1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Crysis WARHEAD Benchmark Tool BETA

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by FelipeV, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Hello !!

    I've created a small utility to assist on benchmarking Crysis Warhead, much like Crysis Benchmarking tool.

    Frontend screenshot
    [​IMG]

    Requirements

    Windows XP/Vista
    Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0
    Crysis WARHEAD (not included)

    ======================
    FBWH Tool 0.31 Installer (Update 10/13/2008 12:05 GMT -0300)
    http://www.framebuffer.com.br/index....&file=FBWH.rar
    http://cid-0459fc515f4928b3.skydrive...ublic/FBWH.rar

    ======================
    TODO

    ======================
    CHANGELOG

    0.31 - 10/10/2008
    Fixed can't change game instalation path issue
    Added pause/resume between benchmark runs
    Added system extra information for ranked benchmarks (GPU clocks, Motherboard manufacturer/model, etc.)
    Added experimental ranked benchmark submission. Please note that the database will be cleared after the open test period ending at end of october.

    0.30 - 01/10/2008
    Fixed translation of button Save cvars in version en-US (Thank you 003 for reporting it)
    Internal build for online ranked benchmark tests.

    0.29 - 30/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.28 - 28/09/2008
    Bug fix
    - FSAA = True is not a valid console command, fixed to use FSAA = 1 when using AA. Thanks wolf2009 for reporting it.

    0.27 - 27/09/2008
    Now compiled with .NET Framework 2.0
    Cosmetic bug fixes
    Display resolution now shows only available resolutions from display driver.

    0.26 - 26/09/2008
    Internal build

    0.25 - 26/09/2008
    Added additional logic to disallow execution when user don't have write access to game's folders. The program cannot run if it can't create the custom config file to run the benchmark and save the benchmark return log.
    Portugal (pt-PT) Windows localization now shows pt-BR localization

    0.24 - 25/09/2008
    Bug fix
    - Program won't start if using Windows versions different than english/brazilian portuguese

    0.23 - 25/09/2008
    New AA 8xQ, AA 16x and AA 16xQ added for NVIDIA GFX cards.

    0.22 - 25/09/2008
    Bug fixes
    - CUSTOM options as reported by HalJordanGL2814
    - NVIDIA driver version string causing startup error (sorry!)

    0.21 - 25/09/2008
    New layout with new options
    Added v-sync and windows mode test options
    Added update check button (globe icon on bottom of screen)

    0.20 - 24/09/2008
    STEAM fix.
    0.19 - 24/09/2008
    Added missing sys_spec_GameEffects and sys_spec_MotionBlur on CUSTOM configuration dialog (Thanks again HalJordanGL2814)

    0.18 - 24/09/2008
    Added option to save and load benchmark queues
    Added option to load custom cvars text file

    0.17 - 23/09/2008
    STEAM fix.

    0.16 - 23/09/2008
    Added support for STEAM. Thanks to HalJordanGL2814 from adrenaline forum for testing and feedback.
    Added experimental system information and results submission to ranked server (not working yet on this build)
    Added option to save text results after benchmarking

    0.15 - 22/09/2008
    Added support to WH internal flythrough timedemos

    0.14 - 22/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.13 - 22/09/2008
    Line breaks inserted in tool generated base64 string for ranked benchmarks, so posting the code will not break forum's screen layout.

    0.12 - 22/09/2008
    In ranked mode benchmarks is not allowed to change Time of day, Loops and use custom cvars. CUSTOM mode is not allowed too.

    0.11 - 22/09/2008
    Bug fixes
    Ranked mode not used by default.

    0.10 - 22/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.09 - 22/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes
    Added Time of day to change timedemo execution time of day
    Added Ranked benchmark feature. The tool will generate a base64 string with the results and configuration used, along with a MD5 hash which I can use to see if the benchmark was ran with no modified configuration files. Any modification to any of CVarGroups\*.cfg files will invalidate results. This option is not need to run the benchmark, it will be used on another Brazilian forum to maintain a ranked benchmark database.

    0.08 - 21/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes
    Added 25x14 and 25x16 resolutions (16:9 and 16:10 XHD)

    0.07 - 21/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.06 - 21/09/2008
    Added CUSTOM config mode
    Added feature to run DX9 and DX10 with different modes in same queue

    0.05 - 19/09/2008
    Added feature to run several tests
    Added Installer/Uninstaller

    0.04 - 19/09/2008
    2 new timedemos
    English translation
    PERFORMANCE and MAINSTREAM modes included
    Custom cvars support

    0.01 - 19/09/2008
    Initial release with 1 timedemo at ambush map
    ======================

    The tool have support for 3 custom timedemos record at avalanche, ambush and frost maps.

    The benchmark tool contains 3 timedemos named framebuffer.tmd that will be saved on folders Game\Levels\ambush, Game\Levels\avalanche and Game\Levels\frost

    None of your Crysis Warhead files will be changed or removed, just the 3 timedemos will be saved on the folders above.

