1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

network slowing computer boot-up?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by watts289, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    281 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I dont have any programs running on start-up except eset nod32, and rivatuner. but My computer boots up fine, except it takes approx 3-5 min for the network to come up. I can run programs fine that dont require internet at all. but if i click internet explorer it comes to a blank page and after 5 min the network shows it works fine then after. What is going on?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,256 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,116
    could be a bad ethernet or wireless card. have you tried this on a different PC ?
     
  3. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    +1 on that I would make sure to try a different cat5 cable and possibly a nic card if you have one lying about.
     
  4. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    281 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    i figured it out....wasnt the nic nor the cat5e cable. i had blackberry desktop manager installed with media manager and when i checked the system log, a portion of the roxio media manager was unresponsive at boot. uninstalled and reinstalled minus the media manager...didnt need that anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,256 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,116
    those shitty little programs always do that.
     
  6. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    281 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    yup, computer is as fast as it was when i first installed vista.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)