1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New build for moderate and multiple different uses, need advise please

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by tigasport, May 29, 2014.

  1. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Good to know. Norton didn't cause any issues while downloading. Maybe I can try it again later.
     
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,811 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    USA
    I think that VGA will take a DVI to VGA adapter. The lower port in the photo looks like a multiuse port. According to B&H:
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1035748-REG/gigabyte_gv_n75toc_2gi_gtx_750_ti_graphic.html

    The SSD should have OS and the HDD for storage, you will still have a fast boot. I'd recommend installing the OS with only the SSD connected, connect the HDD after first boot. Makes the process simpler.

    Are you planning on running a performance cpu cooling fan or the stock intel one?

    Here are some ideas, they all perform fairly similar despite prices:

    Noctua NH-U12S (PROS: build quality, mounting system, good fan CONS: expensive, only one fan)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835608040
    CM 212 Evo (PROS: price CONS: junky fan, mounting system wiggles)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103099
    Phanteks PHTC12DX: (PROS: build quality, mounting system, two fans, color choices, CONS: fans are good but could be better)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835709019
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014
    tigasport says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I do have the fan. Here is a list of the parts: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/tigasport/saved/KNc48d I got everything in except the case. Sometime next week it will be here.

    IMG_3618.JPG
     
    Vario says thanks.
  4. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,811 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    USA
    If you feel up to it you could do a test run of it on a table top, put the motherboard on top of it's box. Just watch for static and don't test it on a rug or anything like that.
     
    tigasport says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Interesting idea, never thought to do that. The case will be in on Tuesday, so I will patiently wait:banghead:
     
  6. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    519 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    278
    Location:
    UK
    The method @Vario was suggesting doesn't require the case to test the components. This may be a good idea to test for any problems before the case comes, so that you don't have to wait so long for RMA replacements. But then the case is coming tomorrow, so perhaps not that useful. But if you're itching to go, you could test today.

    Layton
     
    tigasport says thanks.
  7. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I should have listen to you. I and two others (they have built many systems) put the system together last night. It doesn't work. No bios and no screen. The system turns on for about 30 seconds then turns off. Around 10 seconds later it turns back on again for about 30 seconds then turns off. On and on the same cycle. We isolated the system to just the mother board, cpu, ram, psu, and video card. Same problem of turning off and on. Removed the video card still same problem. I have two sticks of ram 8 gigs each. Remove one and same problem. Swap with the other ram, still same problem. I went to best buy and swapped the psu with other, still same problem, turns on for about 30 seconds, turns off for about 10 seconds and on and on. With a different psu still no bios or screen. I think the mother board is the problem. What is your thoughts anyone? Again here are basic parts:

    CPU: Intel E3-1241 v3 3.5GHz 8MB L3 Cache 80W Quad-Core Server Processor BX80646E31241V3
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117315>

    Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-H97-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128712>

    Video card: GIGABYTE GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card

    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125502>

    Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CML16GX3M2A1600C10

    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233280>

    Power supply: SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold ((SS-650KM Active PFC F3)) 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready

    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151088>
     
  8. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    519 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    278
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tried reseating the CPU and reattaching the CPU cooler. It sounds like it may be an issue where the CPU perhaps is overheating on startup for some reason, probably because the CM Hyper 212 is not properly attached. Be warned - if you do this, you'll probably need to apply new thermal paste, which would involve cleaning the CPU and CPU cooler base with rubbing alcohol (isopropyl alcohol), before applying thermal paste. What kind of method did you use to apply the thermal paste? Perhaps you used too much, or it didn't spread properly.

    EDIT: I think what should've been done is that the build was tested on top of the motherboard cardboard box with the Intel Stock cooler (that is way easier to install and uninstall from the mobo) and the other main components (GPU, PSU) etc. Then the CPU top cleaned with rubbing alcohol, and then installing the system in the case, and attaching the CM Hyper 212 at that point, assuming everything was working when it was tested.

    Layton
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2014
  9. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I might just dump the motherboard and go for another brand like MSI or Asus. The socket has to be a 1150. I also need the option for possible 2 video cards since I runs 3 different monitors in different locations in my business/ home. (I will show customers videos in a different rooms). Needs to run my sound card, got to blow the hair back once in a while. Needs to fit in a mid tower. Needs the ability to run up to 32gigs of ram, but only using 16gigs at the moment. It will need to be compatible with all the parts below. Extreme reliability is a must and a work horse for 12+ hours a day. What motherboard for this system would anyone recommend?

