• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New AMD Chipset Drivers Tested on Ryzen 9 3900X

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Just a few days ago, AMD commented on the idle clock behavior of their new Zen 2 processors, which has been criticized by many. The company also released a chipset update for mitigation. We thoroughly tested the new version in our application and gaming test suite using the Ryzen 9 3900X on X570.

Show full article
 
Last edited by a moderator:

unluckymsk

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2019
Messages
3 (0.13/day)
All i need to download new chipset driver? Or use ryzen balanced power plan in win 10 1903 also? Ryzen 5 3600 Here

I have new chipset drivers for my Mobo (Asus Prime X370-PRO) Version 19.10.22 2019/07/31 available
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
Thanks for the review. No major changes, so not updating it just yet.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Or use ryzen balanced power plan in win 10 1903 also?
Yes you also need to use Ryzen Balanced Power Plan, which automatically gets installed and activated on chipset driver install
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,377 (4.10/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Man, that "boost clocks" graph looks like it never ends :D
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
3,703 (0.69/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3733MHz 16-19-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I actually gained quite a bit in CB20, although I also just got the new AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB for my board, which might have improved things.
5048 is with PBO, 5008 is without and 4824 is prior to new driver and AGESA.

 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
123 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2x4 GB Crucial Tactical PC3-12800 CL8
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti @ 900/1002/1800
Storage Crucial M4 128GB + 3TB Storage
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX-650
dont know about you, but with the new chipset driver my ryzen balanced defauled to 95% minimum processor state, causing me to be stuck on 1.45v on idle.

just setting it to 5% there lets me idle at 0.93v, dropping idle temps by 6c


This is on a 1.0.0.2 Bios and Windows 10 1809, (1809 cause, lol, creative drivers, and dpc)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
95% minimum processor state
AMD said:
We will also be adjusting how the processor behaves in low or idle workloads. If a processor core is not power gated and sleeping, the processor core will sit at 99% of base clock for low or idle workloads. For example: an AMD Ryzen™ 7 3700X base clock is 3600MHz, so you would see “idle” frequencies around 3564MHz ± 0.08%. This 99% value keeps the active core on a razor’s edge so that your non-trivial applications can easily trigger CPU boost. While boosted, the processor will still control frequency selection in 1ms intervals.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
69 (0.09/day)
This is not the first time that this has happened with their drivers
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
People still do not get the idea how these CPU work and bark, interfere with it's work...
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
123 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2x4 GB Crucial Tactical PC3-12800 CL8
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti @ 900/1002/1800
Storage Crucial M4 128GB + 3TB Storage
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX-650
So what, all CPU's are supposed to "idle" at full baseclock almost, with 1.45v?, that doesnt sound right
Of course, i checked with ryzen master, cpu-z, Hwinfo64, by themselves without any of the others running meanwhile

was under the impression that it should go sub 1 volt for idle?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
3,703 (0.69/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3733MHz 16-19-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
So what, all CPU's are supposed to "idle" at full baseclock almost, with 1.45v?, that doesnt sound right
Of course, i checked with ryzen master, cpu-z, Hwinfo64, by themselves without any of the others running meanwhile

was under the impression that it should go sub 1 volt for idle?
It does, just change your power mode from Best Performance to one of the other two and it drops.

128223
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2019
Messages
30 (0.22/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus X570 TUF Gaming Plus
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory G.Skill 2x8GB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX 2070
Storage Samsung 850 SSD 512GB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case NZXT S340 Elite
When not gaming or working, the average PC enthusiast's machine is running a web-browser, a chat application, peripherals application, and a monitoring app which polls hardware. The processor could interpret their load as a need for boost, if a processor and OS are talking to each other at 1 ms. This gives users the appearance of a processor that's stuck at a higher state than idle.
So AMD wants to tell us, the CPU is running under 0,7v at idle, we just cannost see it because of the 1ms update interval?
I am on the auto voltage in BIOS, newest BIOS, with the newest chipset driver, selected Ryzen Balanced power plan, Windows 10 1903, running Steam in the backround, using Ryzen Master to watch the voltage. I have never seen it to drop below 1V. I was using modded windows without the bloatware, without any monitoring software/MB software, AIO software...etc and then I saw 0,7V in CPU-Z. I dont think its even possible to let the chip do its idle thing like AMD intended with Windows 10 backround processes, steam and AIO, motherboard software running in the backround.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Forget the monitoring softwares, screw them all. It will be a rule for newer CPU's to have better powersaving, clocking and agility. Our perception of things is too slow vs the machine code execution rate.

