• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New BIOS, but still TOO MANY NANOSECONDS

Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#1
MSI techs sent me a new BIOS to try on my 890FXA-GD65, but I still cannot get my G.Skill RipjawXs running on the 1866 divider with my FX-4100.

The RAM is rated 2133 CL9 (2x4GB). G.Skill techs blame the CPU.

I have tried loosening timings, raising DRAM voltage, raising CPU-NB and voltage, ect.

I can get the RAM to run at 1800 CL8 stable using the 1600 divider and 225 reference clock.

I cannot keep this board stable with any reasonable HT reference clock, always unstable before I can hit 230.

Even still, I can't boot up using the 1866 divider at all.

So, here I am, asking for suggestions.

Maybe it is a certain RAM timing that I am overlooking? I'm not so familiar with the secondary and tertiary timings/drive strengths. I basically tried both the SPD and XMP timings, and also loosened the SPD timings without any luck.

I have noticed that since installing the FX chip that the motherboard chipset northbridge feels much hotter to the touch, although I don't see any high temperatures in HW Monitor, AMD Overdrive, ect.

Right now my OC is 100% stable and cool, but you know how it is, you got to push the envelope, especially when one component not quite running at spec.

CPU 4500mhz (225x20) 1.46v
CPU-NB 2700mhz (x12 and that is the multiplier cap) 1.27v
HT Link 2700mhz (tried lowering this to AM3 spec, but didn't help)
DRAM 1800mhz (225x800) 1.65V with timings shown below:



If no suggestions work, then next week I'm going back to a motherboard brand that I trust, probably the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#2
On this board (like mine?) to be able to run ram at 1800+ you'll have to use slot 3&4 ;)
See the manual on ram chapter it is writing

Be sure to adjust the ram voltage manually to what your ram voltage rated for
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#3
My mobo manual said to use 1&3, but I'll try 2&4.. (My slots are laid out staggered as such). Oh I sure hope it is as simple as this. It's rated to 1.65v and I've tried as high as 1.8v (with G.Skill techs advice).
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#4
My mobo manual said to use 1&3, but I'll try 2&4.. (My slots are laid out staggered as such). Oh I sure hope it is as simple as this.
There is no more 1&3 or 2&4 for dual channel ever since the 790 chipset on AM2 socket it is now 1&2 or 3&4 or all 4 of them

EDIT: Never mind i though it was a Gigabyte board but it's an a MSI one & looks like they made this differently

BTW: Your CPU-NB voltage is pretty low for 2700 i think you may have mistake that with the NB voltage?
& keep your HT-link to stock speed (auto)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.52/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
Is this board the one with the black cpu socket?If no then your tuff poop out of luck and why AMD said the AM3+ FX cpu specs were not compatible on AM3.Try updating the board to 990fx with the black AM3+ sockets.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#6
Is this board the one with the black cpu socket?If no then your tuff poop out of luck and why AMD said the AM3+ FX cpu specs were not compatible on AM3.Try updating the board to 990fx with the black AM3+ sockets.
Please don't tell me you actually buy into the black/white thing.

Let me guess, you also thought it was not pin compatible either? :laugh:

Regardless, even with my older AM3 chips this board just won't push a good reference clock or memory speed.




Your CPU-NB voltage is pretty low for 2700 i think you may have mistake that with the NB voltage?
& keep your HT-link to stock speed (auto)
I tried up to 1.5V on the CPU/NB (stock is 1.25v).

HT Link is 2600mhz stock for the FX-4100 (weird huh). Tried lowering to 2000MHZ like on AM3, but it made no difference so I raised it back up.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.52/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#7
Please don't tell me you actually buy into the black/white thing.

Let me guess, you also thought it was not pin compatible either? :laugh:

Regardless, even with my older AM3 chips this board just won't push a good reference clock or memory speed.

Ah yeah seeing how your complaining that you can not run 2133 on an old board.Hell AMD did say that they will run in a crippled form ....so you should update.Or just live what the 890 chipset give (IE 1800mhz mem speed)
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#8
Please don't tell me you actually buy into the black/white thing.

Let me guess, you also thought it was not pin compatible either? :laugh:

Regardless, even with my older AM3 chips this board just won't push a good reference clock or memory speed.

Yeah! never liked MSi boards when it's comes to overclock had the experience once & never again ill stick with what is good Asus or Gigabyte FTW! :rockout::D
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#9
Ah yeah seeing how your complaining that you can not run 2133 on an old board.Hell AMD did say that they will run in a crippled form ....so you should update.Or just live what the 890 chipset give (IE 1800mhz mem speed)
I'm not complaining. I'm asking for suggestions before I get a 990FX board (last resort). Try reading the original post. If you have no tweaking suggestions, then go troll somewhere else.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#10
I tried up to 1.5V on the CPU/NB (stock is 1.25v).

HT Link is 2600mhz stock for the FX-4100 (weird huh). Tried lowering to 2000MHZ like on AM3, but it made no difference so I raised it back up.[/COLOR]
Ok maybe because it's an FX but if i remember correctly my CPU-NB for my PII is 1.3v stock?

Anyhow if you really want to know if you can run your Ram higher than 1800 just put everything back at stock speed & overclock your ram "only"... & keep your timing to auto
 
Last edited: