• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need some help overclocking Phenom II 1055T

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#26
CnQ gets automatically disabled after you cross a fixed core voltage. for my board it is 1.4V
if i go higher, CnQ no workey
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#27
Finding the FSB max now, I'm up to 265. As long as the limit = no longer windows bootable
is it okay if something are slightly UNDERclocked? i.e. NB at 1860 for example

edit: okay. so I was able to boot windows with 300 FSB, which can't be right (?)
But it did crash just before I could make it to finish the post I WAS writing.. I'm on 290 FSB right now, seems a bit high doesn't it?

11:05: On 290 now, but 1 worked crashed on prime95 blend after 18 minutes.

Should I work down until I can get a stable prime95 8+ hours run or....
I would say 260 should be your max safe 24/7 safe HTT speed. Beyond that usually is headache, though I have run few setups more than 260 HTT.

When testing for stability test for S3 wake up mode too. If it doesn't wake up properly the setup is not 100% stable. I use S3 sleep mode when the machine is not in use.

My board is similar to your board just one generation older (790GP). Most stable 24/7 HTT on my board is around 260. But with my MSI 790FX board I can easily do 300 HTT 24/7 stable.

I have a 1045T and running it @ 3.2 Ghz with my Gigabyte 790GP board (with 1.23v on CPU and NB freq @ 2300). It consumes less energy than my previous unlocked PII 555. Right now all I play is BF3 and that speed is plenty. I plan to add another 6870 later.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#28
CnQ gets automatically disabled after you cross a fixed core voltage. for my board it is 1.4V
if i go higher, CnQ no workey
That is dependent on the implementation on your motherboard. My Asus M4N72-E didn't. Also do you have C&Q drivers installed and do you watch CPU-Z when you're idling (make sure you have power options set to balanced, Windows has a part in managing C&Q as it is a lot like Intel's Speedstep.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,231 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,816
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#29
That is dependent on the implementation on your motherboard. My Asus M4N72-E didn't. Also do you have C&Q drivers installed and do you watch CPU-Z when you're idling (make sure you have power options set to balanced, Windows has a part in managing C&Q as it is a lot like Intel's Speedstep.
CNQ drivers? Didnt know they existed, are those in the AMD 4 in one driver pack?
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#30
CNQ drivers? Didnt know they existed, are those in the AMD 4 in one driver pack?
I can't find anything for Vista or 7, maybe it is built into Windows now. There used to be a C&Q driver.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#31
I can't find anything for Vista or 7, maybe it is built into Windows now. There used to be a C&Q driver.
CnQ drivers are built into Windows now.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#32
Keep Pushing It! :D
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
Location
Florida
System Name GlaDOS 4.0
Processor AMD FX-8120 4.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsiar H60
Memory corsair vengeance 1600mhz 16Gigs
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire ATI 6970's Both @ 960mhz 1400mhz
Storage 1x Corsair force Gt 240G 2x seagate barracuda 1tb 7200rpm
Display(s) 1x Acer 24 inch 1920x1080
Case cooler master atcs 840
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 892 8-Channel
Power Supply 1300w CoolerMaster Silent Pro
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit
Benchmark Scores Bad
#33
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#34
did you disable cool and quiet?
Yeah I have, and the turbo core thing
and you are supposed to go from lower to higher not start at highest. :)
I did, went up in tens up to 260 then in 5s up to 300 FSB, yet it still booted. I'm on 290 now and it hasn't blue screened in 3 days of normal use
I would say 260 should be your max safe 24/7 safe HTT speed. Beyond that usually is headache, though I have run few setups more than 260 HTT.

When testing for stability test for S3 wake up mode too. If it doesn't wake up properly the setup is not 100% stable. I use S3 sleep mode when the machine is not in use.

My board is similar to your board just one generation older (790GP). Most stable 24/7 HTT on my board is around 260. But with my MSI 790FX board I can easily do 300 HTT 24/7 stable.

I have a 1045T and running it @ 3.2 Ghz with my Gigabyte 790GP board (with 1.23v on CPU and NB freq @ 2300). It consumes less energy than my previous unlocked PII 555. Right now all I play is BF3 and that speed is plenty. I plan to add another 6870 later.
I'll be sure to put it into sleep mode and test it. I use sleep mode all the time anyway
I'll start overclocking again when i get in today, using 260 as a max :)
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#35
My current settings



CPU VCore's coming up as 1.33 in HWmonitor, with C&C disabled

went up to 61 degrees on 1.33V on a large in place fft prime95 run in 6 minutes, not liking that
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#36
Okay so I can run Prime95 and SuperPi simultaneously for over an hour, yet I crash using Facebook...
weird
even with the NB voltage increased
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#37
Okay so I can run Prime95 and SuperPi simultaneously for over an hour, yet I crash using Facebook...
weird
even with the NB voltage increased
If you can do both Prime and multi-task it means your Prime isnt stressing the CPU enough and the setting is too weak. I dont recommend using blend or any of the prefixed settings. Use a custom setting to fill up the entire CPU cache and memory. You wont be able to do anything because your CPU will sit at near 100% which is a better stress test.

No it means the voltage is dropping too low during transitions between multipliers and load. Add .05 and see if it still happen.
That is a solution.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#38
No it means the voltage is dropping too low during transitions between multipliers and load. Add .05 and see if it still happen.

Bump your NB and HT up and see if you get better responsiveness. TheL3 cache is driven at NB clock. So a low NB and high clock can still give mediocre performance, and those chips should do around 2.6 easily.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#39
No it means the voltage is dropping too low during transitions between multipliers and load. Add .05 and see if it still happen.

