1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New GK208 GT630/GT640 Released

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by T4C Fantasy, May 29, 2013.

  1. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  2. Artas1984

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    309 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    GT630? Whatever.. LOL

    But i guess thanks is in order from all the people of TP.
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,209
    The little x8 guy looks so cute!
     
    Frick says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,798 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,631
    Indeed. Who makes it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    palit and gainward
     
  6. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,209
    That's kind of crappy, the GDDR5 card is 64-bit and the GDDR3 cards are 128-bit.:( Kind of defeats the purpose of using GDDR5 if you half the memory bus. If they release one with a 128-bit GDDR5 bus I'll buy it and validate it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    that's whats new in gk208, its 64bit only the gt630 gk208s are ddr3 64bit aswel
     
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,097 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,401
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    384 cuda core wut? that make me want one for my third build who is running with a GT405 LP XD

    [​IMG]
    its a GT2xx rebranded in GT4xx serie :roll:
     
  10. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    yea that would be a huge upgrade for you then :)
     
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,097 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,401
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    indeed plus the pricing is nice (i have to see if my local computer shop has that one)

    nope no luck oh well i will wait till they list it
     
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,798 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,631
    What short of performance hit are we talking about, going from 128 bit to 64 bit?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    to be sure its the right one, it has to be gddr5 and 64 bit, which no other kepler has and it must be 1046 core clock and 1252/5010 memory

    or if u find the gt630 with gk208 which is also 384cores it would be ddr3 64 bit and most likely pcie 2.0 x8
     
  14. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    I would recommend if anyone buys it, to take off the cooler and take a nice pic of the gk208 chip so I can add to db :) also measure die size aswel, NVidia and the manufacturers refuse to tel lme
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,209
    What about this? MSI N640GT-MD2GD3 GeForce GT 640 2GB 128-bit DDR3 ...

    Isn't that GK208 w/ 128-bit?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  16. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,209
    I got ya now, for some reason I though the original GT640 was still GF108 based like the GT630.

    In that case I can see it making sense to call the GK208 based GT640 a GT640 since spec wise it is almost identical and the 64-bit GDDR5 bus gives basically the same bandwidth as a 128-bit GDDR3.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  18. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    no one has validated this card yet.... really want to get some gpu chip shots and it validated
     
  19. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  20. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  21. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  22. Aviso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can I run on this Battlefield 4 on full?
     
  23. Mitche01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Link to build log with 3 GK208 GT630s

    Hi Guys, was doing my research before I built my 24/7 folding rig and noticed this thread.

    Well I know its cheeky to link to another forum but I thought it would be worth a read for those interested in the GK208 for folding

    Build Log @ OCN
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)