• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need some tips on OC a q6600 on a MSI P7N SLI Platinum

challey

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Got a MSI P7N SLI Platinum MB and i wanna OC my q6600. I've read up on lots of the OC for noobs, and i can't find out how to set my FSB to 333, as alot of peeps tell me to do. In my bios it says 1067(or something) next to the FSB.

I got a tagan 850w PSU and i have a Zalman CNPS8700 CPU cooler.

Anyone OC'ed on a MSI P7N SLI Platinum that can help me plx?
 

desertmonk

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Absolutely Useless...
Processor Athlon X2 5000+ (Brisbane) (@3.0ghz. 13x231 1.35v 1155mhz~ HT)
Motherboard Dell (propriety from asus) M2N nForce 430i
Cooling Stock (Delta Electronics "S940 type II" I believe)
Memory 3GB PC5300 @770mhz single channel (mixture of Nanya and unknown DIMMs)
Video Card(s) Force 3D Radeon HD4830 w/ Artic Cooling HSF
Storage WD Caviar Blue 250GB 7200rpm 16mb cache
Display(s) Dell SE1908WFP
Case Dell Inspiron 531
Audio Device(s) Onboard (Realtek AC97)
Power Supply Coolermaster Extreme 650w
Software Vista Home Premium 32bit
Benchmark Scores 3D mark: 8500 @ stock. 9600 overclocked Freestone Group GFX bench: 300~ (hates ATI chips)
#2
Ah ****. Just wrote almost pages on this to help you, and just realised i'd misread the question :p

On intel CPUs (as opposed to AMD's HT system) there is a "FSB" and a "rated FSB." 1066 is the "rated FSB." To get the FSB that is times by multi to get clock speed, you need to divide rated FSB by FOUR.


So on a 1066mhz (1067 is just a rounding error) CPU like the Q6600 you divide it by 4 to get an FSB speed of 266mhz. The Q6600 thus has a multiplier of (2400/266=9)


So if you set the FSB to 333mhz you would actually have to set it to a rated FSB of 1333 (333*4)
This would give you a clock speed of *drum roll* 333*9 = 3.0ghz

The next "official" step in the world of FSB would be to set the FSB to 400 (i.e. 1600) to get a CPU speed of 3.6ghz. However, 3.6ghz is probably totally out of the question, especially w/o water cooling and on stock voltage.

So realistically (if you have the option to) the next step is to set the CPU multi to 8 (you should be able to make it lower than 9, but not higher than 9) and set the FSB to 400. This way you get a very fast rated FSB (1600mhz) AND you get a clock speed of 3.2ghz (you should be runnign prime, adding voltage as appropriate etc etc)

After that i'd personally go for an FSB of 425mhz (assuming you know your max FSB, which you generally should do before you try to OC, but hopefully you should have read about that) for a CPU speed of 3.4ghz, then try a 450mhz FSB for 3.6ghz (assumign it is still stable in Prime95/Orthos/etc)



THE BASIC THING IS RATED FSB OVER 4 EQUALS FSB. Sorry for the rambling :p So to set a FSB of 333, you need to change 1066 to 1333.
 

challey

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Well as i kinda stated in the rirst post, i'm a noob to OCing. When i try to set the fsb to 1333 (333) with the multiplyer set to 9 and set the voltage up. Then i save and exit bios, when i do this i cant seem to get any conection from my computer to my screen. It goes into Power saving mode. Is this something it should do or should i be able to get started with the clock right away?
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#4
try lowering the memory speed and loosen timings
 

challey

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
thanks guy's for fast replies :p Apreciated.

But what do you mean by loosen timings?
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2008
Messages
639 (0.19/day)
Likes
39
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name MFCJA
Processor Intel 4770k
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45
Cooling Intel Liquid Cooler
Memory Corsair DDR3 4X4GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 770
Storage 120GB SSD/1TB
Display(s) 23" Acer H233H
Case Corsair Mid Tower
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#6
It isn't in power saver mode, I'm pretty positive your BIOS isn't posting. Meaning there is a problem with some of your settings. Perhaps you need to turn up cpu voltage a little more or check your ram voltage. Most mother boards will keep RAM running at a specified "ratio" with your mother board. If your RAM is running at a 1:1 ratio, that means your rated RAM speed is 666 MHz. So I would either tweak the ram voltage or timings. :toast:

EDIT:

If you'd take some time to fill out your system specs in the user CP section, it would be much easier to help ya.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#7
yah, ram ratio was my first thought too.
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#8
as the above says running 1:1 ratio is the best and if your mems are running at 4-4-4-12 then try loosen it to 5-5-5-15 and add some volts
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2008
Messages
639 (0.19/day)
Likes
39
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name MFCJA
Processor Intel 4770k
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45
Cooling Intel Liquid Cooler
Memory Corsair DDR3 4X4GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 770
Storage 120GB SSD/1TB
Display(s) 23" Acer H233H
Case Corsair Mid Tower
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#9
^ agreed. :toast:
 

challey

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Ok I have filled out the System spec. Forgot to type my RAM is 6400. And here comes another qstion regarding the memorytiming:

In my BIOS it says:

CAS latency (CL) [auto] , 1-6
tRCO [auto] , 1-7
tRP [auto] , 1-7
tRAS [auto] , 1-15
tRC [auto] , 1-15
tWR [auto] , 1-6
tWTR [auto] , 1-15
tREF [auto] , 7.8uS and 3.9uS
1t/2t Memorytiming [auto] , 1T, 2T

What should i try out?

