• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New pc build freezing in game

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
Cpu:AMD ryzen 5 3600
Mobo:Gigabyte x570 gaming x
Ram:2x8gb ram corsair
Gpu:Gigabyte geforce gtx 1650 windforce
Ssd: samsung 500gb
Psu:evga supernova 650g+

So I've been pulling my hair out trying to figure this problem out. My games keep crashing randomly. Sometimes its after just a couple minutes and theres been times I've been able to play for a few hours. Although lately it hasnt made it more then half an hour before crashing. When it crashes the screen usually goes all white and the sound freezes. I have to manually shutdown and restart the computer.

All the parts are brand new and all drivers are up to date. I took back the gpu and swapped it for another brand new one and still same problem. I ran memtest on the ram with 0 errors. I originally had the corsair cx650m and swapped to the brand new evga, still crashes. I've completely formatted the ssd and reinstalled windows 10 and all the drivers, still same issues.

I just dont understand, I've run multiple stress tests and nothing will cause the computer to crash until I try a game. The games I have are cs go, pubg, star craft 2 and apex legends. Cs , pubg, and sc will crash every time whereas apex hasnt ever crashed for me. I haven't played it that much though because for some reason origin thinks I'm offline. Cs seems to only crash in competitive mode and not casual mode. Not too sure if this is a graphics card issue or not.
Anyways if anyways can help it would be greatly appreciated.



 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,755 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Could be that your ram isnt on the motherboards QVL list... AMD CPus are incredibly fussy with ram. though its supposed to have gotten better with the new generation of AMD chips.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,529 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
can you look at event viewer to see if the crashes are logged?
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
728 (1.45/day)
Location
Cusp Of Mania, FL
System Name humble reentry to pc-building after too many years
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 [4.0GHz @ 1.1v]
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F
Cooling Dark Rock 4 [CPU] 2x 140mm Corsair ML140's [front intake]
Memory 2x8GB TridentZ RGB [3200Mhz 14-14-14-28-42 @ 1.37vCore/.98vSoc]
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RTX 2060 OC
Storage 970 EVO 500GB nvme, 860 EVO 250GB SATA, Seagate Barracuda 1GB HDD
Display(s) 32" Samsung F395 [1080/60]
Case NZXT S340 Elite
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber, Sys, Vali 2, Scarlett 2i2 gen2 - LSR 305's, DT-990 Pro's, HD600's
Power Supply Corsair RM650x v2
Mouse iunno whatever cheap crap logitech *clutches Xbox 360 controller security blanket*
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Nothing too impressive, but it serves me well. Good to be fully back in it with a decent build!
One that's RAM. Either incompatibility, bad xmp profile, bad overclock. Less often it's a bad CPU overclock.

Once I had this problem due to dust in the RAM slot.

And RAM can be funky. You can be error free for two months and still have sporadic but aggressive crashes out of the blue, even though the problem is technically always present.

I know Ryzen 3 has had some issues in general, though somebody else will have to chime in there. I might ask if you've grabbed your latest stable, non-beta bios yet, though
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,572 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Making a bootable memtest USB stick and running it overnight/for a full check is never a bad idea. Also try reseating your RAM, double-checking that all power connectors are all the way inserted, etc.
 

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
So I've run the memtest twice and both times came up 0 errors. Even tho theres no errors, the ram could still be the issue?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,416 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Corsair ram and gigabyte motherboard, go figure, clear cmos update the motherboard bios, clear cmos, reboot save defaults then only utilize docp.

GA boards ive seen in the past be really a brat with memory compatibility

So I've run the memtest twice and both times came up 0 errors. Even tho theres no errors, the ram could still be the issue?
Switch brands, Gskill, Crucial, Patriot, Mushkin, ADATA, Team, Geil
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
68 (0.12/day)
With any new operating system, the first thing I do is install a slew of runtime software. Recommend downloading using the link and installing this pack:


I've had issues in the past with games on Windows 10 and so this type of software pack has been great for preventing software-related problems.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,416 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
With any new operating system, the first thing I do is install a slew of runtime software. Recommend downloading using the link and installing this pack:


I've had issues in the past with games on Windows 10 and so this type of software pack has been great for preventing software-related problems.
I patch the OS as far as i can go using askwoody.com
 

MvSlainXVII

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
2 (0.09/day)
Location
Nepal
The Corsair RAM's are not the effective choice to pick as Corsair are bit swaying into intel side as they make intel compatible RAM's. Plus your GA board always is picky about the RAM. Plus there are some error in new Ryzen 3rd Gen CPU and motherboard mainly on the x570 boards as the manfracturers are trying to send the new bios updates. Try updating the BIOS and better to get Gskills ram as tbey are more compatible with Ryzen series.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,755 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
The Corsair RAM's are not the effective choice to pick as Corsair are bit swaying into intel side as they make intel compatible RAM's
proof?