Bump your NB and HT up and see if you get better responsiveness. TheL3 cache is driven at NB clock. So a low NB and high clock can still give mediocre performance, and those chips should do around 2.6 easily.
I added .05 to the CPU voltage
Cool and quiet is currently disabled, but that doesn't mean I'll always be running at 3.22ghz does it? Won't that use more power?
EDIT: I forgot to turn OFF AMD Turbo Core. Maybe when it boosted up to 3.8Ghz it didn't get enough voltage and died


If you can do both Prime and multi-task it means your Prime isnt stressing the CPU enough and the setting is too weak. I dont recommend using blend or any of the prefixed settings. Use a custom setting to fill up the entire CPU cache and memory. You wont be able to do anything because your CPU will sit at near 100% which is a better stress test.
Edit: I think I MIGHT be stable now, running this overnight:


Currently on 1.2V on the CPU (forgot to mention I have the 95W version. Oops)
all other voltages on default
Reduced the HT to 2160 and NB at 2400
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.18/day)
Likes
534
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#40
I had a Gigabyte 890GX before, i did a stable 4000 MHz on my Phenom II X4 955 BE with NB being at 2600 MHz. Ran prime 95 for over 24 hours. Can not remember vcore - might have been 1,475.
All i am saying that this mobo is a good overclocker and you should aim for 3800 MHz.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#41
I have hit 3.7 and 4.2 turbo at stock volts on my rig, since it is more of a "it fits" cpumatchup than a fully supported I can't tweak itany further. 1.2vcore is less than stock i believe, you could easily run 1.45 actual if your cooling supports it and turn off turbo speeds.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#42
I'm having trouble making the jump from 240 to 250 FSB (3.36ghz to 3.5ghz)
I've tried increasing the HT, NB, HT and NB voltages, and CPU voltage up to 1.225V, but I can't get it to work!
edit: last settings I tried below:
Also I've disabled turbo core, but a post above implies that it can still work well even when you've overclocked?


I'm trying to get to a 25% overclock before doing my first 24 hour stability test
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#43
Add .1 volts to your core and see what that brings, leave everything else alone.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#44
Lower your HT link frequency.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,231 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,816
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#45
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#46
HT dont do too much honestly, leaving at factory works
That is why I said lower the HT link frequency and increase the HT clock.

To find max HTT that board does, lower the HT link frequency, NB multi, cpu multi to 5x and memory divider to lowest. Relax the memory timings. Keep increasing the HTT frequency until you find the max that board is able to boot and perform few tasks in windows.

Based on that frequency you can slowly work on other settings to get the max.

My guess is 250 to 260 HTT absolute stable freq (though u might be able to do 300 with all other settings to lowest).

:toast:
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#47
That is why I said lower the HT link frequency and increase the HT clock.

To find max HTT that board does, lower the HT link frequency, NB multi, cpu multi to 5x and memory divider to lowest. Relax the memory timings. Keep increasing the HTT frequency until you find the max that board is able to boot and perform few tasks in windows.

Based on that frequency you can slowly work on other settings to get the max.

My guess is 250 to 260 HTT absolute stable freq (though u might be able to do 300 with all other settings to lowest).

:toast:
I tried that earlier and went all the way up to 300 and it still booted windows. It crashed after a bit, so I went down to 295 (same thing happened) then 290.

Add .1 volts to your core and see what that brings, leave everything else alone.
I added .025, still unstable as hell
Went down to the 240 FSB that I thought was stable and that failed a Prime Small FFT test in 5 seconds. I can't play Battlefield 3 for shit on it either. Crashes in like 10 seconds.
WHY IS STABILITY IMPOSSIBLE?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#48
With bus speeds that high you might need to be bumping your PLL voltage. Some AMD motherboards call it something else and I'm pulling a blank.

Right now, what kind of settings do you have for your overclock:

FSB, Multiplier, NB speed, HTT speed, and all the voltages you have access to for the CPU. Also how fast is your memory running and what is it rated for? Frequency and timings.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#49
I tried that earlier and went all the way up to 300 and it still booted windows. It crashed after a bit, so I went down to 295 (same thing happened) then 290.



I added .025, still unstable as hell
Went down to the 240 FSB that I thought was stable and that failed a Prime Small FFT test in 5 seconds. I can't play Battlefield 3 for shit on it either. Crashes in like 10 seconds.
WHY IS STABILITY IMPOSSIBLE?
It might be an issue with memory. If you have not tried setting timings manually try and see if that solves or try some other memory brand if any lying around.

My gigabyte board absolutely hates Crucial Ballistix ram. I was like you scratching my head, Prime 95 will be fine, games will be fine even sleep will work fine but random BSOD for no reason, even opening just a notepad lol. Then swapped the ballistix for regular crucial ram and been running like a champ for so long now.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#50
It might be an issue with memory. If you have not tried setting timings manually try and see if that solves or try some other memory brand if any lying around.

My gigabyte board absolutely hates Crucial Ballistix ram. I was like you scratching my head, Prime 95 will be fine, games will be fine even sleep will work fine but random BSOD for no reason, even opening just a notepad lol. Then swapped the ballistix for regular crucial ram and been running like a champ for so long now.
I've been ruling it out because I picked up that infamous Samsung RAM , so I assumed it would be running pretty well
I'll try running memtest. And my memory settings have always been on Auto. I shall set it to 11-11-11-28 manually