• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need some help with Vdroop mod

Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
Green Bay, WI
#2
why mod it? That ic supports loadline calibration, should be a setting in the BIOS.
If you are set on a vdroop mod, a pencil mark will not work because the Vsense pin is connected directly to the load.
you would have to utilize a 10-50k pot between GND, VCC(5v) and Offset pin (pin 10)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#3
why mod it? That ic supports loadline calibration, should be a setting in the BIOS.
That's the way my P6X58D-E is. LLC in BIOS = "Improves the CPU VDroop directly".

Despite what some say about spikes, I leave it on, because I get higher temps with it off, and I really can't use any lower voltage with it off anyway.
 
Last edited:

SLBCH

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Unfortunately, this board does not support Load Line Calibration technology. Otherwise I would not ask...

you would have to utilize a 10-50k pot between GND, VCC(5v) and Offset pin (pin 10)
Can you please draw a diagram on my photo?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
Green Bay, WI
#5
I assume no updated bios is available...
First use a DMM to test pin 10 to see if it is terminated or not. (should read >10K to gnd [powered off completely])
If you do not have SMD soldering experience, Stop now!!!
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
Green Bay, WI
#6
The datasheet:
www.intersil.com/data/fn/fn6504.pdf

Use a dmm to monitor/calibrate voltage on first boot. not sure if offset is inverted or not.
Calibrate wiper (center terminal) for .4 to .9 v before you solder on pin 10!!
pin 18 (rgnd) would be easier to solder to gnd instead of qfp terminals
What is your vdroop anyways VBIOS vs Vcpu?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

SLBCH

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Hellraiser1981
Thank you! I will try it.

If you do not have SMD soldering experience, Stop now!!!
I have experience of ordinary soldering, in the worst case, I'll ask a friend to do it :D

What is your vdroop anyways VBIOS vs Vcpu?
Current:
BIOS setup: 1.46v
Idle: 1.42v
Load: 1.36v

So... good OC is impossible, Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 GHz is max at reasonable voltages in idle (my Q6600 example required 1.44v for stable work at 3.6.) I want more.
BIOS version is latest from off website.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
Green Bay, WI
#8
Hellraiser1981
Thank you! I will try it.


I have experience of ordinary soldering, in the worst case, I'll ask a friend to do it :D


Current:
BIOS setup: 1.46v
Idle: 1.42v
Load: 1.36v

So... good OC is impossible, Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 GHz is max at reasonable voltages in idle (my Q6600 example required 1.44v for stable work at 3.6.) I want more.
BIOS version is latest from off website.
I assume that 1.46 is max you can set in bios. hope you have good cooling for more. Are these software reading (in bios?) read it with dmm to be sure. take reading from output side of choke. voiding warranty is so much fun !!
Note 1.4v is kinda high and 3.6Ghz kinda extreme, be careful, the MB has a limit for a reason. What are current temps??
 
Last edited: