• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Needing help! Vista cannot find HDD during new installation

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#1
Hi there all.. I just recently bought parts for a computer and assembled it today.. I have it put together but now when I go to install the OS (Vista 32bit) it will not find the HDD. The BIOS can find the HDD with out a problem.. It's connected by SATA..

Here are my specs from the build:

Case
Motherboard
8800GT Video Card
Power Supply/Fan
2.4ghz Quad Processor
CPU Fan
2gb RAM
Floppy Drive
500 GB Hard Drive
Sony DVD+-R Lightscribe Optical Drive
Vista 32-bit Home

Here are some photos of the current BIOS settings..
Click here

And here are the photos of the Vista setup that goes wrong
See me


I have already tried plugging in the SATA to different spots on the Motherboard (there is a total of 4) and it still hasn't worked.. The HDD is OEM and did not come with any drivers or CDs, and the manufacturer's website says there is none.

An interesting message comes up if I hit C:\ when in the Vista instillation where it asks me to browse to the driver and click okay.. see photos below:
picture 1
picture 2

Anyone have any idea what is going on, or how I can fix this? I really need help!

Thanks a ton for any replies!
-Scram :toast:
 

Dop3KinG

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Warwickhire ENGLAND
System Name Dop3KinG
Processor Phenom 2 x2 @ X4
Motherboard ASUS M4A78-E
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120
Memory 4GB Crucial BALLISTIX @ 1100 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4830 512Mb 700 x 1100 Zalman VF-1000
Storage 2x160Gb SATA 2 Raid 0
Display(s) 19" Widescreen TFT 1440x900
Case Coolermaster Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard intel hd audio
Power Supply Cit 850w
Software Win 7 Ultimate
#2
hi you need sata drivers from your motherboard makers website or from the motherboard instalation cd.just put them on a floppy or flashdrive and install them in vista setup
just click on load driver in vista setup and browse to wher you have the drivers eg floppy or flash drive
 

tofu

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
483 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
GTA
System Name Dinosaur
Processor 939 Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2.64GHz
Motherboard Sapphire RD580
Cooling OCZ HDT-S1284
Memory Corsair XMS 2x1GB CE-6 DDR480 2.5-3-2-8
Video Card(s) Zotac GTS 450 1GB 850/1700/1850
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB + Hitachi 320GB + Seagate 1TB
Display(s) 2x Samsung 740B 17" LCD
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) ALC880
Power Supply Antec Truepower New 650
Software W7 Pro X64
#3
There should not be a need to install drivers for your motherboard in order to recognize your hard drives unless you are installing on a RAID partition. Since your running on a single hard drive, my bet would be either that your hard drive is a dud or theres some conflict between the two SATA devices (your hard drive and your dvd).
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#4
Try XP or 2000 to see if they pick it up.
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.97/day)
Likes
227
#5
no its an intel chipset, you need to put the SATA drivers on a floopy, this isnt IDE anymore kids
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Likes
28
Location
Tempe, AZ
System Name GAMING BEAST
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P 120mm
Memory 6gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6850
Storage 2x640gb WD AALS Matrix RAID 0/RAID 5 (180mb/s, 7.2ms Access)
Display(s) Acer X233Hbd 23" Monitor (1920x1080)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 (9600gt): 12,567 3DMark06 (HD4870): 16,587 3DMarkVantage: P4740
#6
There should not be a need to install drivers for your motherboard in order to recognize your hard drives unless you are installing on a RAID partition. Since your running on a single hard drive, my bet would be either that your hard drive is a dud or theres some conflict between the two SATA devices (your hard drive and your dvd).
I'm thinking it is one of these two things as well. I'm sort of leaning towards the hard drive not working correctly though. Hopefully my new seagate 320gb won't have this problem, cause I just RMA'd my mobo and have to wait for that. Good luck.
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#7
If the HDD is bad, wouldn't the BIOS not be able to recognize it? Because it is reading it fine, with 500gigs free..

