• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New F@H Team Members Post Here First

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Ok I Downloaded F@H GPU2 Console Client, I filled in user name and team #, now it wants a passkey:confused: what is it?


...and I am assuming the dl for Vista will work on Win7 as well?
just hit "return" for the passkey. It's only necessary for the CPU clients. If you downloaded the vista client, it will work for Win7.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.29/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
I would love to get the card up and folding tonight... can anyone help?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.50/day)
Likes
1,322
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64
I would love to get the card up and folding tonight... can anyone help?
If you already entered you user name and team ID, click on ok. As Buck posted right before you, no passkey is required for gpu folding.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
Hey all, I'll be joining in the F@H for a bit. I'm not sure how long I'll be able to participate with massive numbers but I'll be sure to try getting in a few points here and there. I'll have a PS3 and my system spec rig going.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,221 (0.34/day)
Likes
870
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
Hey all, I'll be joining in the F@H for a bit. I'm not sure how long I'll be able to participate with massive numbers but I'll be sure to try getting in a few points here and there. I'll have a PS3 and my system spec rig going.
Welcome to the TPU folding team. Thanks for joining. :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
I'm confused, any tips on how to get the smp client to run properly?

Edit: All is well, I found one of buck nasty's guides and it worked out a lot better. I should learn to just follow those instead of thinking I can do it on my own lol.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
Hello all - I am rickss69 and have been posting in the forum for some time now. I have never taken the time before to understand what it is you people do exactly...it seems you are donating your time and hardware for good cause. I started to feel a little guilty when I realized just how much hardware I have available and it is not being used for anything but my own amusement.

I would like to start with one system to get a feel for it. I have listed in my system spec's the parts I would like to use to begin with. I am a semi-retired (retarded) HWBotter, so I have no problems overclocking anything in front of me lol. I guesstimate these parts to run about 4.4GHz with HT enabled 24/7. If anyone has any tips to get me started I will gladly welcome them concerning set-up such as SLI or not, importance of gpu's, OS preference, ect.

I'm sure I will need a mentor to get me going in this venture, so if there are any volunteer's shoot me a pm. :)

Thanks so much,
Rick
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
rickss69, Welcome. I'm not the best to help you out, but I do know some things to get you started. I think you have the potential (in your specs) for about 45k points per day (Folding).
OS? Windows 7 64 bit. If you have experience with Linux, you may want to check this out:http://en.fah-addict.net/news/news-0-176+cuda-dedicated-linux-distribution.php If this works, it would make no sense to use a VM, so I'm sure that if you wanted to be the trailblazer (sounds better than Guinea Pig), that your work would be much appreciated.
As for your CPU, find a stable overclock. (your specs calls this box Folding/BOINC build, but I'm going to assume you want to run Folding on it. It would make a good BOINC system (CPU) as well, but we sure could use another bigadv system for Folding) Folding will expose if your overclock is stable or not. Most seem to find their max overclock and then back off a bit. You'll want to run the bigadv units on a VM (Win7), and I have no experience with that so I'll let those who do help you with that.
As for those GTX280's, it does not matter if you sli them or not, just follow the instructions here. That link is pretty old and recommends using the system tray client, which we do not recommend, but we do recommend the console client. The instructions work for the console client as well. You normally don't need dummy plugs (or DVI to VGA dongles) with 2 GPU's, but they are needed for 3+ GPU clients.
As for monitoring, HFM.net seems to be the choice, especially with VM's.
Again, welcome. This from the guy who was hoping for some pie (top ten on the team) and you'll push me even further away.:cry: j/k

Update: Emails from Fixstars state that YDEL is only available for purchase ($400/year) or to collage students with an e-mail address at a school.
 
Last edited:

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Well said bluebumblebee!
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
is it better ppd to have 4 single core clients running on my i5 or run the smp client?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
it just goes so slow!!! i think it takes a good day to day and a half to finish off a wu w/ my gpu running full bore too
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Do you have the environmental settings set?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,221 (0.34/day)
Likes
870
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
it just goes so slow!!! i think it takes a good day to day and a half to finish off a wu w/ my gpu running full bore too
Make sure you are using the -smp 4 switch in your shortcut. Otherwise you won't be using all 4 cores. SMP is NOT fast unless you're running an i7 or i9 machine with hyperthreading, and have a stable overclock of around 4 GHz.

