• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NEW 19" Samsung Widescreen. Restarting My Computer

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#1
So like the title says, whenever I change the resolution in CSS (game) counterstrike source, it puts up a black screen and then my computer restarts. I dont know why its doing that?

Reinstall drivers maybe? Desktop Resolution is 1440X900 in game is 1280X1024. Also after I play for about 1hr i exit CSS and the computer restarts???? :confused:

TIA
J
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#2
Hmm, I don't think your monitor is causing that. It would be unusual indeed. I would look more toward something wrong with your vid card or PSU.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.74/day)
Likes
663
#3
Try this...

Open CCC > Digital Panel properties> and check and see if both "DVI Settings" boxes are checked.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#4
sounds like a vga problem, check if you have a buildup of dust on the fan or your cpu may need some more paste
 

evil bill

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
369 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
Scotland
System Name Main Rig | Second Rig
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo Wolfdale E8200 @ 3.2Ghz | Pentium 4 530J 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC @ 1,600Mhz FSB | Asus P5P800
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB) 5-4-4-15 | Corsair 1GB XMS DDR-400 (2 x 512MB)
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT 512MB Pre-OCd @ 660/950 | Powercolor X850 Pro 256MB AGP
Storage 500GB WD Caviar SATA300 | Hitachi Deckstar 80GB SATA
Display(s) LG 22" W2252TQ
Case Antec 900 | ATX Window case
Audio Device(s) Onboard High Definition Audio | Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Hiper 730W HPU-5M730-SE | Tagan 480W
Software Vista 64-bit SP1 | Windows 7 32-bit RC1
#5
Do you have VPU Recover enabled in your Catalyst settings? What refresh rate do you have the monitor set at and do you use Enable Vertical Synch in CSS?


Whatever your monitor is trying to do its clearly stressing out something but as is said above I doubt its actually the monitor that is at fault.

I have a 19" Samsung Widescreen too but have always played CSS at the native res of 1440x900 cause it looks squished otherwise. Does it still do it if you use this res?
 

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#6
I think I figured it out guys. I installed analog drivers for the monitor instead of digital. I reinstalled the digital drivers and everything seems real good. Played CSS for about 1hr and exited and everything worked perfect. :D

J