    CPU: Intel E3-1241 v3 3.5GHz 8MB L3 Cache 80W Quad-Core Server Processor BX80646E31241V3
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117315>

    May just dump this Motherboard since this is most likely the problem I'm currently having: GIGABYTE GA-H97-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128712>

    Video card: GIGABYTE GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125502>

    Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CML16GX3M2A1600C10
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233280>

    Power supply: SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold ((SS-650KM Active PFC F3)) 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151088>

    CPU fan: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103099>

    Hard drive for operating system: SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD256BW 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147193>

    Computer case: Corsair Vengeance Series C70 Gunmetal Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139013>

    Sound card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Zx soundcard
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-na-_-na&cm_sp=&AID=10446076&PID=3938566&SID=>

    Optical drive 1 Blu-ray: ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135247>

    Optical drive 2 ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM
    <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204>

    Operating system: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit - OEM - OEM
     
  10. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    We did go back and reinstall the cpu. It was in correct. Method was a drop of thermal paste which did cover the cpu properly or so appeared to. Do your really think the cpu could overheat that fast? So fast that I can't get a screen or bios?

    Another update. I did take the cpu back out, clean it and reinstall it. I used a drop method of thermal paste. I notice that the guys who installed it had the cooler fan mount on slightly off to one side more than another. I currently have the cooler fan mounted perfectly center now. I did a test run and it still has the same problem. I can describe the situation better. Fans run for about 3 seconds, then power supply is turned off about 15 seconds later. After that, 5 seconds later the command is sent to turn power on again and the fans run for 3 seconds, then 15 seconds later all power is off. Then 5 seconds later power is on again and the same cycle over and over.
     
  11. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    GMT +2
    disconnect all front panel cables and connect only power button. (be very careful to connect it to correct pins).
    check if ram is installed properly (look at youtube for videos).
    it sounds more like assembly problem rather then fault part
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
    LaytonJnr says thanks.
  12. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    519 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    278
    Location:
    UK
    ^ +1 - Feel free to report back your findings.

    Layton
     
  13. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    So here is the problem. Either the motherboard is bad or the processor. I'm not going to throw money at it to figure out which it is. When I placed the 2 sticks of ram in the correct place (both in the 2 grey slots as the instructions in the manual say to do), the computer would not boot. I tried them in the black slot, same problem. After many different attempts if I run just one stick of memory the computer will boot. If I run both sticks of memory then I have to place one in the grey slot and one in the black slot which contradicts the manual by Gigabyte. 4 slots total 2 black and 2 grey. Only the first two slot will work at all, one black and one grey the back two slot will not work at all. According to Gigabytes website, the motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128712 and the processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117315 are suppose to be compatible. Why the ram slot are not working properly would either be a bad processor (highly unlikely), bad motherboard (maybe) or a compatibility issue with the motherboard and processor which Gigabyte didn't do their research and list that problem (most likely).

    I dumping the motherboard, processor and ram and changing them out for different ones. This time I'm going with an Asus motherboard as I have one in my current computer that has lasted 5 years now, so I will choose an Asus again. Here is the new build: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/tigasport/saved/KNc48d

    The Asus Z79-A has all the ports on the back that I'm looking for. I read the bios is very user friendly. Price point was fantastic considering what the board offers. I can also run SLI if I need too. 3 different monitors in 3 different locations in the business (all in 2 rooms connected)

    After doing a lot of research on the motherboard, I most likely could have skipped using a video card and sound card. I was not aware that motherboards had so many features to them. I'm use to buying the video card and sound card separate. Considering my first choice of processor was a extremely reliable server style processor which doesn't support all the features on the motherboard, then a separate video card and sound card makes sense.
     
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    GMT +2
    something is wrong with bios settings.
    add one ram stick and enter bios. load optimized defaults turn it off and add 2nd ram stick. if it still doesnt boot removes 2nd stick and go to memory settings (page 40 of mb manual found in mb box or http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_ga-z97(h97)-d3h_e.pdf).
    use profile 1 under xmp profiles
    leave everything else as it is. try add 2nd stick if still doesnt work try with xmp profile 2.
    if still no chnage check what bios version has your mb if it is f3 go to http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4962#bios download F4 bios and use q-flash to update bios (you will need tumb stick formated on fat16 or fat32)
    try again with optimized defaults and xmp profiles.
    your problems could be cause you ram isnt officialy supported by your mb. it is very very unlikely but yet you could be vicitim of those very rare cases of incompability between ram and mb.
    try to change ram first (suppoted memory list) and after that dump mb or cpu
     
    tigasport says thanks.
  15. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I did adjust ram settings in bios as well as many other options I tried, so many different things I tried that it would take forever to type all of it up in this reply. The bios has an auto feature that is suppose to automatically recognize the ram. It did recognize it, but only in the wrong slots. Hopefully NewEgg will take back the motherboard, processor and ram as I bought different types this time. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/dxZGnQ
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  16. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,826
    Location:
    GMT +2
    strange situation
    last time i had compability issuess with ram was on very old gigabyte mb when i was trying to run 3gb ram in dual channel. nither ram nor ram configuration was supported by mb but still it managed to recognize and run ram in dual channel and i even got some minor oc on ram&cpu.
    anyway gz for new parts
     
  17. tigasport New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    There is so many different types of ram out their. I'm sure several that are not listed are still supported or will still work. There may even be kickbacks for motherboard companies to list other ram companies.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)