• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New computer turns itself on.

BCobbPIKE

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX6000CZBOX
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
Memory OCZ Vista Upgrade 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA e-GeForce 9600 GT Superclocked Part Number: 512-P3-N862-AR
Display(s) LG Flatron W1952TQ
Case Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-US-BA-WOPSU Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 650W ATX12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply
Software Windows XP Professional SP3
#1
Not sure where to put this thread but here it goes... I recently built my first computer. I say recent, but more like a year and a half ago. And within the last month or so its decided to turn itself on. Im not too sure if its a hardware or software issue. Ill come in and it will be on, or if i come in and bump the table or move the mouse it will turn on. Im not the most computer savvy person when it comes to troubleshooting, so i dont know where to begin. Any help is greatly appreciated.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,377 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,788
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Sounds like the computer is in sleep mode.

If you go into Device Manager you should be able to tell a device like a mouse not allow to wake the computer.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,404 (0.60/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Also check that in Bios there is not activated "wake on mouse" "wake on keyboard"..
 

BCobbPIKE

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX6000CZBOX
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
Memory OCZ Vista Upgrade 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA e-GeForce 9600 GT Superclocked Part Number: 512-P3-N862-AR
Display(s) LG Flatron W1952TQ
Case Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-US-BA-WOPSU Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 650W ATX12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply
Software Windows XP Professional SP3
#4
Thanks Ill try those
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#5
Could also be "Wake up on LAN". Might be a faulty power switch too.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14

BCobbPIKE

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX6000CZBOX
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
Memory OCZ Vista Upgrade 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA e-GeForce 9600 GT Superclocked Part Number: 512-P3-N862-AR
Display(s) LG Flatron W1952TQ
Case Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-US-BA-WOPSU Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 650W ATX12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply
Software Windows XP Professional SP3
#7
So I tried changing the power settings in the device manager and I also checked the BIOS and all of the wake up options are disabled. How would i check if its a faulty power switch??
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#8
I built a system for a friend about 2 months ago that had this problem. He brought it to me and in the bios it's power option was set to S1+S3. Changed it to S3 and at my house the problem went away, stayed off for 2hrs. He took it home and called me to say it was doing it again within 15min after shutting it off. I gave him my Asus M3A32 board and no problems since so it could be a issue with your board if all of your power savings options in Windows look normal and your power options in the bios are set correctly.
 

Boyfriend

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
160 (0.05/day)
Likes
34
System Name Black Star
Processor Core2Duo E7200 @ 2.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5K-VM (G33)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 + 3 120 mm Fans
Memory Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4DHX , 4,4,4,12,2T, 2x1 GB
Video Card(s) MSI NX8500GT TD256E
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB + Maxtor 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX1940w 19"
Case Vento ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (On-Board)
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme 460 W
Software Windows 7 RTM 32-Bit + KIS 2011 CF2 (ab)
#9
It might be due to some nano robot, which turn it on as soon as it feels you are around.