• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Pc Build (Keeps on rebooting and no display)

Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
55 (1.17/day)
Hello, my friend built a new rig and he has the problems as stated in the title. His pc doesnt boot to bios and keeps on rebooting with no display. He already reseated the ram. Tonight, i'll have him recheck the wire connectors. Besides that, any other suggestions? Oh yeah also, his mouse and keyboard lights up when plugged into the pc.
The rig is as stated:

Asrock b450m steel legend
Ryzen 5 2600 with stock cooler
Kingston Hyperx Fury 8gb 3200mhz x 2
Zotac Rtx 2060 Twin Fan
Corsair Cx550m grey version
Silicon Power NVMe PCIe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 SSD 1tb
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,797 (1.36/day)
Location
Long Island
Unfortunately, budget builds are kinda limited on troubleshooting options.... No diagnostic display or LEDs that i saw, AsRock maauals I find tend to be a bit brief.... no troubleshooting section.


1. Check the manual, are RAM sticks in the correct slots ? (A2 and B2 ... 2nd and 4th left to right from CPU))
2. Is CPU Fan plugged in ?
3. Is the 24 pin Power **AND** 8 pin 12V power plugged in ?
4. GFX card 8 pin PCI-E power cable plugged in ?
5. Have you used the monitor menu / OSD to select proper input setting (HDMI / DP)
6, Is GFX card in PCIE2 slot below "AsRock" logo ? ... (seems hard to do otherwise)
7. Have you used the Jumper to reset CMOS (page 27)
8. Not a fan of CX series PSUs ...even the gray ones, but shouldn't be an issue here.
9. All MoBo screws in tight ? No extra standoffs used ?
10. Cooler fully secured ?
11. What is boot order set to ?
12. Is OS media in place to boot from ?
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
15 (0.36/day)
Processor Intel Core i5-10400
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490 Gaming X AX
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB DDR4 3733
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1080
Storage PNY XLR8 CS3030 2TB NVMe (x2) / Seagate Exos 8TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q
Case Antec P101 Silent
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber / Schiit Valhalla 2 / HD650
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux MX Blue
Software Win 10 Pro 2004
Benchmark Scores Not the lowest, not the highest.
Just a possibility - That type of behavior could be the power and/or reset cable connections reversed on the motherboard.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
55 (1.17/day)
Unfortunately, budget builds are kinda limited on troubleshooting options.... No diagnostic display or LEDs that i saw, AsRock maauals I find tend to be a bit brief.... no troubleshooting section.


1. Check the manual, are RAM sticks in the correct slots ? (A2 and B2 ... 2nd and 4th left to right from CPU))
2. Is CPU Fan plugged in ?
3. Is the 24 pin Power **AND** 8 pin 12V power plugged in ?
4. GFX card 8 pin PCI-E power cable plugged in ?
5. Have you used the monitor menu / OSD to select proper input setting (HDMI / DP)
6, Is GFX card in PCIE2 slot below "AsRock" logo ? ... (seems hard to do otherwise)
7. Have you used the Jumper to reset CMOS (page 27)
8. Not a fan of CX series PSUs ...even the gray ones, but shouldn't be an issue here.
9. All MoBo screws in tight ? No extra standoffs used ?
10. Cooler fully secured ?
11. What is boot order set to ?
12. Is OS media in place to boot from ?
Just a possibility - That type of behavior could be the power and/or reset cable connections reversed on the motherboard.
Hey guys, thanks for the reply. I manage to fix it with my friend. I have no idea what happened but the steps i took was telling him to
1) Check cpu and motherboard power connectors.
2) Reinstall the gpu
3) Reseating the ram firmly this time (I believe this has to be the solution)
4) It's quite unlikely that is the answer but it may be. The hdd led front panel connector was connected in the wrong polarity so it was reversed back as well.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,742 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
just test turn it on without ram or NVMe
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
15 (0.36/day)
Processor Intel Core i5-10400
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490 Gaming X AX
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB DDR4 3733
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1080
Storage PNY XLR8 CS3030 2TB NVMe (x2) / Seagate Exos 8TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q
Case Antec P101 Silent
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber / Schiit Valhalla 2 / HD650
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux MX Blue
Software Win 10 Pro 2004
Benchmark Scores Not the lowest, not the highest.
Hey guys, thanks for the reply. I manage to fix it with my friend. I have no idea what happened but the steps i took was telling him to
1) Check cpu and motherboard power connectors.
2) Reinstall the gpu
3) Reseating the ram firmly this time (I believe this has to be the solution)
4) It's quite unlikely that is the answer but it may be. The hdd led front panel connector was connected in the wrong polarity so it was reversed back as well.
Glad that it was sorted out! Nothing worse than putting everything together, hitting the power button, and, ..... nothing. :cry:
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,926 (0.33/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 5700 XT Red Dragon
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Fractal Node 304
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
how i test a board, i simply don't connect any front panel connectors, i just short the power pins, i also use one stick of ram and no sata/nvme
 
Top