using this router for a wired desktop, a wireless desktop, and a wireless laptop. Zero problems, for $45 I simply can't complain. And the range is absolutely incredible....there's something to be said for playing on a laptop outside :).
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#15
yea my rig is going to be wired and rest wirless

what about the laptop outside
 

robl756

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Las Vegas
#16
Linksys WRT54G "Router"

In reply to JC316: Your statement, that the WRT54G has trouble forwarding ports, I, think you are wrong!!!!!!! It, has trouble, simply TURNING ON! It, is the biggest garbage BRIDGE I[ve ever seen. WHY is it, that so many of these things, are simply bridges, but, everybody, and the companies, call them routers. A FEW of them will route. But, the Majority of them WILL NOT ROUTE IP. They are a bridge, that thows, IP masuerading into the mix. And, calls it NAT. We we using Unix boxes year before these little routers were een THOUGHT of, and using JUST the O/S, to do IP masquerading. The Unix box, would handle the Connection to the internet, whether it be a modem, hardline, whatever, and, then, we would write a table into in, and use a small BIND file (files) to use PRIVATE IP's, and assign them to all the other machines on the nework. They all got connectivity, We used an OLD 386 with 4 meg RAM, and a 240 meg hard drive, AH, you have to love an O/S, that uses so LITTLE system resources. That old, garbage machine, would run BIND fine, allowing all the mahcines (as many as you like) to have thier private IP, and access to the net, AND, they would be networked among each other, using Samba on the Unix machine, and naturally, TCP-IP on the Windoze machines. So, In conclusion, You just did not carry your Gaff on the WRT54G far enough. It's Junk, It's GARbage, it won't hook up (wirelesss) to a GOOD working client 30 feet away. It, had to be in the same room. SEe if I help any body out any more, using that junker. Try netgear, or, one of a few other REally good Router/bridges out there.
And, to Zekrahminator, in your sig., your quote by MLK, don't forget, that MLK, got caught with his Pants down more often than JFK. And, he did not have the cover up capability that JFK had. ;-)
 
Last edited: