• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Hardware

Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
1,388 (0.42/day)
Likes
127
Location
Macon, Georgia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma Black Edition @ 3.2GHz 16x200
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler
Memory OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 & Corsair Dominator (2 x 1GB) DDR2 1250
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital 3.25 Inch SATA 320GB Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240HD Rose-Black 24" 5ms HDMI Widescreen HDTV Monitor
Case LIAN LI Lancool PC-K62 Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1200 8 Channel Audio
Power Supply Corsair 650HX ATX12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Proffesional
#1
Ok well.. Heres my situation... I'm recycling my hard drive and im building a new system.. I don't have a way to reinstall windows... and I know I don't 100% HAVE to do it... From when I get my hardware to playing L4D :D what do I need to do... Ive heard go into safe mode and clean drivers.. How do I do that... Help!!!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#2
you want to reinstall windows? pop-in the windows CD and put you ODD 1st in boot sequence :D
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
1,388 (0.42/day)
Likes
127
Location
Macon, Georgia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma Black Edition @ 3.2GHz 16x200
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler
Memory OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 & Corsair Dominator (2 x 1GB) DDR2 1250
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital 3.25 Inch SATA 320GB Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240HD Rose-Black 24" 5ms HDMI Widescreen HDTV Monitor
Case LIAN LI Lancool PC-K62 Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1200 8 Channel Audio
Power Supply Corsair 650HX ATX12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Proffesional
#3
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.02/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#4
You could try it with DriverCleaner, but I can't guarantee it will work correctly, plus uninstalling too much stuff might also not be too good.

Download DriverCleaner or whatever other cleaner application. Install etc.

At boot, press F8 to go to the Windows Startup Menu and select Safe Mode.

Run DriverCleaner and clean out all the stuff you're leaving behind.

If there is still stuff left you need gone, go to Device Manager, do a right-click on the device you want to get rid of and select "Uninstall"...

After you're all done, reboot into Safe Mode again, doublecheck, then Shutdown.

Install your HDD in your new machine.

Rejoice :D
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
hmm.... my english must be degrading :p sry, don't really understand what you want.... stupid montreal laws forced me into a french school since the past 5 years :(
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#6
hmm.... my english must be degrading :p sry, don't really understand what you want.... stupid montreal laws forced me into a french school since the past 5 years :(
He wants to reuse his old HD with windows on it without doing a reformat/OS install.

Persoanally, I don't think it's possible to do without having driver issues. And even at that, the first time windows boots up, it's gonna detect the major hardware change and deactivate.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
700 (0.19/day)
Likes
78
System Name HAL9000
Processor i5 3750k @ stock
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 Vapor-X GHz 3GB
Storage Samsung Evo 850 256GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411T @ 144Hz
Case anidees AI6BW
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Software W10 64bit
#7
WHAT HE MEANS IS - He can't RE-INSTALL windows but HE wants to use his current Windows that's on his computer now in his new computer
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#8
Ohhhhhhhhhhh I get it... thxs you two... buw wouldn't you need similar hardware in that case?
and Charper... hate to say this but... there are others ways to get any windows at the best price ever... (0$)... hopefully no mods will see this post :p
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Mods see everything...

And yes, the Windows Feedback Program is an excellent legitimate way to get free copies of Windows :p
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.02/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#10
Well as I said, you basically have to clean out every single driver connected to your motherboard, and if you're changing other stuff like graphics cards etc. you need to get them off too.

If it is at all possible to migrate your Windows like this, my best guess is to do it in safe mode as I described.