    Have fun benchmarking your new game

    PS: Thats not my work, I´m just helping a friend.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
    EastCoasthandle, DrPepper and erocker say thanks.
  2. wolf2009 Guest

    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I hope they find a fix for the steam versions. I know that's how a LOT of people got their copy.
     
  4. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,786 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    577
    Don't these Crysis bench tools only require like the island map(GPU bench) folder, and a few other smaller files and executables in order to run?

    ...meaning, that a whole package could be uploaded?
     
  5. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    update to 0.15 version.

    No steam version yet :(
     
  6. Mr.John

    Mr.John

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
  7. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    //////////// Summary \\\\\\\\\\\\\

    09/23/2008 22:16:11 - Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium 32-bit Service Pack 1

    DirectX 10 ENTHUSIAST 1X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1920 x 1200 AA 4x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 6.08 Max: 43.52 Avg: 27.36 ]

    DirectX 9.0c ENTHUSIAST 1X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1920 x 1200 AA 4x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 0.00 Max: 0.00 Avg: 0.00 ]

    DirectX 9.0c ENTHUSIAST 1X @ Map: avalanche @ 0 1920 x 1200 AA 4x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 0.87 Max: 31.95 Avg: 15.88 ]

    DirectX 10 ENTHUSIAST 1X @ Map: avalanche @ 0 1920 x 1200 AA 4x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 8.76 Max: 52.38 Avg: 33.50 ]



    Huh?
     
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Yeah, it still has a few bugs to iron out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    No.... dude i tested it again twice. The zeros are because it skipped a test on accident. I did another, ran it twice, and watched it closely....

    DirectX 9.0c ENTHUSIAST 2X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1920 x 1200 AA 8x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 0.00 Max: 26.89 Avg: 8.50 ]

    DirectX 10 ENTHUSIAST 2X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1920 x 1200 AA 8x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 1.87 Max: 39.98 Avg: 27.45 ]

    wat?...... WHAT!?!?!

    (Star Wars) Noo... this cant be true.... ITS IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!

    (300) This is blasphemy!!!! THIS IS MADNESS!!!

    (guess) KHHAAAAAANNNNNN!!!!!

    Some with crossfire PLEASE TEST THIIISSSS!!!!! DX10>DX9!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
     
  10. Mr.John

    Mr.John

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Hmmm, maybe you're running out of memory or video card framebuffer is exausted, 1920x1200 AA4x @ ENTHUSIAST seems to be very resource hog, my HD 4870 512 MB runs frame-by-frame if I set that graphics detail level.

    By the way, new build is available.

    Here's the info:

    Hello !!

    I've created a small utility to assist on benchmarking Crysis Warhead, much like Crysis Benchmarking tool.

    Frontend screenshot
    [​IMG]

    Requirements

    Windows XP/Vista
    Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 (DOWNLOAD HERE)
    Crysis WARHEAD (not included) :eek::D

    ======================
    KNOWN ISSUES

    - Steam version is not 100% yet, please report bugs.

    ======================
    TODO

    ======================
    CHANGELOG

    0.17 - 23/09/2008
    STEAM fix.

    0.16 - 23/09/2008
    Added support for STEAM. Thanks to HalJordanGL2814 from adrenaline forum for testing and feedback.
    Added experimental system information and results submission to ranked server (not working yet on this build)
    Added option to save text results after benchmarking

    0.15 - 22/09/2008
    Added support to WH internal flythrough timedemos

    0.14 - 22/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.13 - 22/09/2008
    Line breaks inserted in tool generated base64 string for ranked benchmarks, so posting the code will not break forum's screen layout.

    0.12 - 22/09/2008
    In ranked mode benchmarks is not allowed to change Time of day, Loops and use custom cvars. CUSTOM mode is not allowed too.

    0.11 - 22/09/2008
    Bug fixes
    Ranked mode not used by default.

    0.10 - 22/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.09 - 22/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes
    Added Time of day to change timedemo execution time of day
    Added Ranked benchmark feature. The tool will generate a base64 string with the results and configuration used, along with a MD5 hash which I can use to see if the benchmark was ran with no modified configuration files. Any modification to any of CVarGroups\*.cfg files will invalidate results. This option is not need to run the benchmark, it will be used on another Brazilian forum to maintain a ranked benchmark database.

    0.08 - 21/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes
    Added 25x14 and 25x16 resolutions (16:9 and 16:10 XHD)

    0.07 - 21/09/2008
    Minor bug fixes

    0.06 - 21/09/2008
    Added CUSTOM config mode
    Added feature to run DX9 and DX10 with different modes in same queue

    0.05 - 19/09/2008
    Added feature to run several tests
    Added Installer/Uninstaller

    0.04 - 19/09/2008
    2 new timedemos
    English translation
    PERFORMANCE and MAINSTREAM modes included
    Custom cvars support

    0.01 - 19/09/2008
    Initial release with 1 timedemo at ambush map
    ======================

    The tool have support for 3 custom timedemos record at avalanche, ambush and frost maps. Since build 0.15 added support for Warhead internal flythrough timedemos.

