• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Network Disconnects in standby

Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#1
Well when i put my computer into stand by mode it loses the LAN connection im on wired internet and using windows xp...

I basically want the pc to appear to be off but still be doing what it is on the internet but with no noise from the base unit as my parents tend to lose it when the pc is on and im not at it, saying it uses energy bills and such so is there a way to do it? It works fine for my friend who puts it in stand by mode and his pc maintains the network connection but mine for some reason gets rid of it... im trying to run a MMORPG whilst this is happening but it disconnects from the mmorpg's server since the network disconnects not allowing me to be on it so is there any work around :) thanks

Adeel
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#2
Check the properties of your NIC in the device manager. There might be some power options there. I know the Broadcom adapters on the Dell laptops we have at work have it.
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#3
Hmmm are you talking about when you hit the configure tab in the network settings folder? and then tell it not to switch it off? if so tried that >,<
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#4
Right-click "my computer" and click "manage". Then click device manager in the left menu and find your NIC.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2007
Messages
1,178 (0.32/day)
Likes
101
Location
UK, Liverpool
System Name My Lovely PC :)
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13GHz @3.12GHz - 1.35v/390fsb/8x multi
Motherboard Gigabyte P43-DS3L
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - MX2 paste
Memory 2GB, Team Value Ram 667 @ 780MHz
Video Card(s) ECS 8800GT 512MB @ 700/1720/2100
Storage 160GB Hitachi Deskstar/80GB Maxtor PY080L0
Display(s) Asus VH226H 22" 1920x1080
Case Eye-T
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD, AC888 8 channel audio
Power Supply 570 Watt, TRUST PSU
Software Windows 7 Beta
#6
NIC = Network Inteface Card, i.e. your ethernet port

if its on power saving mode, it automatically shuts the NIC down. meaning that you will be disconnected from the network.

if your on XP, go into device manager, right click the network adapter. and see if you can find a power saving mode, turn that off.

if your on vista its the same thing.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2007
Messages
1,178 (0.32/day)
Likes
101
Location
UK, Liverpool
System Name My Lovely PC :)
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13GHz @3.12GHz - 1.35v/390fsb/8x multi
Motherboard Gigabyte P43-DS3L
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - MX2 paste
Memory 2GB, Team Value Ram 667 @ 780MHz
Video Card(s) ECS 8800GT 512MB @ 700/1720/2100
Storage 160GB Hitachi Deskstar/80GB Maxtor PY080L0
Display(s) Asus VH226H 22" 1920x1080
Case Eye-T
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD, AC888 8 channel audio
Power Supply 570 Watt, TRUST PSU
Software Windows 7 Beta
#8
hmm, then try reinstalling the driver for that nic. or better yet find a more updated driver.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#9
My understanding is that standby mode saves your current desktop 'state' to RAM and shuts down everything that's not needed to retain that state. V Low power to processor and power to RAM remain. It has the ability to wake itself up at a set time but I sceptical that keeping the LAN alive could be possible.

Maybe you can get a fan controller to turn the fans down to very quiet and fit an override switch to the case LEDs. Then set HDD off and Monitor off after 5mins in your XP power options. This is the closest I think you'll get.
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#10
Nah its somewhere in the settings thats gone wrong because my mate has an identical pc to mine well just a diff graphic card and he can do what im trying to do but setting wise i have no idea what he has done that i haven't
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#12
its the nature of the beast, dont use standby

it would be nice if there were a tool to easily underclock everything

in your bios try turning auto fan thingy on and underclock your cpu and fsb as low as they will go
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#13
its the nature of the beast, dont use standby

it would be nice if there were a tool to easily underclock everything

in your bios try turning auto fan thingy on and underclock your cpu and fsb as low as they will go
Wont that kill my processor speed and performance :p?
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#14
yes, unless you can work out a way of dropping the performance only at times you need. For a start you could use intel speedstep and c1e or AMD cool & quiet which does just that - maybe even large passive heatsinks for cpu & gpu. I'm sure you can get the noise down, my PC is whisper quiet nearly all the time.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#15
you want to kill your processor speed and performance, thats the idea, you do that while your not around, and when your useing it you bump it back up

but yeah, huge passive heatsinks, then put on a fan and use the auto fan controll and it should have the fan off in idle for sure.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#17
Have you checked that there's no special function for this included with your motherboard. I have an ASUS P5E3 Deluxe and it has a function called AINap which sounds like exactly what your aiming for.

" AI Nap
Minimize noise and power consumption when temporarily away!
With AI Nap, users can instantly snooze your PC without terminating the tasks. System will continue operating at minimum power and noise when user is temporarily away. It keeps downloading files or running applications in quietest state while you´re sleeping. Simply click keyboard or mouse, you can swiftly wake up the system in few seconds."
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#19
If by 'standby' you mean S3 mode (where major parts of the PC are turned off, incl the processor), so will your NIC, and the connection.
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#20
If by 'standby' you mean S3 mode (where major parts of the PC are turned off, incl the processor), so will your NIC, and the connection.
Something along those lines because on the other pc when you hit standby it goes down but the network doesn't disconnect but is silent =\ need to do it on this pc to ><
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,128 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,561
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
it may be possible to disable the 'allow this device to turn off to save power' setting in the device manager.

S3 (susped to ram) sleep states WILL turn everything off except ram
S1 sleep states dont turn anything off, it just idles them. It can make thigs quieter (hard drives power down, CPU fan may turn off/slow down) but it barely saves any power at all.

if you need to use the system, dont sleep it. If you need a quiet system, buy quieter hardware and cooling.

in my opinion, no matter what you do the game will disconnect or shut down when you sleep the system. it PAUSES the game, and shuts everything down and reloads it when you wake the system... you'll just need a quieter PC.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#22
it may be possible to disable the 'allow this device to turn off to save power' setting in the device manager.

S3 (susped to ram) sleep states WILL turn everything off except ram
S1 sleep states dont turn anything off, it just idles them. It can make thigs quieter (hard drives power down, CPU fan may turn off/slow down) but it barely saves any power at all.

if you need to use the system, dont sleep it. If you need a quiet system, buy quieter hardware and cooling.

in my opinion, no matter what you do the game will disconnect or shut down when you sleep the system. it PAUSES the game, and shuts everything down and reloads it when you wake the system... you'll just need a quieter PC.
seconded, thats the best answer your gonna get for sure... like i said grab a passive cpu cooler and put a fan on it, in idle mode the fan will shut off [make sure to get a 4 pin fan!]
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#23
seconded, thats the best answer your gonna get for sure... like i said grab a passive cpu cooler and put a fan on it, in idle mode the fan will shut off [make sure to get a 4 pin fan!]
Any recommendations? Im using stock fans that came with the X Blade case so maybe they're too loud, its also possibly the cooler i bought for my x1950 by Arctic cooling that could be the source of the sound...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,128 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,561
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
Any recommendations? Im using stock fans that came with the X Blade case so maybe they're too loud, its also possibly the cooler i bought for my x1950 by Arctic cooling that could be the source of the sound...
well how are we to know whats making hte noise? you'll have to stop them one by one and find that out yourself, and then we can reccomend quieter ones.
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#25
well how are we to know whats making hte noise? you'll have to stop them one by one and find that out yourself, and then we can reccomend quieter ones.
Alright, i got rid of the back fan which seemed to be the main source of noise and replaced it with a much quieter one, i have a feeling the majority of the noise left is from the HD, how do i reduce that?