• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New 64 GB Crucial LRDIMMs Double a Server's Memory Capacity

Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
4,785 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,187
Location
Still on the East Side
#1
Crucial, a leading global brand of memory and server memory, today announced the 64 GB Crucial DDR3L Load-Reduced DIMMs (LRDIMMs) for servers, which enable more DIMMs per channel for up to twice the installed memory capacity per server. Additionally, these modules offer up to a 35 percent increase in memory bandwidth per server compared to standard DIMMs, and eliminate the channel ranking limitation of standard DDR3 registered DIMMs. The Crucial DDR3L LRDIMMs is designed for IT professionals that manage high-end server environments with demanding workloads.

The 64 GB Crucial DDR3L LRDIMMs operates using 1.35V, unlike the 1.5V common in DDR3 RDIMMs, making the new module more energy-efficient and cost-effective, especially in large deployments. Since Crucial LRDIMMs transmit power in a more efficient manner to the CPU (via the data path buffer), they use less voltage, which allows for additional power savings. These new memory modules are also compatible with OEM servers and warranties, allowing users to upgrade their existing server infrastructures without having to purchase an entirely new system. Crucial LRDIMMs fully support the latest Intel Xeon processor E5 family.





"For memory-intensive server applications such as cloud computing, virtualization, and in-memory databases, optimizing the capabilities of new or existing hardware is by far a more cost-effective solution than purchasing additional servers," said Michael Moreland, worldwide DRAM product marketing manager, Crucial. "The new 64 GB Crucial LRDIMMs allow servers to reach the maximum amount of installed memory possible, which can enable dramatic performance gains in memory bandwidth and overall server productivity, all while reducing power costs relative to adding additional servers."

Crucial DDR3L LRDIMMs server memory is halogen-free and RoHS compliant. Available in densities up to 64 GB and kits up to 192 GB, the 64 GB LRDIMM will be available to purchase in early calendar Q4 2013. Crucial LRDIMMs are backed by a limited lifetime warranty and are rigorously tested to meet or exceed the high-quality performance specifications customers have come to expect from Crucial. As a brand of Micron, one of the largest manufacturers of DRAM in the world, Crucial engineers work to design, refine, test, manufacture, and support an extensive line of memory modules. For more information about Crucial server memory, please visit www.crucial.com/server.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
San Antonio, Texas
System Name ASUS G75VW
Processor INTEL i7 3610QM @ 2.3GHz
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 670M 3GB GDDR5 + 105MHz OC
Storage 2 x 750GB Seagate HDD (RAID 0)
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#2
Can I just use RAM instead of HDD or SDD? LOL
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
713 (0.16/day)
Likes
157
Location
Austin, TX
System Name WAZAAM!
Processor Intel i5-2500k - 4.4GHz @ 1.3v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z (z68)
Cooling HSF:: Noctua NH-D14 || CASE:: 2x Intake: Noctua NF-P12-1300 | 2x Exhaust: Noctua NF-S12B
Memory G.Skill RipJaws 16GB (4x4GB) @ 1866MHz | 10-10-10-28-2T @ 1.35v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB SC
Storage Crucial 1.4TB P420m PCIe (boot & steam) | 4x Ultrastar 2TB in Storage Spaces Parity (Media)
Display(s) 3x1 nVidia Surround | Three Dell U2412m - 24" e-IPS 1920x1200
Case Antec P183 - Custom Interior Paint Job
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Bose Companion 2 Speakers
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series HX850
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Server -- Inte 4c Atom C2550D -- 2x4GB G.Skill 1866MHz DDR3 -- 100GB OS SSD -- 4x 2TB 5400 RAID5
#3
Can I just use RAM instead of HDD or SDD? LOL
Possibly. Ivy Bridge-EP will be limited to 3TB with these dimms (quad socket; 1.5TB for dual socket) and Ivy Bridge-EX will be limited to only 6TB of memory.

;-)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#4
Can I just use RAM instead of HDD or SDD? LOL
With Linux, yes you can, for a long time already, a very long time. Right now i am using it just for some directories but in the future with more memory(thank you :respect: DDR4) it will be possible to put in ram the whole system without cutting down my work memory needs. :rolleyes:
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,918 (3.41/day)
Likes
5,439
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
With Linux, yes you can, for a long time already, a very long time. Right now i am using it just for some directories but in the future with more memory(thank you :respect: DDR4) it will be possible to put in ram the whole system without cutting down my work memory needs. :rolleyes:
Also with Windows. Ramdisk is an old concept.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#6
Also with Windows. Ramdisk is an old concept.
I am well aware of that. But i've seen alot of "crashes" comments in all reviews of such programs for Windows and its quite limited to what you can do with it.
On Linux(and BSD) its a standart feature and can be treated like any other partition and its stable, not to mention there're 2 implementations depending on your needs(both Win and Mac has only one option - memory ends system fails, its also strange that BSD ported tmpfs support but Apple still have only old version) and its free.
For some reason Microsoft doesn't bother to implement official support for such an old concept and 3d party software company makes ugly hacks for their implementation to work(format ram partition in fat or ntfs for example).
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,436 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,104
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#7
RAMDISK is nice. Until you restart your PC...
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Well, with the RAM price, this is going to cost alot xD
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,830 (0.99/day)
Likes
282
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15601
#10
all those ram now needs is a battery :)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#11
Also with Windows. Ramdisk is an old concept.
My message didn't come through. In short - no, Windows have it thanks to non-free really buggy hacks that 3-rd party tools brings, i've read alot of bad reviews with them. Mac has old realization even though BSD has ported Linux' new variant long ago. So yes, Linux(and BSD) has it much better then anything else.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,436 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,104
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#12
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#13
Try to "rsync" 64GB of data from the harddrive :))
Well, i don't need so much, work files are relatively small, its just rendering and sims that can take ram. And the system as a whole(OS+programs+work_files) is 10.7GB. By the time DDR4 comes there will be some realy fast SSDs and reading for them is ok. So i think alot of people will push the whole system+important files into ram by such method.
Ofcourse if memristors will come into play everything will simplified but greedy companies won't do it soon.