• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

.net framework 3.5 causing slow boot times

Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
I've been playing Elite Dangerous, and the launcher requires the 3.5 .net framework, windows opens a launcher to download and install the framework and it goes on with no issues. I restart my pc and it takes >90s to load into my desktop, and when it does finally show my desktop the icons dont load for another 60s. I've tried a fresh install of windows a few times, but I'm still having this issue. Disabling the 3.5 framework from windows features does not solve this issue. Does anyone have any ideas?
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,027 (1.76/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
3.5 .net has service packs have you installed those? They should resolve your issue.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,594 (3.89/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898, FIIO Alpen 2 Headphone DAC + Amp
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon (GX Blue)
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.5.9 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Are you certain it's not something starting in the background that uses .NET as opposed to it just being .NET by itself? Boot times are caused by the OS loading stuff up, .NET shouldn't need to load libs up unless an application using it is being started.

I would (super (windows key) + R) [run] "msconfig" and see what you have listed for startup applications. Conversely you may want to [run] "services.msc" and review any non-MS services getting started up automatically.

Lastly, is this on the comp in your specs with the SSDs? Are you certain the health of the SSDs along with performance is still good? Even loading a bunch of files should be zippy quick from an SSD. My parents still have a 500GB WD Black in their tower and I just re-installed Windows for them and it literally went from a 90s boot to a 20s boot, granted it will loaded full of malware to the point of needing a re-install. :eek:
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
Are you certain it's not something starting in the background that uses .NET as opposed to it just being .NET by itself? Boot times are caused by the OS loading stuff up, .NET shouldn't need to load libs up unless an application using it is being started.

I would (super (windows key) + R) [run] "msconfig" and see what you have listed for startup applications. Conversely you may want to [run] "services.msc" and review any non-MS services getting started up automatically.

Lastly, is this on the comp in your specs with the SSDs? Are you certain the health of the SSDs along with performance is still good? Even loading a bunch of files should be zippy quick from an SSD. My parents still have a 500GB WD Black in their tower and I just re-installed Windows for them and it literally went from a 90s boot to a 20s boot, granted it will loaded full of malware to the point of needing a re-install. :eek:
It is the system with the SSDs. The boot time of the pc was ~10 seconds before I installed elite dangerous, and was around that time on each reinstall of windows. The copy of windows I'm currently using is near 2 hours old with only chrome, elite dangerous, and AMD drivers installed. I've been having this issue for about 3 weeks now and I've reinstalled windows twice hoping a fresh install would solve the issue, but it just reappears as soon as windows requests I install 3.5


3.5 .net has service packs have you installed those? They should resolve your issue.
The SP1 launcher actually refuses to even launch for me
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,027 (1.76/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
Are you certain it's not something starting in the background that uses .NET as opposed to it just being .NET by itself? Boot times are caused by the OS loading stuff up, .NET shouldn't need to load libs up unless an application using it is being started.

I would (super (windows key) + R) [run] "msconfig" and see what you have listed for startup applications. Conversely you may want to [run] "services.msc" and review any non-MS services getting started up automatically.

Lastly, is this on the comp in your specs with the SSDs? Are you certain the health of the SSDs along with performance is still good? Even loading a bunch of files should be zippy quick from an SSD. My parents still have a 500GB WD Black in their tower and I just re-installed Windows for them and it literally went from a 90s boot to a 20s boot, granted it will loaded full of malware to the point of needing a re-install. :eek:
I agree with you, but he said it's still slow after a clean install. But even with a clean install something is trying to use 3.5 and it could be windows. I'd try the service packs then do what you suggested. :toast:
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,594 (3.89/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898, FIIO Alpen 2 Headphone DAC + Amp
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon (GX Blue)
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.5.9 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
It is the system with the SSDs. The boot time of the pc was ~10 seconds before I installed elite dangerous, and was around that time on each reinstall of windows. The copy of windows I'm currently using is near 2 hours old with only chrome, elite dangerous, and AMD drivers installed. I've been having this issue for about 3 weeks now and I've reinstalled windows twice hoping a fresh install would solve the issue, but it just reappears as soon as windows requests I install 3.5
Does it happen after installing 3.5 without installing Elite Dangerous?
I agree with you, but he said it's still slow after a clean install. But even with a clean install something is trying to use 3.5 and it could be windows. I'd try the service packs then do what you suggested. :toast:
Yeah, but I'm wondering if it's something getting installed at the same time as .NET 3.5. Doesn't Catalyst need .NET 3.5 anyways, so with just Catalyst working fine, wouldn't that rule out .NET 3.5?
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,027 (1.76/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
The SP1 launcher actually refuses to even launch for me
Humm.. That's odd. Have you tried asking the guys in the Elite Dangerous club house to see if anyone has had this issue?

Does it happen after installing 3.5 without installing Elite Dangerous?

Yeah, but I'm wondering if it's something getting installed at the same time as .NET 3.5. Doesn't Catalyst need .NET 3.5 anyways, so with just Catalyst working fine, wouldn't that rule out .NET 3.5?
I'm wondering this as well.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.44/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Windows update maybe? Wouldn't that fix 3.5?

You can also download the Autoruns GUI to configure auto-start apps.

BTW why does CCC provide 4.5, if it needs 3.5? Just curious.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
1,140 (0.51/day)
Location
Alabama, USA
System Name Desktop || XPS 15 9560
Processor i5 4670k || i5 7300HQ
Motherboard MSI Z87-G41 || OEM
Cooling NZXT Respire T40 || OEM
Memory 16GB 1866Mhz DDR3 || 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW || GTX 1050
Storage Ultra 2 480GB + WD Black 2TB || 1TB Crucial SSD
Display(s) ASUS VS228 1080p || Dell InfinityEdge 4k
Case NZXT Source 210 White || OEM
Power Supply Corsair CXm 750w || OEM
Mouse Corsair SABRE RGB || Logitech 720 Triathlon
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RGB || OEM
I'm running windows 8.1 along with catalyst and elite and have super fast boot times.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
Humm.. That's odd. Have you tried asking the guys in the Elite Dangerous club house to see if anyone has had this issue?


I'm wondering this as well.
I will this after work. At this point I'm close to just leaving my pc on 24/7 so I don't have to deal with those boot times
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
So the current fix that I've found for this issue is to just install windows 7. Installing the framework before elite did not solve the issue. I tried with both the 64 bit CD that came with windows, and download onto a flashdrive from microsoft.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,594 (3.89/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898, FIIO Alpen 2 Headphone DAC + Amp
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon (GX Blue)
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.5.9 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
So the current fix that I've found for this issue is to just install windows 7. Installing the framework before elite did not solve the issue. I tried with both the 64 bit CD that came with windows, and download onto a flashdrive from microsoft.
Did you restart the computer after installing .NET 3.5 before installing the game to see if it was .NET slowing the computer down or the game? @Mindweaver and I were curious if it was one or the other. From your wording it's not clear if it's .NET or the game still. If Windows 7 solved it, good for you. I'm still kind of curious now with what was going on. :confused:
 
Top