1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Network monitoring utility needed.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Lazzer408, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    What's a good utility for monitoring what application or service is using my network?

    OS=XP pro.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
  3. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    I found Wireshark but I have no idea how to use it. I don't see an application list anywhere.

    I need something more like task manager with network usage shown like the cpu load is in task manager. Anything simple like that you are aware of?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    I do not, sorry. :(
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,846 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,306
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    netlimiter has what you need, its got issues with windows 7, but as you need it for XP you're all set :)
     
    Lazzer408 and kuroikenshi say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Mmmm, that is pretty snazzy. Now if only it could be made into a Windows 7 gadget/widget.
     
  7. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    THANK YOU!

    It's avgnsx.exe banging away at my network. Damn you AVG!

    I'll have to see what exactly this file is for.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    620 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Avast antivirus?
     
  9. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    It was part of AVG's link scanner. It had at least 40-50 connections open and yapping away. I swear I disabled that during AVG's setup. I was able to disable it from the AVG interface.

    PROBLEM SOLVED!!

    Thank you Mussels. Australia returns the favor! -woot- (long story)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Jacko28 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    You could always use the command prompt.

    new line: netstat -b 2 then you can see how many damn avg.exes are clogging your network :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)