1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some help overclocking!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by aaronjohn20, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here's my system:

    CPU-Sempron LE-1100 1900 Mhz
    Mobo-ASUS M2V-MX SE
    Bios Revision-0202
    RAM-1GB Super Talent DDR2-667PC5300
    Video Card-ATI Radeon 9250 PCI 128mb
    (Took a crap on me, using onboard video for now)
    PSU-SPI 270W (Stock)
    Cooling-Stock
    3 case fans (1 in front 2 in rear)
    1 PSU fan
    1 CPU fan
    sorry, don't know what mm's they are.

    Can anyone help me out here? If you want or need more info, please let me know.
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,597 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,079
    Location:
    Florida
    in your bios you should have an FSB adjustment option it will be stock at 200 raise that 1mhz at a time :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry, can't change the fsb in the bios
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,649 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,152
    There is a clockgen download here: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=189

    With a VIA chipset you are limited due to no AGP lock. Just 1mhz at a time.;)

    *It's best to keep your AGP clock under 75mhz, or bad things will start happening, like dissapearing HDD's. etc.
     
    aaronjohn20 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry, have clockgen and i can only see my system. No controls to adjust
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,649 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,152
    Then there is no oveclocking for your board. It's most likely locked in the bios. You may want to see if you can find a newer bios first, but most likely no oc. Sorry.:(
     
    aaronjohn20 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    buy a new pc, thats my suggestion ;)
     
  8. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do i just download a new bios, flash it, or what? Thanks for your help so far
     
  9. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why would i do that, when i could just buy a new motherboard if i have to. I've seen this processor oc'd to 2802 Mhz from the stock 1900Mhz on stock cooling
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,649 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,152
    I'm not too sure how to do it with your motherboard. Is there any option in the bios to flash it? Look on Asus' website to see what they recommend. Usually, you put the .rom file on a floppy disk and use a utility provided by the manufacturer.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,649 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,152
    He didn't ask. Though, 2800mhz on a sempron doesn't come close to 2ghz on any modern chip.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i've actually downloaded an updated bios for my mobo from asus, but it was a rom file, and the computer wouldn't open it. Why doesn't 2.8Ghz from a sempron come close to 2Ghz on a modern chip?
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,649 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,152
    Put the file on a floppy or usb drive, and use Asus ez flash in your bios to update it. It doesn't work through your O/S.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. aaronjohn20 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my computer doesn't have a floppy drive, and i don't have a usb drive. What about a cd
     
  15. Trigger911

    Trigger911

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    cd should work but you gotta burn it so it can see it in dos mode but the bad part is you cant backup your old bios is something goes wrong. but look around for a guide i have done it a few times with a cd its safer than a floppy but a jump drive is the best way to go.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)