• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New RAM New Mobo VISTA IS STILL SLOW!!!

Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#51
Vista x64 with 8gb of ram is quite funny as it still directs programs to the page file, even if it has 6.5gb-ish worth of free ram! :laugh:

I've seen a few people put set their page file at the lowest (along with Tom's article), just so they can force apps to use the full 8gb. They tried to fill the ram with many programs, Adobe CS3, Maya, and other programs, still no crashes. Grant it, those are 32 bit applications, so they can only address a maximum 4gb-ish worth of ram, but still.

http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/02/15/vista_workshop/index.html

Its a bit risky, but until more programs are 64bit, 8gb+ Vista x64 users can set their page file very low. This forces Windows to use its ram, and there's also a nice little performance increase as well when you do this. :D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,551
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#52
Vista x64 with 8gb of ram is quite funny as it still directs programs to the page file, even if it has 6.5gb-ish worth of free ram! :laugh:

I've seen a few people put set their page file at the lowest (along with Tom's article), just so they can force apps to use the full 8gb. They tried to fill the ram with many programs, Adobe CS3, Maya, and other programs, still no crashes. Grant it, those are 32 bit applications, so they can only address a maximum 4gb-ish worth of ram, but still.

http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/02/15/vista_workshop/index.html

Its a bit risky, but until more programs are 64bit, 8gb+ Vista x64 users can set their page file very low. This forces Windows to use its ram, and there's also a nice little performance increase as well when you do this. :D
i'm not opposed to that so long as people realise 'low' doesnt mean 'off'
some apps are just dumb, and use the page file by default to optimise for low mem systems (older photoshops did this)
More or less, keep it over 256MB for the crap programs, and raise it if you get suspicious errors. i use a 2GB page file, but thats just habit really.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#54
i haven't installed the SP1, and FYI its not my harddrive as it scored a 5.4 out of 5.9....
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#55
i haven't installed the SP1, and FYI its not my harddrive as it scored a 5.4 out of 5.9....

Run Prime95 Torture test to see if your CPU or RAM is failing. Its possible.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#56
i seriously think its my graphics card...i think it is half shot..LOL....will run some tests.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#57
but it can't be, i play FEAR with it... and that runs fine 0.0
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#58
You probably have viruses in the boot sector. lulz
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#59
O.O that would be DEATH! O.O
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#60
Use dban to clear it all out..... it takes like six hours but there is absolutely nothing left when its done..... it nukes all the info :respect:(zeros everything out!):D
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#61
6 hrs :eek:. I suppose it does depend on what HDD you have and the capacity but it only takes dban 30-40mins to wipe my 160gb raid setup.
But yeah, whenever I'm doing a fresh install I always dban first.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#62
6 hrs :eek:. I suppose it does depend on what HDD you have and the capacity but it only takes dban 30-40mins to wipe my 160gb raid setup.
But yeah, whenever I'm doing a fresh install I always dban first.
I had a massive fileserver I used it on at work. It was around 8TB of data backed up on Harddrives though. It was Raid aswell. :)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#63
8TB :eek: . LOL! No wonder.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#64
1. Turn off System Protection
2. Turn off Windows Search (in services.msc)
3. Move swap file to you secound disk
4. remove all the non need stuff from startup (in msconfig.exe)
5. install newest drivers...
6. Get a proper antivirus aka NOD32, most norton and others just slow down vista & xp
7. minimum 1GB RAM recommended (2GB prefered)
8. if that dont work try getting a new graphics card like radeon 3650/3850/3870 etc, if Aero aka shiny new interface is slow

hope this helps
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#65
I ended up reformatting (slow\full) and threw xp pro on it, was sick of vista.....already missing the gui tho.....:(.....LOL GOOD RIDDANCE!!!!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,551
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#66
I ended up reformatting (slow\full) and threw xp pro on it, was sick of vista.....already missing the gui tho.....:(.....LOL GOOD RIDDANCE!!!!
have fun with XP.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#67
AAHH FRUSTRATION!!!!!!!!!!
it is still sluggish 0.0......
it should have PLENTY OF SPEED in XP -.- could it be the CRAPPY ECS mobo??
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,551
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#68
and now we feel bad for blaming vista, dont we?

Yes, yes you do. (lol)

it could be anything. Make sure the hard drives are in UDMA mode, ram is running at full speed in dual channel, PCI-E slot is not stuck in 1x, and then check to make sure CPU clocks are correct. CPU-Z can tell you most of that.