• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need some help overclocking Phenom II 1055T

Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.92/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#1
CPU: AMD Phenom II 1055T X6 (95W)
M/B: GA-890GPA-UD3H
RAM: 2X4GB Samsung Green
Video: Radeon 5770
PSU: Corsair TX 650
Cooling: Alpenfohn Nordwand

I bought some new RAM and I've started overclocking. (Turns out my old RAM was shit and kept bottling it) Atm I'm at 3.2Ghz, with auto settings. If I were to aim for 3.6-4GHZ what kind of settings would I requiring
Atm I'm under the impression that the HT and NB link should be the same number, and between 1800 and 2200
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.92/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#2
bump
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#3

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
your Multiplier locked
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#5
I thought the "T" chips were unlocked?
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#6
Oh right, apparently there's minimal different between 1333MHz and 1600MHz for AMD, so keep the RAM at 1333 and work on tightening the CAS latency. 1333/C7 or C8 might be better than 1600MHz/C9. Benchmark your system between the 2 and see which numbers are higher.

I thought the "T" chips were unlocked?
T stands for Thuban (I think) and doesn't mean anything else.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
IIRC, raising HT offers minimal performance gains and isn't worth the stress. NB should be around 2400-2600MHZ for best performance depending on your clocks. Click the link below for a chart that tells you what your NB should be at respective to your achieved clock speed.

http://www.overclockers.com/the-importance-of-northbridge-overclocking-with-the-phenom-ii/

Apparently overdoing the NB hinders performance.
if the overclock is unstable yes the NB hinders on any machine

Ram depends on Clock Speed, Voltage, Timings.

You need a balance of all of them
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8
Mine will do 272x14 1.45V with mem dropped down to 667
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#9
Drop your NB, CPU Multi, and memory speeds and start cranking up the HT clock with your chip set at wherever your target voltage/heat dissipation is or will allow.

Start with 10Mhz jumps until it no longer boots, or runs stable, then drop back and go up n e at a time, usually a few passes of Super PI 32M will show instability (run on all cores), or Intel Burn in test, or whatever CPU test you prefer.


Write that number down. (For exampel HT Max = 245 Mhz)

Now drop it back to stock.

Now start increasing your NB speed, as was mentioned in the article increase your NB voltage to 1.25 or so and start turning it up one multi at a time until your system hangs or fails to pass a Super PI.


Write that down in Mhz.


Drop it back to stock and leave your CPU underclocked using the multiplier.

Set your memory voltage to its rated max.
Set your timings manually, I have found using Aida to read the EPP timings and voltage and starting there is a good idea for that base speed.
Start increasing your HT again until it no longer boots/or passes testing, using the simple pass in windows as well as whatever your preferred test suite may be.

Write that/those numbers down.


Apply the CPU multiplier that gets you within the nearest multiplier range for the NB speed to match up.


Example.

CPU 3700 Mhz
Multi 16.5
HT 225
Memory 3:8 (1200Mhz)
NB 2250

By matching up to the closest multipliers, then using HT to finish tuning a system to achieve the maximum speed on NB, Memory, and CPU with the timings we have we are able to extract the best performance.

If you are at the bleeding edge of where you wanted to end up try a tenth or two more voltage, if it doesn't help or if you get runaway temps you are past what I consider optimal stability point.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#10
Just change it to 3.64 with no voltage adjustment ( give or take 20 mhz)
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.92/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#11
Drop your NB, CPU Multi, and memory speeds and start cranking up the HT clock with your chip set at wherever your target voltage/heat dissipation is or will allow.

Start with 10Mhz jumps until it no longer boots, or runs stable, then drop back and go up n e at a time, usually a few passes of Super PI 32M will show instability (run on all cores), or Intel Burn in test, or whatever CPU test you prefer.


Write that number down. (For exampel HT Max = 245 Mhz)

Now drop it back to stock.

Now start increasing your NB speed, as was mentioned in the article increase your NB voltage to 1.25 or so and start turning it up one multi at a time until your system hangs or fails to pass a Super PI.


Write that down in Mhz.


Drop it back to stock and leave your CPU underclocked using the multiplier.

Set your memory voltage to its rated max.
Set your timings manually, I have found using Aida to read the EPP timings and voltage and starting there is a good idea for that base speed.
Start increasing your HT again until it no longer boots/or passes testing, using the simple pass in windows as well as whatever your preferred test suite may be.

Write that/those numbers down.


Apply the CPU multiplier that gets you within the nearest multiplier range for the NB speed to match up.


Example.

CPU 3700 Mhz
Multi 16.5
HT 225
Memory 3:8 (1200Mhz)
NB 2250

By matching up to the closest multipliers, then using HT to finish tuning a system to achieve the maximum speed on NB, Memory, and CPU with the timings we have we are able to extract the best performance.

