• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New desktop won’t always turn on

KcBoomer

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
I’m building a gaming computer for a friend of mine and everything is all said and done. The first time I plugged it in, nothing happened. I spent about 20 minutes double checking the wiring and nothing seemed out of the ordinary. Checked some videos for help and tried one that suggested holding down the power button to drain the computer of any residual electricity and it worked right away. I came back later (after unplugging it) and the same thing occurred but this time it took several tries of clearing residual and electricity to eventually turn on. I tried it again (unplugging then replugging) to see if it happened again and it did. Oddly once it turns on so long as it stays plugged in I can reset it as much as I want with no problems, it’s just actually unplugging it and plugging it back in that kills it. Really hoping it’s not a power supply issue. Any suggestions? I don’t want my friend to have a flaky new system.
Specs: 10700k
Gigabyte RTX 3080
16GB trident z royal 3600MHz
1TB Crucial P2
Cooler master 750W MWE Gold

To clarify I don’t mean it won’t boot, it doesn’t turn on at all. No LEDs or anything
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,423 (1.57/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Yeah, that holding the button in trick is nonsense. It used to be true way way back with AT power supplies when that front panel power button was connected directly to the power supply via a long wiring harness. But today's ATX power supplies don't work that way. Sadly, the suggestion to hold it in has stuck around but really, all it really does is make your finger tired.

You do need to swap PSUs to verify that one is good - or bad.

You should probably take everything out of the case and assemble it on a large bread/cutting board. Also note that cases are designed to support 1000s of different motherboards. So, it is common for cases to have more motherboard mounting points than boards have mounting holes. And while the ATX Form Factor standard dictates where motherboard mounting holes “can” be on motherboards, it does not dictate where they “will” be. So, one board may have a mounting hole in a specific place while another may not.

A common mistake by the less experienced and distracted pros alike is to insert one or more extra standoff in the case under the motherboard. Any extra standoff creates the potential for an electrical “short” in one or more circuits. The results range from "nothing" (everything works perfectly) to odd "intermittent” problems to "nothing" (as in nothing works at all :(). So, if you assemble everything outside the case, use that opportunity to verify you only inserted a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole.
 
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
309 (0.12/day)
System Name serenity now/Faithul Eight
Processor Amd 2400g/Amd 3800x
Motherboard Asrock ab350m Pro 4/Asrock x570 Taichi
Cooling CM Masterair G100M/Wraith
Memory G.skill 2x4gb 3200/2x16 gb 3600 G.skill
Video Card(s) igpu vega 11/3070 oc Palit
Storage Apacer pcie ssd 240 gb/Adata 512gb nvme
Display(s) 50" LG 4k hdr
Case scratch build
Power Supply inter tech 650w 80+bronze/850 phantex pro
Software Ubuntu bionic beaver 18.04 lts/W10
Are You using extention cord? If so, try pluging psu cable directly to wall outlet plus check if it is all the way in on psu side after that to exclude wonky power on button scennario, disconect it from the mobo and try to short pwr + - pins with screwdriver to power Your pc on.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,682 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Stop unplugging it and plugging it back in, you might have dirty power from the wall socket that triggers the safety mechanisms of the PSU.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,776 (2.87/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Double check the front panel wiring. You may have a two prong connector oriented 90 degrees off

Hey bill if you hold a power button on a modern ATX board it will signal to cut the power to the board. Try it. Maybe that's not what you meant IDK
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,812 (1.95/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
the OP didnt mention a motherboard? This sounds like the old cold boot issues with Fast Startup in win10
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,423 (1.57/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Hey bill if you hold a power button on a modern ATX board it will signal to cut the power to the board.
You are right. That is exactly how it works.

But it is the momentary "pressing" of the power button that causes the contacts in the switch to meet (closing that circuit) that signals the PSU. Not the "holding down" of the button. That does nothing here. And that was what I was referring to.

The front panel Power and Reset button switches are tied to "momentary" circuits. That is, when you push the button, it shorts +5VDC through those two pins, which signals the PSU to power up (or down). And after that signal is sent, the circuit is ignored until the button is pressed again and another signal is received. That is, it does not keep trying to power up or power down.

And, there are no filter or storages capacitors or other devices anywhere in that circuit that can be (or need to be) "drained" of excess voltage. That was my point. That is, with ATX boards and PSUs, "holding down" the button does nothing, but tire out your finger.

