• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New HDD showing up in BIOS but not Windows?

Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.22/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#1
Just bought a 300GB Raptor to put my games on. The BIOS shows the drive and Western Digitals little diagnostic service shows the device as well but it will not show up in my computer. SMART test shows the drive is functioning properly.

System Info:
MSI 790FX GD70
2x500GB WD Black (Raid 0)
1x300GB WD Raptor

Any help is appreciated.

Wasted

P.S. I also noticed on the WD Diagnostic my RAID is showing up as IDE, i think i saw a setting in the BIOS to change that to SATA, will that do anything?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
Controlpanel>computer management(from administrative tools)>disk management>rightclick drive>activate.







MAKE SURE ALL DISCS LISTED AS ONLINE, MOST LIKELY THE DISC IN QUESTION IS NOT

 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.22/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#3
What Cluster Size should I use? Only storing games on it?

EDIT: Thanks for Images :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
use the "default". others may be faster, I suppose, but they have defaults for a reason, so unless RAID'ed, I don't bother changing allocation size.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.22/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#5
Whats a good allocation size for my raid then with Windows and mainly all other files on it? And can you read my P.S in the original post about my RAID. Appreciate all the help cadaveca.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
To be honest, it seems it kinda depends on what controller, and the RAID type.

But I don't know what's best, really, I usually use 64k or 128k, depending on the overall RAID size. Alas, I am no expert when it comes to drives...but I could give you manual settings for your ram! :laugh:


I guess that's something I should brush up on, been a while since I even considered anything with RAID, other than short-stroking(smaller partitions at front) the drives.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
To be honest, it seems it kinda depends on what controller, and the RAID type.

But I don't know what's best, really, I usually use 64k or 128k, depending on the overall RAID size.
yea i used 128K on my raid 0 setup and it runs good.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.22/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#8
To be honest, it seems it kinda depends on what controller, and the RAID type.

But I don't know what's best, really, I usually use 64k or 128k, depending on the overall RAID size. Alas, I am no expert when it comes to drives...but I could give you manual settings for your ram! :laugh:


I guess that's something I should brush up on, been a while since I even considered anything with RAID, other than short-stroking teh drives.
I do love manual settings :), what do you need to know :toast:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
Mem depends on the IC on the sticks, and the chosen platform.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#10
The higher the stripe the lower the overall capacity of the array; but performance will be increased. :)

You can leave the HDD config to RAID, it may show up as IDE under that and its fine.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
508 (0.18/day)
Likes
207
Location
Edmonton, AB, Canada
System Name Project Neverending
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus X Hero
Cooling Corsair HX 115i
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Video Card(s) (2) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME, 2 Samsung 850 Evo 1TB, 1 Seagate Barracuda 4 TB for backups
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 (3840X2160), 2 Samsung 2443's
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi
Power Supply Corsair AX 860i
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 28591 - Fire Strike 14300 - Time Spy Updates coming soon ®
#11
Whats a good allocation size for my raid then with Windows and mainly all other files on it? And can you read my P.S in the original post about my RAID. Appreciate all the help cadaveca.
Cluster size doesn't really matter. Or it does. Opinions vary to the extreme of both ends. Google and do a ton of reading.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/244059-32-raid-cluster-size-change

There are just as many opinions on Stripe size. Really, best thing to do is just test on your own hardware. But generally don't expect more than a 5% improvement uness something is drastically off with the current setup.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.22/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#12
Alright, thanks everyone for the information! Hope this thread helps someone else as well.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,715 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#13
I always hate having more than 16k cluster size on partitions that have Winblows on them (so many < 1k files!), but I don't have a RAID setup or 1300 GBs to waste.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#14
Thanyou for this info, it also helped me out to cadaveca, cheers bro:toast: