• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need suggestion on buying a motherboard supporting SLI (1150)?

Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
201 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K @4.5
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32 Gig (16 GigADATA XPG V2 DDR3 2400 + 16 Gig Geil Evo Veloce DDR3 1600 CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
Hello everyone.
I'm currently in a situation where I can not upgrade to the 1151 or newer architectures.
I want to buy a motherboard now, that for the next 2 years at least fulfills my needs.
My prime need is being able to do SLI , two way or 3 three way. the intention is not for gaming but Deep Learning related tests. (Actually I want to be able to install as many graphics card as possible to benefit from it in my computations and refrain from buying a new expensive one !)
So why do you suggest buying, all things said ?
I myself like Asus more, but Gigabytes and MSI are fine as well (these are the brands that are more trendy and available in my country compared to others)
Thank you in advance
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,473 (0.49/day)
Location
south korea
System Name COVID Bonus Build
Processor Ryzen R9 3900XT 4.5 Ghz @ 1.275V
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Viii Hero Wifi
Cooling Lian Li 360 Galahad
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32gb OC @ 3733 mhz CL14-13-13-21 1T @ 1.43V
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 6900 XT Nitro+
Storage Seagate 520 1TB + Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB + lots of HDD's
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7
Case Lian Li PC-O11D XL White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex SE Platinum 1000W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard ABKO K660 ARC GAMING
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Have tried but can't beat the leaders :)
the only lga 1150 board that can have alot of pci slot are those with plex chip like asus maximus vi extreme or gigabyte m1 sniper.

i believe msi and asrock offer same with plex chips but i dont remember their mobo names.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
201 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K @4.5
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32 Gig (16 GigADATA XPG V2 DDR3 2400 + 16 Gig Geil Evo Veloce DDR3 1600 CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
the only lga 1150 board that can have alot of pci slot are those with plex chip like asus maximus vi extreme or gigabyte m1 sniper.

i believe msi and asrock offer same with plex chips but i dont remember their mobo names.
Thank you very much :)
by the way are all of these PCIexpress slots the same? I mean are they all 16x ?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,473 (0.49/day)
Location
south korea
System Name COVID Bonus Build
Processor Ryzen R9 3900XT 4.5 Ghz @ 1.275V
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Viii Hero Wifi
Cooling Lian Li 360 Galahad
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32gb OC @ 3733 mhz CL14-13-13-21 1T @ 1.43V
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 6900 XT Nitro+
Storage Seagate 520 1TB + Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB + lots of HDD's
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7
Case Lian Li PC-O11D XL White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex SE Platinum 1000W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard ABKO K660 ARC GAMING
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Have tried but can't beat the leaders :)
Thank you very much :)
by the way are all of these PCIexpress slots the same? I mean are they all 16x ?

actually no.

like for example on Asus Maximus VI extreme, configurations are:
x8, x16, x8, x8
https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/MAXIMUS_VI_EXTREME/

gigabyte z87 sniper 5
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4487#sp

if you are asking about slot if it is x16, then yes all are x16 but they will not work at full x16. only x8.

By the way, asus also has WS boards but all have PLEX chips for quad PCI-E slots
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,746 (2.89/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
I will be selling my Gigabyte Z97X Gaming G1, wait your in Iran? Never mind
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,452 (3.09/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
I was able to do GTX 970 reference design SLI on my Asrock Extreme 4 Z97, and if I recall correctly there were still some X4 & x16 slots left over. It was under $100

 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,650 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Do the cards have to actually be in SLI, or can they work independently?

All the 1150 motherboards that I know of only allow 2 way SLI maximum.

If the cards can work independently, and don't actually have to be in SLI, then just find any motherboard with a lot of PCI-E x16 slots and cram as many cards as you can in there. I believe AsRock has some really inexpensive boards that were targeted at Bitcoin mining that had a lot of PCI-E slots but not a lot of other features to drive up the price.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,452 (3.09/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
The Asrock Extreme 4 I posted above officially supports quad SLI and three-way crossfire. But what it officially supports and what you can actually do are two different things entirely. My guess is those claims would only be attainable on a test bench or in open air case

On an entirely separate subject. I like the board a lot, it has great UEFI and tons of options ,great overclocking too




And a side note.....dont hold it against the MoBo, but it is "Toms HW approved o_O"
so its approved by a terrible forum site, with more Ad's than content.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,650 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
The Asrock Extreme 4 I posted above officially supports quad SLI and three-way crossfire.

The support of Quad-SLI is a little misleading. It only supports 2 cards in SLI. But if you use dual-gpu cards, then you can do quad-SLI on it.

I have an Extreme4 and an Extreme6, both are limited to 2 cards in SLI.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,069 (0.32/day)
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS STRIX X470-F
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U12A
Memory G.Skill FlareX 32 GB (4 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage 1 TB WD Black SN750 | 2 TB Samsung 860 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2717D
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 650W
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard KIRA EXS
@newtekie1 is right, you don't need a SLI supported board if your main purpose is to build a GPU-based deep learning data trainer.
I myself use my old 990FX mobo with 2 x GTX 980Ti in my lab to train mainly CNN and my friend sometimes use it to train her RNN without using SLI bridge (I mostly uses Caffe and Theano and recently Keras and Tensorflow).
From my experience, having the PCI-E to run at maximum bandwidth will help if you're transferring a lot of data from host to device(s), for example when you preprocessing or training a lot of images (when I say "a lot" it means at least like ImageNet dataset).

As for multi-GPU training support, there's no NVIDIA official support for running the training in multi-GPU. You have to tweak your code and your NN to be trained with more than 1 GPU (Theano can do this easily by sending the command with "device" attribute), or if you want it to be more simple you can try to use DIGITS to train multiple networks on the same data set in parallel, or train the same network on multiple datasets in parallel.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
201 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K @4.5
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32 Gig (16 GigADATA XPG V2 DDR3 2400 + 16 Gig Geil Evo Veloce DDR3 1600 CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
Thank you very much guys, I really appreciate your helps , they were really informative
 
Top