There is an exception - kinda, sorta, but not really. In some BIOS Setup Menu, you can set the power button "action" so when you press and hold the power button down for ~4 seconds, it will force and instant shutdown - sometimes useful if the system is totally locked up. But that 4 second action is a "timing" action - it still has nothing to do with "draining" any residual voltages.

Again, years ago, with the AT Form Factor, PSUs used a wiring harness and a power button wired directly back to the PSU. Holding the button down was a common method to drain those big caps. And even today, with some notebooks, holding down the power button can have some results - but then today's notebooks do NOT use ATX compliant motherboards or PSUs so they don't count in this discussion.
 

KcBoomer

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Yeah, that holding the button in trick is nonsense. It used to be true way way back with AT power supplies when that front panel power button was connected directly to the power supply via a long wiring harness. But today's ATX power supplies don't work that way. Sadly, the suggestion to hold it in has stuck around but really, all it really does is make your finger tired.

You do need to swap PSUs to verify that one is good - or bad.

You should probably take everything out of the case and assemble it on a large bread/cutting board. Also note that cases are designed to support 1000s of different motherboards. So, it is common for cases to have more motherboard mounting points than boards have mounting holes. And while the ATX Form Factor standard dictates where motherboard mounting holes “can” be on motherboards, it does not dictate where they “will” be. So, one board may have a mounting hole in a specific place while another may not.

A common mistake by the less experienced and distracted pros alike is to insert one or more extra standoff in the case under the motherboard. Any extra standoff creates the potential for an electrical “short” in one or more circuits. The results range from "nothing" (everything works perfectly) to odd "intermittent” problems to "nothing" (as in nothing works at all :(). So, if you assemble everything outside the case, use that opportunity to verify you only inserted a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole.
That’s an excellent point I’ll do that tonight. I hadn’t even considered that it could be a false stand-off. Ya boy don’t have money to be spending on an additional power supply lol

Double check the front panel wiring. You may have a two prong connector oriented 90 degrees off

Hey bill if you hold a power button on a modern ATX board it will signal to cut the power to the board. Try it. Maybe that's not what you meant IDK
yeah I considered that. I did double check everything there. Oddly the HDD LED cable is missing from the case but I can’t imagine that would cause any issues. Other than that everything is wired correctly according to the manual. I’ll do a full resweep tonight and triple check it though.

the OP didnt mention a motherboard? This sounds like the old cold boot issues with Fast Startup in win10
Mobo is MSI Pro Z490 A. I don’t have windows installed yet. Can’t successfully boot to install it now lol
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,423 (1.57/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit

KcBoomer

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Beg/borrow from a friend or another computer.
Ok so update: I did what you said and took it out to check for false stand-offs. There were none but running it like a test bench on the motherboard box it booted up immediately twice. Spent about an hour and a half putting it all back together and boom - booted up immediately. Assumption is something wasn’t hooked in right. Set up windows and was going to install drivers when I noticed the pump wasn’t lighting up so my dumbass turns it off and adjusts the pump cable. Now it won’t turn back on. I’m genuinely at a loss. I’ve built probably 6-7 computers for myself and friends and have never encountered anything like this
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,682 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Are you using the correct type of RGB cables?
Putting 12V into 5V aRGB is going to cause damage.
 

KcBoomer

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Are you using the correct type of RGB cables?
Putting 12V into 5V aRGB is going to cause damage.
I’m using whatever came with the fans and plugging them into the fan hub. The fan hub used one of the JUSB ports (they are thermaltake). I’ve got 5 fans plugged into it. This shouldn’t be a problem since before I was using the fans that came with the Lancool 2 case. The pump header is ARGB but I’ve got it plugged into a switch that connects directly to SATA. I have 0 fan headers populated. The pump is also plugged into the AIO pump fan slot.

K I solved it. Goddamn outlet is a wash. I tested it with my computer which draws less power and it worked fine but upon trying other outlets everything is fine. If you don’t mind, I’ll be in the corner offing myself. Thank you all for your help, I appreciate it
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,423 (1.57/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Glad you got it sorted out and thanks for the followup.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
1,697 (4.02/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 & CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Hi,
Interesting term "wash" is it wet :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,423 (1.57/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
One of the lessor used definitions of wash is for something that is "worthless".
 
Top