• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Network Transfer slows down

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#1
Well I have an interesting issue that i need to fix here.

I have a Vista Business X64 SP1 vlited install (100% stable) now when i reboot that machine and copy a file from the fileserver i get fast speeds 75-85MB/s (it jumps around a bit since its using the onboard on the client and its not the greatest NIC)

Then after a few hours (not sure how many havent tested that yet) lets call it a day of the client being online i try to copy from the fileserver again (same file) i get 6.8MB/s basically bang on... it fluctuates up to 7.5 then back to 6.8 no matter how long i leave the transfer.... then i reboot its speedy again....

Iv tried killing off most all the running processes, i thought it might be diskeeper on this end eating up HDD speed or something.... but its not...

I'm kinda stumped any ideas?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#2
im going to say your problem lies with vista... mine does the same thing on 3 different pc's xfering to any other one when they all had vista.

iv moved my pc to win 7 and the problem has gone from this pc, however the other 2 still need reboots every day or 2.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
network speeds slow down on vista, if you have audio playing. long time bug, no working solution.

some media players cause this when paused, so audio doesnt have to be playing, per se.
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#4
Vista has a built in TCP/IP autotune feature- That is what makes your network transfer slow down so much.
I don't know all the details, but have seen this b4- Do a google search for vista autotune- It will tell you how to change the settings and I think you can even turn it off.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
Vista has a built in TCP/IP autotune feature- That is what makes your network transfer slow down so much.
I don't know all the details, but have seen this b4- Do a google search for vista autotune- It will tell you how to change the settings and I think you can even turn it off.
trust me, i messed with all that stuff. the only solution is to close anything tied in to audio, or move to 7. the autotune is blamed a lot, when its not related at all.
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#6
that is interesting- I have never heard of that b4, but thanks for the tip- It may come in handy down the road-
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
that is interesting- I have never heard of that b4, but thanks for the tip- It may come in handy down the road-
it was an absolute killer at lan parties. some people never turn WMP or winamp off, so it was nasty when transferring files to and from them.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#8
Wow....

I cant beleave something like this has not been patched yet.... I recently just switched my main pc to vista from XP.... i did a reboot and it seemed the slowdown was within ~5 minutes after the machine booted to desktop...

I will try again here after im done with this batch of work and not open anything sound related and see if that helps things....

***EDIT***

Well a fresh reboot and thigns were speedy, fired up foobar, still speedy, played a file in foobar and the speeds plumeted to 6.8MB/s from 70MB/s. stop the track and it ramps back up to 70....

Youtube sound also has the same effect.

Though it only does it when a track is active.... so playing or paused....

This really boggles my mind, how could a bug this huge go unpatched for so damn long? im doing some more research into the matter now and ill post my findings.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
normally closing the program is enough to make it speed up again.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#10
normally closing the program is enough to make it speed up again.
Not something I'm willing to do.

I also fixed it :):cool:

A simple reg edit, and disabling a service and i have no more network slowdown :)

For those interested;


1) Open Regedit navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Audiosrv\DependOnService

Open that key and remove the MMCS line.

2) Run services.msc and disable (dont try to stop it) the MMCS service.

3) Reboot

4) Enjoy.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Ah, that would explain why I have never noticed this, I have TVersity installed, which disables MMCS for me...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
hmmm.


i recall hearing about a fix like this, but what it did was swapped poor network speeds, for stuttering audio when network traffic was high...


i had this archived away in some notes too.


Windows throttling mechanism
Because multimedia programs require more resources, the Windows networking
stack implements a throttling mechanism to restrict the processing of
non-multimedia network traffic to 10 packets per millisecond.



To configure the throttling rate, change the value of the
NetworkThrottlingIndex registry entry under the following registry subkey:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile\
Name : NetworkThrottlingIndex
Value type : DWORD
Value data : From integer 1 through integer 70 (Decimal) (Decimal)

By default, the value for the NetworkThrottlingIndex registry entry is set
to 10. When the NetworkThrottlingIndex registry entry does not exist, the
behavior resembles the default behavior. Network throttling can be
completely turned off by setting the value to FFFFFFFF (hexadecimal). You
must restart the computer after you make a change to the value of the
NetworkThrottlingIndex registry entry.

*Important *The default value is unlikely to cause degradation in network
performance in most common Internet usage scenarios that use broadband
connections. We recommend that you only use the throttling mechanism after
you fully understand the tradeoff between multimedia playback quality and
network performance.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#13
I have been testing for any sound degredation and have got nothing over the past couple hours of testing, all the time i have been moving a 100GB dummy file back and forth over the network.

Confirmed no issues in either foobar (ASIO mode) or MPC.

So im all happy now :)
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
136 (0.04/day)
Likes
13
Location
Ninja's Dont Need Homes
#14
im guessing you would have an on-board ethernet adapter. correct?

very interest problem.

how many other users are on the network?
and what is the route you are connected to this file server. eg, though a switch then router or a couple of switches and routers?

gigabit network?

im just trying to sus out any possible network issues


lol ok never mind, i didnt read far enough to realise you fix it