1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need to COMPLETELY scrub my HDD - how?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by kyle2020, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. kyle2020 Guest

    Right, i have a partition on my hard drive thats gone sour and i want to re size all my partitions anyway - what can i do to take my harddrive back to as if it where brand new? Is there a programme i can use / burn to a disc?

    Please help!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,268 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    USA
    just go to my computer right click and select format!

    or in vista go to start->right click my computer-> Manage -> then storage and you can do loads of stuff
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,968 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,841
    Gparted is awesome. Burn it to a disc and boot from it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,344
    Location:
    Florida
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    Im sure that wont work lucas :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    Doesnt Gparted let you also do HFS partitions for mac?

    Solaris, thats just what i need haha. Free cookies! :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    already tried your second suggestion mate, thats why im having to go to extremes.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,863 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,530
    Right click "My Computer" -->Manage --> Disk Management --> Right click the drive and format.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    would this work for the entire disc? all 500GB of it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,863 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,530
    Yes it should.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    wont let me do it. Going to try this dban thing, if i dont reply for a few hours you know its worked haha.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,006 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,741
    Boot and Nuke is awesome and easy. I always do the FBI one, takes forever but I prefer assurance that the job is done.
     
  13. kyle2020 Guest

    Its not that what i have on here is bad and needs to be got rid of, i just want to get rid of these bloody partitions.

    Still, always nice to have peace of mind haha. Have you ever used it off a flash drive? Thats what ill be doing, hope it works!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,006 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,741
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,344
    Location:
    Florida
    it will prob work and dban is awsome i can garentee you it will do what you want...just select the whole drive it will auto select all partitions and then you just wipe when you boot back into windows the HDD wont even have a filing system like coming off the factory floor.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. kyle2020 Guest

    wait - wont it get rid of my OS? do you mean boot into windows install?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,344
    Location:
    Florida
    no you boot it from a disk and tell it what harddrive to wipe after its done wiping whatever drive you tell it to (or partition) when you boot back up you just format it for ntfs. say you have 1HDD with os and partitions but you dont want the os gone you just select the partitions you want deleted :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2016
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,344
    Location:
    Florida
    that will do it it scrubs stuff clean
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. kyle2020 Guest

    woo! thats just what i wanted to hear haha, ill delete all but my 50GB OS partition, that way i can skip half an hour of vista install! :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. kyle2020 Guest

    Alright, i burnt the dban thing to a disc, however it keeps ending with "dban finished with non - fatal errors" and nothing is wiped. Why is it doing this? Is my hard drive knackered? what frustrating me is that i can see the 150GB partition in disc management, i just cant format it :banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,344
    Location:
    Florida
    hmmm it might be that the HDD has to many bad sectors try selecting the whole disk (little * should appear next to every partiton) then deselct the partitions you dont want wiped and try it then instead of just selecting the partitions you want to wipe. if you tried one of these methodes try the vise versa
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. kyle2020 Guest

    when i booted onto dban solaris i just selected autonuke, then i tried noverify and then on the interactive bit, and at no point could i select a partition?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. kyle2020 Guest

    WTF?!?!?!?!?!!?

    I JUST WENT INTO DISC MANAGEMENT AS A LAST DITCH ATTEMPT AT FORMATTING IT THAT WAY, AND IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Yes, i unleashed the caps lock fury. lol.

    Free cookies for everyone! :D:D:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)