Any idea why Vista would display "You need to format the disk in drive C: before you can use it .. Do you want to format it?" and if I hit Format it says "Windows can't format C:\ ..Check to see that the disk and drive are connected properly, make sure that the disk is not read-only, and then try again. For more information, search Help for read-only files and how to change them."

That happens when I try searching C: for any drivers when Vista tries to install..
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#8
I know I had to load RAID Drivers to Vista would recognize my RAID 0 Array, but never for single HD. If anything you should have the drivers on a CD you MB came with or something, then you just have to load the Driver from the CD.
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#9
There's no specific spot for the drivers on the CD.. I have tried almost every file I could find off the CD and still nothing..
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#10
There's no specific spot for the drivers on the CD.. I have tried almost every file I could find off the CD and still nothing..
hmmm it should be there.... If not try searching the web for it.
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Likes
28
Location
Tempe, AZ
System Name GAMING BEAST
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P 120mm
Memory 6gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6850
Storage 2x640gb WD AALS Matrix RAID 0/RAID 5 (180mb/s, 7.2ms Access)
Display(s) Acer X233Hbd 23" Monitor (1920x1080)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 (9600gt): 12,567 3DMark06 (HD4870): 16,587 3DMarkVantage: P4740
#11
There's no specific spot for the drivers on the CD.. I have tried almost every file I could find off the CD and still nothing..
That seems like a very odd problem. I have no idea why it would show you having a hard drive in the BIOS but then for the vista install it won't show it to you. Anything that appears in the bios should appear at this step. Anyway you can try a different hard drive, or is that the only one you have around?
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#12
It's the only one..

I have my laptop, and the old computer that failed.. but that has no good parts that I could use on this..

What should I be searching the web for? I tried this at the gigabyte website
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/Driver_Model.aspx?ProductID=2629
But there are no SATA drivers

The HDD's mfr website says I need a controller device driver for the Motherboard in it's FAQs.. What the heck is that and where do I get it?
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#13
I have noticed a beeping noise at startup and found in the manual where it talks about the beeps.. This could be apart of the problem..

When I start up it gives a long beep with a short beep in the middle...

This is what the manual lists..
1 short: system boots successfully
2 short: CMOS setting error
1 long, 1 short: Memory or motherboard error
1 long, 2 short: Monitor or graphics card error
1 long, 3 short: Keyboard error
1 long, 9 short: BIOS ROM error
Continuous long beeps" Graphics card not inserted properly
Continuous short beeps" Power Error

So.. could it be a Memory or Motherboard error?.. What could the motherboard error be? Because the memory is fine and it reads that it is all there..
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Likes
28
Location
Tempe, AZ
System Name GAMING BEAST
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P 120mm
Memory 6gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6850
Storage 2x640gb WD AALS Matrix RAID 0/RAID 5 (180mb/s, 7.2ms Access)
Display(s) Acer X233Hbd 23" Monitor (1920x1080)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 (9600gt): 12,567 3DMark06 (HD4870): 16,587 3DMarkVantage: P4740
#14
I have noticed a beeping noise at startup and found in the manual where it talks about the beeps.. This could be apart of the problem..

When I start up it gives a long beep with a short beep in the middle...

This is what the manual lists..
1 short: system boots successfully
2 short: CMOS setting error
1 long, 1 short: Memory or motherboard error
1 long, 2 short: Monitor or graphics card error
1 long, 3 short: Keyboard error
1 long, 9 short: BIOS ROM error
Continuous long beeps" Graphics card not inserted properly
Continuous short beeps" Power Error

So.. could it be a Memory or Motherboard error?.. What could the motherboard error be? Because the memory is fine and it reads that it is all there..

Found this searching google, a little more information but still doesn't get the answer I was looking for:
http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=618213&pid=589192896&st=0&#entry589192896

Are you sure its a motherboard beep? There can be beeps from stuff powering up, but if you are sure its a motherboard beep then you are having a little more serious problem then Vista not finding the HDD. Most likely its just the successful powering up beep that you are supposed to hear. I just RMA'd my brand new motherboard so it wouldn't surprise me, but I don't think thats the issue here.
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#15
So it looks like I have to buy XP just to install Vista? What the hell?.. lol..