Really like the fast replys here :p
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#11
try 5-5-5-15 first

CAS latency - 5
tRCO - 5
tRP - 5
tRAS - 15

if FSB is 333 then your 6400 would be 667
 

desertmonk

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Absolutely Useless...
Processor Athlon X2 5000+ (Brisbane) (@3.0ghz. 13x231 1.35v 1155mhz~ HT)
Motherboard Dell (propriety from asus) M2N nForce 430i
Cooling Stock (Delta Electronics "S940 type II" I believe)
Memory 3GB PC5300 @770mhz single channel (mixture of Nanya and unknown DIMMs)
Video Card(s) Force 3D Radeon HD4830 w/ Artic Cooling HSF
Storage WD Caviar Blue 250GB 7200rpm 16mb cache
Display(s) Dell SE1908WFP
Case Dell Inspiron 531
Audio Device(s) Onboard (Realtek AC97)
Power Supply Coolermaster Extreme 650w
Software Vista Home Premium 32bit
Benchmark Scores 3D mark: 8500 @ stock. 9600 overclocked Freestone Group GFX bench: 300~ (hates ATI chips)
#12
From your replies and stuff, it seems as though you haven't read as much as i thought you had. I propose a max FSB test as a very good place to start... (anyone agree/disagree?)

Actually, no before that, lets go through the checklist right from the start, have you:


Downloaded CPU-Z
Downloaded Prime95/Orthos
Downloaded Speedfan
3Dmark06 trial version
(lets save memtest86 for later, if needed)

Those are 4 bits of ESSENTIAL software that every overclocker HAS to have. CPU-Z gives you a wealth of information and monitors voltages, multipliers, various clock speeds. This is a crucial piece of software as it lets you monitor what's going on everytime you boot up. Prime95/Orthos is a fantastic program. It puts your PC through a series of increasing stress tests. You should run Prime95/Orthos at level 8 for at least an hour between each relatively big jump (i.e. you'd run it for an hour at 2.8ghz, run it for 2 or 3 hours at 3.0ghz, run it for 6 hours AT LEAST on your final overclock) Speedfan lets you keep track of temperatures and manage fan speeds. The LOWER the temp of your CPU the HIGHER the STABLE CLOCK SPEED. I'll come back to temps a bit later.


Aftermarket cooler (99% essential ESPECIALLY on a Q6600 of all CPUs)
Adequete cooling (sufficient exhausts)

You should settle on a clock speed & cooling solution that means your CPU temperature rarely goes near 50, and certainly never exceeds 55 on a regular basis (degrees celcius) It is around 50 degrees in which the CPU becomes unstable as a result of heat.


System information. It is absolutely IMPERITIVE that you know all the neccessary information for your system. You should know (or at least have written down somewhere) your STOCK MEMORY TIMINGS (cas, ras, cas-ras, etc etc AKA 5,5,5,15 or whatever yours is) CPU MULTIPLIER, VCORE, VDROOP and MAX FSB (the important ones are in caps... errm lol...)

CPU multi is crucial to know, so that when you type in an FSB you know what clock speed it will result in
Vcore is important to keep track of (read up on net to see what sort of voltages other q6600owners are using)
Vdroop (how much your PSU/motherboard underestimates or under-supplies. Your fiddling around 0.05 volts at a time in most cases, so the slightest error in measuring can be an issue)
MAX FSB (requires more detail, so i'll go into it below)


List of things to do & order to do them in (IMHO from experience and other people's experience)


Run 3Dmark 06 to get a score, and to get an idea of idle/load CPU temperatures (move PC, use speedfan, get new cooler or whatever to get acceptable temps)
Run Prime95/orthos for 20 mins to get an idea of max temp you'll ever see (3dmark will give you a "everyday" idea of temp. Prime/Orthos will stress your CPU a lot more than normal everyday tasks)

Find max FSB:

loosen memory timings (hence you should know originals) by 1ns for each of the 4 main values
set RAM ratio to make the RAM speed below that of it's rated speed
put CPU multi on 3/4 or 1/2 of original
Keep on increasing FSB, then stress test, increase FSB, stress test...





You then know the max stable FSB, which gives you a fantastic bit of knowledge, you then know (for example) it is safe to use anything up to 423mhz. you can then work backwards (or forwards) with multipliers/FSB to find your max CPU speed. Then play around with voltage, FSB and CPU multi to achieve the highest clock speed with the highest FSB you can.

You can then set to work on memory, once you've passed a long stress test

Happy days