• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New i5 or just mobo?

fango

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I would like to upgrade mbo & processor, at first I thought just for the ssd reason, but since mbo is sata II I'm not sure that's wise at the moment. I stuck on a processor really since i5 3570 is way too expensive (or at least 2500), and if I get the new i3 it is really downgrade in comparison with the present i5 750, or should I just replace the plate?, any advice? .. thank you!


Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3R
QuadCore Intel Core i5 750, 3116 MHz
Corsair XMS3 CM3X2G1333C9 2x2GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Corsair VX550W
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
thats intel for you. But Honestly what is your purpose for upgrading this time?

Your CPU in Turbo should operate at 3.2GHz and normally at 2.4GHz, and I believe that is a S Model CPU you have there
 
Last edited:

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,437 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
#3
You can still run Intel's RST in that setup using an SSD. i3 even the Ivy Bridge variant is not better compared to that 750 for what you're intentions are. Just keep that setup, it's more than sufficient.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
You can still run Intel's RST in that setup using an SSD. i3 even the Ivy Bridge variant is not better compared to that 750 for what you're intentions are. Just keep that setup, it's more than sufficient.
I agree with you dude. People are still running machines with skt 1366 core i7 920 processor.

To OP you can overclock that CPU beyond turbo speed if you have the proper cooling for it and i dont mean the stock heatsink, it will be FSB only since the multiplier is locked from going higher.

Honestly 1366, 1156, AM2+, AM3 are still capable and pretty fast today. Honestly Id wait 1 to 2 more gens before a upgrade is really needed.

Also You dont need SATA 3 to run SSDs either as SATA II isnt saturated.

My Bros Machine with a PH II 555 BE unlocked to 955 BE with a 970 board and a Seagate 7200.12 drive boots in less than a minute using windows 7 Home Premium. The machine is over a year old now but its as fast as it was when i powered it up the first time.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
Actually SATA II can get saturated by today's SSDs... though even on SATA I an SSD is faster than a spinner any day of the year, including leap years.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#8
SSDs really shine because of their access time (.1ms vs ~15ms on a spinner) and their random 4k read/write speeds, which are over 20MB/s where a spinner struggles to get 1MB/s. I doubt going from SATA II to SATA III would help much, the benefits are already there.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
I know, ssd will work on sata II, but limited on sata II speed
It will still be way faster then a platter drive. I say go for it :rockout:

Then wait till you have the cash for a proper upgrade
 

fango

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
Ok then, I'll keep this configuration for sometime + ssd upgrade


thanks for advices!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
SSDs really shine because of their access time (.1ms vs ~15ms on a spinner) and their random 4k read/write speeds, which are over 20MB/s where a spinner struggles to get 1MB/s. I doubt going from SATA II to SATA III would help much, the benefits are already there.
considering even a Pentium 2,3,4 or AMD K6, K7, K8 would definitely benefit from such a drive
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
I have a SSD in my HTPC that is only SATA II and it boots in 42 sec
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13