If you are at the bleeding edge of where you wanted to end up try a tenth or two more voltage, if it doesn't help or if you get runaway temps you are past what I consider optimal stability point.
I'll start over tomorrow using this method. Turns out memtest is shit. I passed woth 280 % coveage and still failed Prime95 blend
Just change it to 3.64 with no voltage adjustment ( give or take 20 mhz)
You're saying jump to 3.64ghz without adjusting any other settings?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#12
Doesn't the "t" stand for turbo core? As in under certain instances 3 cores get raised to 3.3 ghz.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,387
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.92/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#15
Finding the FSB max now, I'm up to 265. As long as the limit = no longer windows bootable
is it okay if something are slightly UNDERclocked? i.e. NB at 1860 for example

edit: okay. so I was able to boot windows with 300 FSB, which can't be right (?)
But it did crash just before I could make it to finish the post I WAS writing.. I'm on 290 FSB right now, seems a bit high doesn't it?

11:05: On 290 now, but 1 worked crashed on prime95 blend after 18 minutes.

Should I work down until I can get a stable prime95 8+ hours run or....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.92/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#16
bump
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#17
Finding the FSB max now, I'm up to 265. As long as the limit = no longer windows bootable
is it okay if something are slightly UNDERclocked? i.e. NB at 1860 for example

edit: okay. so I was able to boot windows with 300 FSB, which can't be right (?)
But it did crash just before I could make it to finish the post I WAS writing.. I'm on 290 FSB right now, seems a bit high doesn't it?

11:05: On 290 now, but 1 worked crashed on prime95 blend after 18 minutes.

Should I work down until I can get a stable prime95 8+ hours run or....
You might need to increase the CPU's voltage a bit. If your motherboard has any features to stablise the voltage I suggest you use it too.

Try the range between 1.5v - 1.55v

Also remember FSB increases also overclocks the memory bus too, so make sure your memory is stable running at the new speeds too.

your Multiplier locked
Fortunately, these chips still overclock to about the same region as the unlocked verison. Just requires a better board and more skill.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.92/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#18
You might need to increase the CPU's voltage a bit. If your motherboard has any features to stablise the voltage I suggest you use it too.

Try the range between 1.5v - 1.55v

Also remember FSB increases also overclocks the memory bus too, so make sure your memory is stable running at the new speeds too.



Fortunately, these chips still overclock to about the same region as the unlocked verison. Just requires a better board and more skill.
Up frrom 1.18V to 1.5? really? :eek:
Alrighty then, so the fact i can still boot windows with a 300 FSB is... okay?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#19
Up frrom 1.18V to 1.5? really? :eek:


Alrighty then, so the fact i can still boot windows with a 300 FSB is... okay?

Your CPU isn't running at 1.18v, that is cool & quiet and other features lowering the voltage when the CPU is relatively untaxed. It's probably running closer to 1.4v when its clocked high and in heavy usage.

Obviously you don't just bump the voltage straight to 1.5v. You move up in 0.10 increments and test for a few hours at every stage. You are trying to find the lowest voltage which gives a stable result.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,387
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#20
did you disable cool and quiet?
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,387
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#21
and you are supposed to go from lower to higher not start at highest. :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#22
Your CPU isn't running at 1.18v, that is cool & quiet and other features lowering the voltage when the CPU is relatively untaxed. It's probably running closer to 1.4v when its clocked high and in heavy usage.

Obviously you don't just bump the voltage straight to 1.5v. You move up in 0.10 increments and test for a few hours at every stage. You are trying to find the lowest voltage which gives a stable result.
My Phenom II 940 ran at 1.35v stock iirc, I suspect most other Deneb chips are the same. 1.5v on my CPU ran pretty toastly at full load, so be careful with that. (I was using a Thermaltake Frio with a push-pull setup with two 150CFM fans. Let me tell you it gets very toasty at 1.5v+.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#23
My Phenom II 940 ran at 1.35v stock iirc, I suspect most other Deneb chips are the same. 1.5v on my CPU ran pretty toastly at full load, so be careful with that. (I was using a Thermaltake Frio with a push-pull setup with two 150CFM fans. Let me tell you it gets very toasty at 1.5v+.
My Athlon II X 640 can upto 3.1 GHz at stock voltage. 3.5GHz needs 1.45v. I've pushed 1.5 - 1.55v through for 3.7 GHz no problem but isnt worth the extra voltage and heat for 200Mhz more.

It varies chip to chip, the key is to start low and build the voltage up slowly.

did you disable cool and quiet?
I actually overclock with Cool & Quiet on. Never made a difference. But for troubleshooting purposes I agree, turn C&Q off. When the rig is 100% rock solid stable, then enable it.
 
Last edited:

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,387
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
yes CnQ sometimes pseudo-increases stability
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#25
I actually overclock with Cool & Quiet on. Never made a difference. But for troubleshooting purposes I agree, turn C&Q off. When the rig is 100% rock solid stable, then enable it.
I did as well. It keeps idle temps and power usage down even in a high overclock. There is no reason to eat more power when your rig is idling, even if your overclocked and a good 24/7 overclock should be able to handle C&Q lower power states.