• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

network help, seeing major bottleneck

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#1
below is a network map of all my devices. i have a 75mbit down and 35 mbit up connection. when going from B to L to M to N to Internet I get full speed and 15ms ping to a city 100 miles away. so no issues. however, if i am maxing out the download and i transfer files from D to M to L to B the internet download connection drops to about 200 KB/s while the internal file transfer sits at about 15 MB/s. this is baffling me.


 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
What is M exactly? I'm assuming it is a router. My guess is that it is just being overloaded with the internal file transfer and internet transfer.

I'd connect D, E, F, and L into another gigabit switch, then connect that switch to M. So any wired internal transfer stays off M.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
System Name Valhalla
Processor Intel 2600k
Motherboard Sabertooth P67 v2
Cooling triple loop water, cpu gpu's
Memory 16 GB Ripjaw X @ 1866
Video Card(s) XFX 7970 Black Edition Double Dissipation x2
Storage 2x OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, 4x WD Black 8TB total
Display(s) 2 24" ASUS + 27" Crossover
Case Caselab M10 w/extended top
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo XT
Power Supply SeaSonic Gold Series SS-1250XM
Software Windows 7x68
#3
what is the file copy speed while transferring data from D - M -L while downing loading vs not. also have you open any ports of B and D
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#4
What is M exactly? I'm assuming it is a router. My guess is that it is just being overloaded with the internal file transfer and internet transfer.

I'd connect D, E, F, and L into another gigabit switch, then connect that switch to M. So any wired internal transfer stays off M.
M is a wireless router. one of those fancy (but older) d-link gaming routers. i forget the model number.

should i just buy a "switch" or should a buy another consumer grade gigabit router?


what is the file copy speed while transferring data from D - M -L while downing loading vs not. also have you open any ports of B and D
it seems like the file copy speed takes precedence over the internet speed when running from the same machine. 15MB/s is usually the peak for file transfers with or without downloading from the internet. B and D do not have any open ports to the internet.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Can you describe what L, M, and N are? Are they three routers?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#6
Can you describe what L, M, and N are? Are they three routers?
yes sorry, routers.

edit: also ignore the arrows, those are just to show what connects to what.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#7
Probably hte oldest router overloaded, as newtekie surmises.

Personally, I'd have your "M & N" routers inside the network, and the "L" as the splitter, but again, depends on the hardware. It's jsut that having wireless in multiple links dow nthe chain creates security issues..not that you'd probably have issues, I'm jsut a bit emo about that stuff. My wireless signal abrely touches the house outside walls. :p
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8
Here would be my topology. I would take the NON wireless gig router you have and make it the main. Then purchase a 16-24 port Gig switch. Then I would take your wireless N router and set as access point only. This would allow one router to control the whole subnet and make file transmissions to be less bottlenecked.

 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#9
thanks, the issue is N is the ISPs cable modem/router so it has to be exposed to the internet. also, A,B,C are on a different floor than D,E,F which is why they are connected to separate routers. i only wanted to run 1 cat6 cable through the wall down into the basement rather than the 3.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#10
thanks, the issue is N is the ISPs cable modem/router so it has to be exposed to the internet. also, A,B,C are on a different floor than D,E,F which is why they are connected to separate routers. i only wanted to run 1 cat6 cable through the wall down into the basement rather than the 3.
Ok then I would purchase two 8 port switches to take out the extra routers and just use the Wireless N router/modem, 2 gig switches.