I l know XMP is an intel thing but that works with AMD too. AMD tend to be fussy with the ram chips used and if the ram is double sided or single sided but thats about it.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,529 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
if you're passing memtests it would seem that it is not a hardware issue.

not sure that a new ramkit is going to do anything but keep us in the loop!
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
857 (0.21/day)
Processor Intel Core i3-8100
Motherboard ASRock H370 Pro4
Cooling Cryorig M9i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Aegis DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 WindForce OC 3GB
Storage Crucial MX500 512GB SSD
Display(s) Dell S2316M LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
The Corsair RAM's are not the effective choice to pick as Corsair are bit swaying into intel side as they make intel compatible RAM's.
Gigabyte doesn't agree with you; see below.

@Battlepants: Did you check the QVL memory list (for AMD Matisse CPU) to see if your specific Corsair RAM is on it?
 

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
Gigabyte doesn't agree with you; see below.

@Battlepants: Did you check the QVL memory list (for AMD Matisse CPU) to see if your specific Corsair RAM is on it?
Yes the corsair ram that I have is on that list...
The reason I'm trying a different brand is because my mobo shows spd modules for the ram as "0"

If it works yay if not I guess I'll have to try something else
 

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
Well it wasn't the brand of ram. Bought 2x8gb g.skill and still same crashing issue. I even bought a brand new ssd. Reset cmos fresh install of windows 10. Update chipset mobo and gpu drivers and still exact same crashing issue. Sigh
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,529 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
can you post your Event Viewer?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
366 (9.15/day)
System Name juat ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, amd sempron, athlon 64 x2
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, pcchips a15g, gigabyte am2/3 combo
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz (upto 3800 bcox it is abt hynix), x3 ddr2 ram 6400
Video Card(s) vega 8, asus strix 570, red dragon 580, xfx fatboy, ati 102, igame gtx 260+, rx580 nitro + 4gb
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) LG tv 768p with suported dsub/vga, dell vat 1080p, acer vgo 2k
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps with good setting:)
could be bad ram oc timing & voltage setup/ gpu drivers iteself, turn off ram xmp clock mode via bios uefi, also you might to reset default config to factory setup, i dont know abt your mobo but on my mobo msi, i just press f6 to reset all config, you can also replug cmos manualy for reset:)
 

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
could be bad ram oc timing & voltage setup/ gpu drivers iteself, turn off ram xmp clock mode via bios uefi, also you might to reset default config to factory setup, i dont know abt your mobo but on my mobo msi, i just press f6 to reset all config, you can also replug cmos manualy for reset:)
Thx I will try disabling the xmp mode when I have time this weekend.
 

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
could be bad ram oc timing & voltage setup/ gpu drivers iteself, turn off ram xmp clock mode via bios uefi, also you might to reset default config to factory setup, i dont know abt your mobo but on my mobo msi, i just press f6 to reset all config, you can also replug cmos manualy for reset:)
So the xmp mode has been disabled the whole time by default.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,529 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Battlepants in the event viewer, can you go to windows logs > application? There should be a failure there where the app crashed.

In that log it will tell you where the fault was, so that will help narrow down the issue.
 
Last edited:

Battlepants

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
16 (0.62/day)
Battlepants in the event viewer, can you go to windows logs > application? There should be a failure there where the app crashed.

In that log it will tell you where the fault was, so that will help narrow down the issue.
133175


basically just says it lost power unexpectedly?
nothing stood out to me in the applications tab
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,752 (4.33/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
41 63 is unlikely to be a hardware issue, often drivers or windows 10 power management, if you have all your chipset/Lan/Graphics drivers up to date (if not then update) then go into windows power management (System >>> Power & Sleep >>> Additional power settings) and make sure all hibernation/sleep states are off and you are set for high performance, once everything is geared towards max power performance, reboot and test.
 
Top