EDIT: Just noticed you have an ATI GPU. With the current client, your ATI card's PPD will not be anywhere near that of a similar Nvidia card. Hopefully a new client will be released soon. In the meantime, do as thebluebumblebee suggested and check out the sticky on folding with ATI cards. Pay close attention to the environmental variables. This will dramatically lower the GPU client's demands on your CPU, enabling you to get greater output from both the GPU console client and the SMP client.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
Each time I try to put an environmental setting in, the console tells me it's an invalid command. I've tried every possible combination of caps, spaces, underscores and numbers but to no avail. I'd be willing to do a remote connect with someone who would like to take the time to set this up so it works really well if they want. PM if you wana help a brotha out! :)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
oops, the environmental settings are in Computer=>Properties=>Advanced System Settings=>Environmental Variables for Win7.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
I never even had the faintest idea to check that, nor would I have known how. Might I suggest an update to that sticky?

Edit:

And should I change the user variables or the system variables?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
I never even had the faintest idea to check that, nor would I have known how. Might I suggest an update to that sticky?

Edit:

And should I change the user variables or the system variables?
I put them under user, but I don't know if it makes a difference.

I've already PM'd Buck about the sticky.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
hello :)

decided to start folding with my hdtv rig. I will eventually get it on my server and main rig - but for now at least it's a start. I used to run BoinC on them all , until memory errors and overheating made me stop. now I think i have the memory errors fixed and want to do something more important than SETi@home ;) though i love it....

the rig i want to run this on is my PII rig.. I want to squeeze every last drop of power out of it, including overclocking. It is a PII 940 @3ghz now, willing to overclock the heck out of it. also i have a 512mb 4870 in this machine, and would like to run on that as well... I could put a second in if it will scale to be worth it. Work pays for electricity so im not worried about that :)

I was looking to get rid of the 4870s soon here, would there be something more cost-efficient that could give similar power?

any advice? I know how to follow instructions and will read the recommended tuts - but I am more of a quick-start kinda guy and any concise info would be greatly appreciated....

thanks in advance!!
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
I put them under user, but I don't know if it makes a difference.

I've already PM'd Buck about the sticky.
I put them under system and it looks like it took about 5% load off my cpu when I run just the gpu version so that's good :)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
hello :)

decided to start folding with my hdtv rig. I will eventually get it on my server and main rig - but for now at least it's a start. I used to run BoinC on them all , until memory errors and overheating made me stop. now I think i have the memory errors fixed and want to do something more important than SETi@home ;) though i love it....

the rig i want to run this on is my PII rig.. I want to squeeze every last drop of power out of it, including overclocking. It is a PII 940 @3ghz now, willing to overclock the heck out of it. also i have a 512mb 4870 in this machine, and would like to run on that as well... I could put a second in if it will scale to be worth it. Work pays for electricity so im not worried about that :)

I was looking to get rid of the 4870s soon here, would there be something more cost-efficient that could give similar power?

any advice? I know how to follow instructions and will read the recommended tuts - but I am more of a quick-start kinda guy and any concise info would be greatly appreciated....

thanks in advance!!
First, digibucc, welcome!

For instructions for SMP (for Folding on the CPU) check here. Read through the thread as some info changed. Big keys: you will need a passkey, you will need a password for your user account on your computer, you will need to run it as an Administrator.

As for folding on the 4870's, check here. The information about environmental variables is being worked on as I type this. ATI cards are not that great for Folding when considering CPU overhead and points/watts.

As for replacing the 4870's, I'd recommend the 55nm GTX260/216. Or GTX285's:D

I'd recommend starting with the GPU Folding and once you get that figured out, move onto the CPU/SMP Folding.

Again, welcome.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
My SMP client seems to hang whenever it tries sending data in to F@H headquarters. It just kind of chills out after it's done but never sends the data in (it's sat for nearly 24 hours of not being touched and won't do anything)

Anyone have any suggestions?

Edit: What passkey should I be using? Because according to the SMP tutorial it was just left blank (unless he typed it in and it's just hidden) and could that be the reason why my stuff never gets sent in?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
My SMP client seems to hang whenever it tries sending data in to F@H headquarters. It just kind of chills out after it's done but never sends the data in (it's sat for nearly 24 hours of not being touched and won't do anything)

Anyone have any suggestions?

Edit: What passkey should I be using? Because according to the SMP tutorial it was just left blank (unless he typed it in and it's just hidden) and could that be the reason why my stuff never gets sent in?
Read this thread. You do need a passkey with the new SMP client.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
is there a proper way to shut down the f@h client? i normally just leave my pc on 24/7 so I let it run, but I turn it off when I want to game. When I turned my client back on it said that it had been shut down improperly 8 times. I just press the X button in the upper corner to close it b/c it's all I know how to do.

What should I be doing instead?