I will try putting the driver CD onto a flash drive and see if it works that way..

The HDD wouldn't be DOA would it? I mean the BIOS reads it still... so it's good right?

And yeah I am sure it's a motherboard beep.. The very first time I started it it beeped once, then I kept getting the long beep with a short sharper one in the middle..

I have the case open and am checking all of the connections again
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Likes
28
Location
Tempe, AZ
System Name GAMING BEAST
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P 120mm
Memory 6gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6850
Storage 2x640gb WD AALS Matrix RAID 0/RAID 5 (180mb/s, 7.2ms Access)
Display(s) Acer X233Hbd 23" Monitor (1920x1080)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 (9600gt): 12,567 3DMark06 (HD4870): 16,587 3DMarkVantage: P4740
#16
So it looks like I have to buy XP just to install Vista? What the hell?.. lol..

I will try putting the driver CD onto a flash drive and see if it works that way..

The HDD wouldn't be DOA would it? I mean the BIOS reads it still... so it's good right?

And yeah I am sure it's a motherboard beep.. The very first time I started it it beeped once, then I kept getting the long beep with a short sharper one in the middle..

I have the case open and am checking all of the connections again
That's a really odd situation. I'm pretty sure the HDD isn't bad since the BIOS is reading it, otherwise I would think it needs to be RMA'd. Try to get those drivers in there somehow, I'm thinking thats the way out. It's going to be a pain to RMA the hard drive if thats not neccessarily the problem. And the motherboard beep worries me, hopefully thats still just the okay beep and its trying to be a little different.
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#17
I am trying to use Vista's installation CD's Command Prompt to format the drive C... I am waiting for it to complete..

I know it knows it's there, because the command prompt is working on formating it .. the type of the file system is RAW and is becoming NTFS.. so hopefully this is what was causing the problem

If not, I am lost and don't know what else to do..
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Likes
28
Location
Tempe, AZ
System Name GAMING BEAST
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P 120mm
Memory 6gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6850
Storage 2x640gb WD AALS Matrix RAID 0/RAID 5 (180mb/s, 7.2ms Access)
Display(s) Acer X233Hbd 23" Monitor (1920x1080)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 (9600gt): 12,567 3DMark06 (HD4870): 16,587 3DMarkVantage: P4740
#18
I am trying to use Vista's installation CD's Command Prompt to format the drive C... I am waiting for it to complete..

I know it knows it's there, because the command prompt is working on formating it .. the type of the file system is RAW and is becoming NTFS.. so hopefully this is what was causing the problem

If not, I am lost and don't know what else to do..

Any update? :)
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#19
It's still reformating. it has another 10 or so minutes.. ahh! Hopefully it works :-\
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#20
If that doesn't work, did you try the Intel chipset drivers? I've never seen them be needed at setup, but you never know.
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#21
it still didn't work.. good news is that it doesn't tell me I need to format C:/ .. :p

Where do I get the intel chipset drivers?..

What is going on with this! ahhh!

I've looked around the net and some people have had this issue and resolved it by installing XP and then Vista..
Problem is I don't have XP.. Anyone know where or who I can contact to get it so I can install it and then use it to boot Vista?.. I don't want to fork over money again just to get Vista installed...
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#22

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#23
K, trying this right now..
 

Scram

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Envision something..
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-SKN2-GP Black / Silver
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 ATX
Software Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders
#24
Still nothing.. Man this is ticking me off...

Does anyone else have any idea, or suggestions??

Which company tech support should I call? Would this be Microsoft, Seagate, or Gigabyte's issue?... =( This is really making my first build a crappy one, haha!

Thank you all for your help thus far, ;X
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#25
Man, I'm stumped now. Lets do something off the wall. Check/change your SATA cable. Try a different SATA port. If those don't work, try the longshot, and put your hard drive in AHCI or RAID mode.