• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Networking Madness!

Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
204 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
Location
Lower Sackville, NS
System Name ThinkPad T410
Processor Intel Core i5 540M
Motherboard Lenovo 2522DM1
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) nVidia NVS 3100M
Storage 128GB SSD
Display(s) 1440x900
Software Windows 8.1 64bit
#1
So here is my story, I have my main machine whitch has a wifi card and the standard built-in gigabit ethernet. I get my internet connection from the wifi card. I have another computer with just built in Ethernet as well, My main machine is running windows 7 x64 and the other computer is running XP x86 I want to be able to connect my main machine to my ethernet switch and the other computer to the ethernet switch and be able to get internet on the spare computer.

Now here are the issues:

1. How do i set up the spare computer to get the internet connection from my main machine?

2. Whenever i connect the ethernet cable to my main machine all my programs (firefox, pidgin, steam, ect) try and connect to the internet through the ethernet connection, but there isn't a internet connection present there only throught the wifi card. How do i fix this so that even if i plug my ethernet cabe lin it will still try and connect to the internet through the wifi card?

3. I also go to my fathers on the weekend and i get my intrenet through ethernet there so i need to be able to switch back and forth preferably automatically.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
If I got this right, you want your setup to look like:

teh Webz -> "WLAN" (is there a router/switch present??) -> Main system through WLAN -> Secondary system through wired from the main system.

Because that's just bad planning. Why not connect the secondary system to a router?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Go into your Wireless Adapter's properties, there should be a "sharing" tab.

Enable sharing, select the ethernet connection in the drop down box.

Plug the cables from each computer into the switch.

Enjoy the internet on the second machine.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
204 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
Location
Lower Sackville, NS
System Name ThinkPad T410
Processor Intel Core i5 540M
Motherboard Lenovo 2522DM1
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) nVidia NVS 3100M
Storage 128GB SSD
Display(s) 1440x900
Software Windows 8.1 64bit
#4
heres a diagram to mt predicament, I want to accomplish two things:

1) connect to the internet with the spare computer
2) Make my main machine stop trying to connect to the internet through my wired connection
 

andrew123

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Canada
#6
On the spare machine you will need to give it an ip address, say 192.168.0.2/24, give it the default gateway address of 192.168.0.1, set up your spare maching to get it's DNS information from the DNS server your ISP provides you, then cable the spare machines ethernet into the switch, cable the switch into your main pc's gigabit port, assign that interface ip address 192.168.0.1/24. Your WiFi interface will have an address provided to it from either your ISP or internally through a soho/router, assuming your WiFi has ip address 192.168.1.2 you will need to install some sort of RIP routing (or I think on windows it's called internet connection sharing) to map all traffic destined from the 192.168.0.0 network to 192.168.1.0 network.

This if course means that all your traffic, for your main PC and your spare PC are going to have to go through WiFi, which isn't exactly the most elegant solution. Sorry I couldn't provide you more information on how to configure your main machine to route traffic but the problem is that I'm not a windows user and I really don't know what software would work for such a purpose.

Good luck :)
 

andrew123

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Canada
#7
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
236 (0.09/day)
Likes
95
Location
Jersey Shore
System Name Everyday driver
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Asrock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Prime SD1484
Memory 4x GSkill 4GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 245BW 1920x1200
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair TX-850
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 SP1
#8
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
204 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
Location
Lower Sackville, NS
System Name ThinkPad T410
Processor Intel Core i5 540M
Motherboard Lenovo 2522DM1
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) nVidia NVS 3100M
Storage 128GB SSD
Display(s) 1440x900
Software Windows 8.1 64bit
#9
Thanks guys, that was tons of help. :D
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#10
Personally, id recommend buying a usb wireless or pci card. They cost $30-$50, and will be much more reliable than ICS, or so I hear.