Only way is to use dedicated voltage meters attached to the VRM itself with log function, then you can plot it in a graph basing on activities you did in that timeframe. Not using it via software layer... it is useless either way, as it doesn't represent the real voltage, but only the VID state.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
972 (0.25/day)
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 3 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R9 3900| R7 1700 3.75 | Xeon 2680v2
Motherboard Asrock X570M | AB350M Pro 4 | HP Z620
Cooling Water1x360,1x240 | Air | air
Memory 64gb G.skill SniperX 3466mhz CL16 | 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | server | GTX970
Storage 960 Evo 500gb, 860 evo 1tb, Intel 660P 1tb PM871 256gb | various intel ssd's.
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something + 1440p 144hz something.
Case Phanteks EvolvX M-Atx
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse G402
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Thanks for the review. No major changes, so not updating it just yet.
There is one major change, voltage is 1.3 V for instance instead of 1.45V at idle.
it silences the internet who knows what right and wrong better than the engineers who's made the product.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,377 (4.10/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
There is one major change, voltage is 1.3 V for instance instead of 1.45V at idle.
it silences the internet who knows what right and wrong better than the engineers who's made the product.
You hate it when people do that, don't you?
;)
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
109 (0.84/day)
Hehe, with this launch it seems AMD decided that since they weren't going to fall as far from the hype as usually (apart from the frequencies, of course), to just leave beta testing to the general population and somehow they are mostly getting away with it. I can't imagine if Intel did something similar - Internet would probably explode :D
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,160 (4.30/day)
For games, less than 1.1x% and less than one percent is an improvement? Seems the same to me considering run variance, etc...

Doesn't look like this does much at all outside of a few select applications. Otherwise its margin of error....
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,377 (4.10/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Hehe, with this launch it seems AMD decided that since they weren't going to fall as far from the hype as usually (apart from the frequencies, of course), to just leave beta testing to the general population and somehow they are mostly getting away with it. I can't imagine if Intel did something similar - Internet would probably explode :D
The CPUs are fine. It's just RDRAND that's messed up, but since it's a new instruction, there isn't much code out there to make use of it.
It would have rendered my Linux install unbootable, since I like to keep up with software changes, but I haven't switched yet.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
695 (0.22/day)
The interval for changing clocks, voltages and multiplier works so fast that there is no tool that is able to keep up let alone show the correct graph. Only ryzen master is capable of that. 1.45v at idle is perfectly normal too. Light weight workthreads need more voltage basicly and its SAFE for the CPU. Its not safe for the CPU when the same voltage (1.45V) is applied and your running a all core load. Thats where the CPU´s are being damaged. If you run a all core workload that same voltage will lower to around 1.34v. Thats normal. But a stock CPU does what it is supposed todo.

So much misinformation on the internet on how the new Ryzens work. Their power states are brilliant. You dont need manual overclocking as well. Just ramp up a cooler thats sufficient to keep the CPU under 60 degrees and trust me, youll have constant boost states when having the PPT limits and such extended.

My 2700x hangs all the time on 4150Ghz all core boost, 4.35GHz single core. Its because i undervolted a slight bit (too much undervolt will HURT performance, not make it unstable) and cooled with a 360mm rad including 6 fans and a 100% working waterpump.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,649 (0.60/day)
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabertooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
Hehe, with this launch it seems AMD decided that since they weren't going to fall as far from the hype as usually (apart from the frequencies, of course), to just leave beta testing to the general population and somehow they are mostly getting away with it. I can't imagine if Intel did something similar - Internet would probably explode :D
Intel have been doing it since Conroe dude, just the changes have been such small steps that the issues each gen have brought have been small scale.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
This is on a 1.0.0.2 Bios and Windows 10 1809, (1809 cause, lol, creative drivers, and dpc)
What kind of sound card do you have?

On my end my X-Fi Titanium HD (in MSI B450 Tomahawk) with the latest driver (FRL_PCDRV_L11_3_00_2022) is working great without a fault on Windows 10 1903.
 

shmuck

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
26 (0.33/day)
Not impressed with the update. Overall CPU usage does not go above 2% (which classifies as idling in my books, irrespective of any spikes that are so quick they aren't reflected in task manager), yet the voltage stays at 1.4V+. What's worse, when I chose the Energy saving plan before this update, core voltage maxed out at 0.9V if I am not mistaken, now it sits at 1.4V with very light usage

dont know about you, but with the new chipset driver my ryzen balanced defauled to 95% minimum processor state, causing me to be stuck on 1.45v on idle.
just setting it to 5% there lets me idle at 0.93v, dropping idle temps by 6c
In my case it was 99%. However, changing it to 5% does not seem to have any effect whatsoever.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
3,703 (0.69/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3733MHz 16-19-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Not impressed with the update. Overall CPU usage does not go above 2% (which classifies as idling in my books, irrespective of any spikes that are so quick they aren't reflected in task manager), yet the voltage stays at 1.4V+. What's worse, when I chose the Energy saving plan before this update, core voltage maxed out at 0.9V if I am not mistaken, now it sits at 1.4V with very light usage


In my case it was 99%. However, changing it to 5% does not seem to have any effect whatsoever.
It might help you let us know what hardware you have. It seems AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB helps.
 

shmuck

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
26 (0.33/day)
B450 Tomahawk with 3700X. 7C02v1A BIOS and 1.07.29.0115 chipset driver.

The slider made no difference either.
 
Top