• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NEED the most powerful card

Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name AMD FAN
Processor AMD Athlone 6400+@3.2ghz
Motherboard MCP61S
Cooling ThermalTake RubyOrb
Memory 2gb Kingstone@800mhz
Video Card(s) built in Geforce 6100
Storage 200GB WD@7200RPM
Display(s) HP72 CRT MONITOR 17inch
Case TrendSonic Mid Case
Audio Device(s) Built in
Power Supply 300watt
Software windows xp 64 bit
#1
Hi guys, I'm one of the lazy guys out there. I know this may be wired to everyone here. I recently purchased cheap AMD Sempron CPU 1100@1.9 :toast: addition to that I bought as well Cheapest motherboard I could find in my local Market with Strange name "Elite Group motherboard" I even can't read the model name on it I think it's "MCP61S".

addition to that I have pair of DDr2 2gb Kingston Hyper memory@1066mhz I purchased in past guessing max speed can reached 800mhz on that motherboard.

Now in last but not the end, I'm seeking to slap on it The most Powerful High end card out there, I'm going btw new Motherboard+CPU after few months. :confused:

any advice....
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.97/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#2
What is your budget, where are you located? At this time the most powerful card is an HD4870. Won't be available for another week and half. IMHO, get the cpu/motherboard before the video card.

EDIT:Corrected HD4850
 
Last edited:

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#3
What is your budget, where are you located? At this time the most powerful card is an HD4870. Won't be available for another week and half. IMHO, get the cpu/motherboard before the video card.
I'm with JR here. An ECS motherboard and a Sempron cpu and you want a high end graphics card? Kinda like putting a high end sound system in a Pinto. It's just not right. Not to mention your card will be bottlenecked, limiting it's potential. Get yourself a much better cpu/MB/power supply before you talk high end cards.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#4
Please fill out your system specs...it will help us to help you.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#5
bad idea man, the cpu will be a huge bottleneck for the 4870x2 (most powerful card coming out in like 2 weeks)
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#6
lol is this a joke? Just asking.

If you want the fastest card now, go for the GeForce 9800 GX2. If you can wait, wait for HD4870 X2...make note of that.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,960 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#7
Probably you'd reach the same performance with a 9600GT as with the HD4870.

No offence pal, just so you see the analogy, with a 1.9Ghz Sempron adding an HD4870 is like putting F1 racing wheels on a tractor... it'd be a waste of money.:(
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name AMD FAN
Processor AMD Athlone 6400+@3.2ghz
Motherboard MCP61S
Cooling ThermalTake RubyOrb
Memory 2gb Kingstone@800mhz
Video Card(s) built in Geforce 6100
Storage 200GB WD@7200RPM
Display(s) HP72 CRT MONITOR 17inch
Case TrendSonic Mid Case
Audio Device(s) Built in
Power Supply 300watt
Software windows xp 64 bit
#8
Open budget...
I'm going to swap the CPU and motherboard on later date, I'm waiting for DDR3 AMD motherboard

current System
AMD Semporn@1.9 GHZ single core
Motherboard MCP615, PCIE 16x single slot
RAM 2 gb DDr2 Kingstone
HD 200 GB WD7200 Normal IDE
=============
tell AMD support DDR3 I'm going to swap but for the time being I'm seeking the highest card, in further system will look like quad core AMD + DDR3 motherboard memory when it's available.

and thanks for the fast replies guys
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#9
Where are you going find a AMD board that supports DDR3? The only one's I know of are just DDR2.

Since your wanting a AMD system. I would go with this

9850 Quad
HD 4850, If you can wait longer; go for the 4870x2. But for now 3870x2 is the best your going get.
2Gb DDR2- Which I seen you have
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.97/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#10
So in other words, you are trying to future proof your graphics and wait for ddr3? I can understand the graphics part to an extent. But wait for ddr3? WHY?!


Pickup a 8800GS/HD3850, have fun, be merry.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name AMD FAN
Processor AMD Athlone 6400+@3.2ghz
Motherboard MCP61S
Cooling ThermalTake RubyOrb
Memory 2gb Kingstone@800mhz
Video Card(s) built in Geforce 6100
Storage 200GB WD@7200RPM
Display(s) HP72 CRT MONITOR 17inch
Case TrendSonic Mid Case
Audio Device(s) Built in
Power Supply 300watt
Software windows xp 64 bit
#12
no offense guys, but don't you think 4870x2 or 9800gx2 will perform better than 9600 or 8800 gs on such system.

I think new GFX GPU is not CPU dependent.... :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name AMD FAN
Processor AMD Athlone 6400+@3.2ghz
Motherboard MCP61S
Cooling ThermalTake RubyOrb
Memory 2gb Kingstone@800mhz
Video Card(s) built in Geforce 6100
Storage 200GB WD@7200RPM
Display(s) HP72 CRT MONITOR 17inch
Case TrendSonic Mid Case
Audio Device(s) Built in
Power Supply 300watt
Software windows xp 64 bit
#13
I'm with JR, don't wait for DDR3.

PS Check my post before his.


Go for one of these boards:

GIGABYTE GA-MA790FX-DS5 <Good Board :D
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128074

DFI LANPARTY DK 790FX-M2RS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136044

ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131224


Nice boards but no support for DDr3, and amd won't do it until mid of 2009, seems I'm forced to go for intel :banghead:
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#14
They ARE dependant on the rest of the system, even mroe so now, games have greater support for multi-core processors, and so without one, you might not get the full speed from the GPU.

