• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some help overclocking!!!!!!!!

Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#1
Here's my system:

CPU-Sempron LE-1100 1900 Mhz
Mobo-ASUS M2V-MX SE
Bios Revision-0202
RAM-1GB Super Talent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card-ATI Radeon 9250 PCI 128mb
(Took a crap on me, using onboard video for now)
PSU-SPI 270W (Stock)
Cooling-Stock
3 case fans (1 in front 2 in rear)
1 PSU fan
1 CPU fan
sorry, don't know what mm's they are.

Can anyone help me out here? If you want or need more info, please let me know.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,389 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,300
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
in your bios you should have an FSB adjustment option it will be stock at 200 raise that 1mhz at a time :)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#3
sorry, can't change the fsb in the bios
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
There is a clockgen download here: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=189

With a VIA chipset you are limited due to no AGP lock. Just 1mhz at a time.;)

*It's best to keep your AGP clock under 75mhz, or bad things will start happening, like dissapearing HDD's. etc.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#5
sorry, have clockgen and i can only see my system. No controls to adjust
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#6
Then there is no oveclocking for your board. It's most likely locked in the bios. You may want to see if you can find a newer bios first, but most likely no oc. Sorry.:(
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.33/day)
Likes
132
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
#7
buy a new pc, thats my suggestion ;)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#8
Then there is no oveclocking for your board. It's most likely locked in the bios. You may want to see if you can find a newer bios first, but most likely no oc. Sorry.:(
Do i just download a new bios, flash it, or what? Thanks for your help so far
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#9
buy a new pc, thats my suggestion ;)
Why would i do that, when i could just buy a new motherboard if i have to. I've seen this processor oc'd to 2802 Mhz from the stock 1900Mhz on stock cooling
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
I'm not too sure how to do it with your motherboard. Is there any option in the bios to flash it? Look on Asus' website to see what they recommend. Usually, you put the .rom file on a floppy disk and use a utility provided by the manufacturer.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#11
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#12
i've actually downloaded an updated bios for my mobo from asus, but it was a rom file, and the computer wouldn't open it. Why doesn't 2.8Ghz from a sempron come close to 2Ghz on a modern chip?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#13
Put the file on a floppy or usb drive, and use Asus ez flash in your bios to update it. It doesn't work through your O/S.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name NASCAR PC
Processor AMD Sempron LE-1100
Motherboard ASUS M2V-MX SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB Supertalent DDR2-667PC5300
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9250 128mb
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) 17"LCD
Case NASCAR by Cisnet
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 250W SPI
#14
my computer doesn't have a floppy drive, and i don't have a usb drive. What about a cd
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
597 (0.15/day)
Likes
63
Location
Under Columbus, Ohio
System Name Gen0cide
Processor AMD Phenom x4 920 2.8 @ 3.36 1.44v
Motherboard Asus M2N-Deluxe + WiFi
Cooling Thermoright True Rev C
Memory 2x 2gig of Gskill DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 20 2.125v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 250 GTS 1 Gig
Storage 5x 730gig 7,200 RPM Raid 5 Western Digital Black
Display(s) Neovo F-417
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM
Software Windows 7 x64 / Arch Linux-fluxbox(duel Boot)
#15
cd should work but you gotta burn it so it can see it in dos mode but the bad part is you cant backup your old bios is something goes wrong. but look around for a guide i have done it a few times with a cd its safer than a floppy but a jump drive is the best way to go.