    Download links

    FBWH Tool 0.17 Installer (Update 09/23/2008 23:45 GMT -0300)
    http://www.framebuffer.com.br/index.php?ind=downloads&op=download_file&ide=4&file=FBWH.rar
    http://cid-0459fc515f4928b3.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/FBWH.rar

    The benchmark tool contains 3 timedemos named framebuffer.tmd that will be saved on folders Game\Levels\ambush, Game\Levels\avalanche and Game\Levels\frost.

    Note: None of your Crysis Warhead files will be changed or removed, just the 3 timedemos will be saved on the folders above.

    Have fun benchmarking your new game :D
     
  11. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Dont think so, upgraded to 4gigs a few days ago...
     
  12. Mr.John

    Mr.John

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Maybe it's the 512 MB framebuffer? For 1920x1200 with FSAA at Enthusiast level 512 MB should not be enough. Hope I'm wrong.
     
  13. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    From my experience the limited 512MB memory has not held back the 48xx series in any bench besides 30 inch displays or higher.

    Least on review sites anyway. I browse for them alot.
     
  14. wolf2009 Guest

    no something is wrong with you .

    HD4850 + HD4870

    DirectX 10 ENTHUSIAST 3X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1280 x 1024 AA 4x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 17.66 Max: 43.92 Avg: 31.91 ]

    DirectX 10 ENTHUSIAST 3X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1280 x 1024 AA 2x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 16.90 Max: 44.99 Avg: 31.88 ]

    DirectX 10 ENTHUSIAST 3X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1280 x 1024 AA 0x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 19.44 Max: 50.90 Avg: 33.82 ]

    HD4850+HD4870

    DirectX 9.0c ENTHUSIAST 3X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1280 x 1024 AA 4x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 16.18 Max: 46.73 Avg: 32.33 ]


    DirectX 9.0c ENTHUSIAST 3X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1280 x 1024 AA 2x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 18.85 Max: 48.61 Avg: 33.46 ]

    DirectX 9.0c ENTHUSIAST 3X @ Map: ambush @ 0 1280 x 1024 AA 0x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 19.88 Max: 55.76 Avg: 38.00 ]


    Then again I'm running at 1280x1024. But still DX10<DX9
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Can you force a higher res and higher AA?
     
  16. wolf2009 Guest

    no go on res, but higher AA can be done . my max is 1280x1024 .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yea I tried to force too, but it wouldnt work. Its odd my system would do this. I get normal comparable FPS on other games and apps.
     
  18. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Can you run the test at 1920x1080 ? I have a 4870X2 but my 22" cant reach that high resolution.

    Did you noticed if your hard drive is not working to much ?

    How much free memory you have ? 32bits system with your configuration you probably have only 3GB available.

    Last night I was trying Adapt or Perich, fighting the big alien at 1920x1080 8xAA and my FPS was going from 20 to 35, but the amount of memory used is huge, close to 2GB.


    Japa, desculpa demorar pra atualizar o post, ontem tava em festa la em casa, meu irmao vai ser papai :toast:
     
  19. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    It's nice to see the dx10 version running better. I hadn't paid much attention to that for a while. Wasn't the game running nearly twice as good on xp as it did on vista at one point?
     
  20. Mr.John

    Mr.John

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No problem.

    Congrats, uncle Felipe ;)
     
  21. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Here at DX10 first.

    First test was running uder Vista 32 bits, only 3GB of memory available, the second run is under Vista 64, 6GB of memory.

    During your teste, you having a huge slowdowon when the mines explode ?



    Now about DX9 could be that you need more memory and apears that DX9 has a problem with minimum FPS, DX10 is running with much more stable fps.

    This tests are under Vista 64.

    DirectX 10 GAMER 3X @ Map: airfield flythrough @ 8 1680 x 1050 AA 8x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 24.17 Max: 55.52 Avg: 38.37 ]

    DirectX 9.0c GAMER 3X @ Map: airfield flythrough @ 8 1680 x 1050 AA 8x
    ==> Framerate [ Min: 10.82 Max: 65.13 Avg: 44.82 ]
     
  22. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yea seriously, on high settings for directx9, it almost just stops. It will be smooth for a little bit then just stop.
     
  23. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    how come it says I have to install net framework 1.1 when I have 2.0 installed?
     
  24. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Updated to 0.21

    0.21 - 25/09/2008
    New layout with new options
    Added v-sync and windows mode test options
    Added update check button (globe icon on bottom of screen)
     
  25. wolf2009 Guest

    How do I get my own recorded demos to play ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)