What they mean is, you might get a small boost with your current setup, when looking at the difference between a 9600GT and a 9800GH2, it's impossible to think otherwise, but for the money, and considering you'll be keeping your current setup for a while (don't expect AMD to support DDR3 for a good few months yet), you're better off with a cheaper card, and saving up and waiting until prices crash, and AMD brings out their new equipment.

Oh, and I'm unsure as to why you want to go DDR3 right now, unless you have a stick or two waiting to be used. As with DDR2, it'll take time until DDR3 prices come down, and speeds go up. I am going to be waiting patiently. If you NEED to have DDR3 right now, Intel is your only option.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.94/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#15
I'm with JR here. An ECS motherboard and a Sempron cpu and you want a high end graphics card? Kinda like putting a high end sound system in a Pinto. It's just not right. Not to mention your card will be bottlenecked, limiting it's potential. Get yourself a much better cpu/MB/power supply before you talk high end cards.
Hmm, I agree. A sempy with an ECS on a high end card is the huge bottleneck. I suggest saving more money and getting some decent/high end cpu/mb's first then go on to the harder parts.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#16
Open budget...
I'm going to swap the CPU and motherboard on later date, I'm waiting for DDR3 AMD motherboard

current System
AMD Semporn@1.9 GHZ single core
Motherboard MCP615, PCIE 16x single slot
RAM 2 gb DDr2 Kingstone
HD 200 GB WD7200 Normal IDE
=============
tell AMD support DDR3 I'm going to swap but for the time being I'm seeking the highest card, in further system will look like quad core AMD + DDR3 motherboard memory when it's available.

and thanks for the fast replies guys
Too bad, there never will be a DDR3 AMD motherboard for your current CPU. Even if does, you can't use your processor on it, it lacks a DDR3 IMC.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
661 (0.19/day)
Likes
73
#17
If you're wanting to use DDR3 RAM you will need an Intel based system with the appropriate motherboard because AMD currently does not support DDR3, and not all Intel motherboards support DDR3.
But, if you're talking about GDDR3 on the graphics card, almost any system (AMD, Intel, VIA etc.) will support it.

Oh, I almost forgot, the fastest video card you can get right now is the 9800GX2. Although I would recommend just getting two 9600GT's or two 3870's and running them in SLI or CrossFire (cheaper, and good performance)

With your current setup though, you will need a new CPU, Motherboard, and Power Supply if you're wishing to take full advantage of todays mid-range/high-end graphics cards.
 
Last edited:

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#18
i would get some axeram, a good 790fx board and a phenom to work with the gpu's mentioned in this thread (9800x2, 4870x2, etc.)

gpus are getting more and more cpu dependent a cpu like a sempron will be a huge bottleneck to the graphics card.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#19
i would get some axeram, a good 790fx board and a phenom to work with the gpu's mentioned in this thread (9800x2, 4870x2, etc.)

gpus are getting more and more cpu dependent a cpu like a sempron will be a huge bottleneck to the graphics card.
+1 AGREE :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (4.00/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#20
I'm with most of the people here.. Well, all the people, but at different ways... DDR3 is only going to be able for Intel right now until the new AMD boards come out.. But that will be a LONG way away. Future proofing is sometimes the best thing to do, but not all ways the easiest thing. You will soon find that its better to make it a part by part thing that lasts sometimes longer then 6 months to do.
Then for the BEST CARD... If you plan on getting anything for the system you have... The 79xx series of Nvida, or the h2xxx series from ATI is probably the best bet for you. The system is going to have a HUGE bottleneck that your just going to want to go crazy about. Then from that you can go piece by piece.. You'll find if staying on TPU a lot of members that would love to buy the old parts to build download/Htpc computers. That way you can get somewhat of your money back for what you spent..
I could never tell a person with your specs to go out and buy my card... IMHO
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.85/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#22
I'm not sure why you would want to go DDR3, especially since AMD doesn't plan on adding DDR3 compatibility until the AM3 socket.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#23
latency and timings on ddr3 are high youd be better getting one of the high 1xxxmhz+ddr2 sticks 2x2gb should be good for dual channel leave room for another 2 sticks if you wanted

the card is cpu dependent because the cpu also does a lot of the work look at it this way if you turn all the graphics settings to max in say bioshock the card will be able to handle the graphics but the cpu wont be able to keep up so the frames per second would be low

all that physics and other processing has to be done by the cpu so if you dont have a good cpu in the first place getting a good card would be useless because the old cpu cant keep up


for a new cpu you defo want a quad core black edition phenom and a good motherboard for overclocking they arnt that bad pretty good cpu once you get past ghz and up

either that or a whole new intel system

right now id get a rubbisher card to suffice save they money for a new board and cpu

am3 will be the ddr3 compatible socket right now no amd sockets support ddr3


Normaly what we do is add turbo chargers to our cars eg overclock but what you want to do is add new a Engine Block to an already crappy engine.
 

3xploit

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
275 (0.07/day)
Likes
24
Location
Canada
Processor i7 920 @ 3.9ghz 1.33vLoad
Motherboard evga x58
Cooling TRUE
Memory 6x1gb Aeneon 1600
Video Card(s) GTS 512 820/2052/1107 + accelero s1 (2x 120mm fans)
Storage Western Digital 500gb SATA
Display(s) ViewSonic 22" 1680x1050
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD
Power Supply Tuniq 5501
Software Windows 7 x64 7100
#24
I would build a whole new computer :)

If we have the same definition of "open budget", then wait for the next gens' highest-end cards.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,120
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#25
Do you have to use AMD?! There are plenty of awesome Intel mobo's and chips out right now, some of which use DDR3, and prices aren't too bad either. I would suggest you upgrade the rest of your system along with a video card. Wait a couple weeks on the video card purchase as well, as both Nvidia and ATi are about to release thier new cards.