• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New Realtek 2.57 X-fi modded drivers available

Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#26
crack apply fine in safe-mode, erro show is no compatibile sound card, iam installed moded drivers but won'twork, try include my Hardware string in inf dont work.

Iam Use win7 x64 whit Gigabyte x58UD3 motherboard. Realtek 889 codec.

tanks.
You've done everything I would've. Just make sure your INF mod is to the "HDXCR.inf".

You'll want to do two things first though: Uninstall EVERYTHING Audio Driver related --including deleting/moving the driver folders from %WINDIR%\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository also, I find sorting by Date-Descending [newest on top] works easier -- to make sure nothing older is being installed on accident since the INF has been modified and no longer WHQL. Also uninstall everything Creative related, including everything from the less obvious directories like App Data, Program Data and Common Files (in Program Files, check both normal and "(x86)" folders).

Reboot after that, reinstall drivers, reboot again, install Creative X-Fi MB. I don't think there is any difference between X-Fi MB and X-Fi MB2, either. Actually, from what I can tell is that MB2 is less feature packed it seems, but does have like one additional thing (not that I remember exactly what that is).

If that still doesn't help, I would say do like Bo$$ said and hit up the DriverHeaven forums. All I know about with this mod is from what I've read, and through many hours of trial and error (mostly error :laugh:).
 

bad.wolf

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#27
You've done everything I would've. Just make sure your INF mod is to the "HDXCR.inf".

You'll want to do two things first though: Uninstall EVERYTHING Audio Driver related --including deleting/moving the driver folders from %WINDIR%\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository also, I find sorting by Date-Descending [newest on top] works easier -- to make sure nothing older is being installed on accident since the INF has been modified and no longer WHQL. Also uninstall everything Creative related, including everything from the less obvious directories like App Data, Program Data and Common Files (in Program Files, check both normal and "(x86)" folders).

Reboot after that, reinstall drivers, reboot again, install Creative X-Fi MB. I don't think there is any difference between X-Fi MB and X-Fi MB2, either. Actually, from what I can tell is that MB2 is less feature packed it seems, but does have like one additional thing (not that I remember exactly what that is).

If that still doesn't help, I would say do like Bo$$ said and hit up the DriverHeaven forums. All I know about with this mod is from what I've read, and through many hours of trial and error (mostly error :laugh:).
Tanks! finaly work , but only eax 4 and no thx, any solution for eax5 and THX ?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#28
Tanks! finaly work , but only eax 4 and no thx, any solution for eax5 and THX ?
You don't want THX, trust me. Well ok I can't say that, but I've done everything I can think of to get both X-Fi and THX working at the same time. I think if it was possible, ASRock wouldn't done it, but you can only pick one at a time. The BIOS on my 890FX lets me pick EITHER: X-Fi or THX, it changes the Device ID for the VT2020 :D

EAX4 is all you can get in software, sorry heh
 

bad.wolf

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#29
You don't want THX, trust me. Well ok I can't say that, but I've done everything I can think of to get both X-Fi and THX working at the same time. I think if it was possible, ASRock wouldn't done it, but you can only pick one at a time. The BIOS on my 890FX lets me pick EITHER: X-Fi or THX, it changes the Device ID for the VT2020 :D

EAX4 is all you can get in software, sorry heh
look's this page http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3776#sp
Realtek ALC889 codec
Support for X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity® and EAX® Advanced HD™ 5.0 technologies

with tis active THX Working fine?

Tanks guy!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#30
look's this page http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3776#sp
Realtek ALC889 codec
Support for X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity® and EAX® Advanced HD™ 5.0 technologies

with tis active THX Working fine?

Tanks guy!
If you want to ZIP the .inf files from the drivers package found here:
ftp://download.gigabyte.ru/driver/mb_driver_audio_creative_sb.exe

And post them, I'll take a look, but I don't have the monthly bandwidth to spare on that :( If I had a RealTek audio chip on my board I might, but I have a VIA VT2020.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,298
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#31
I had no idea Via was still making audio chipsets. i thought everyone was buying into realtek
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#32
I had no idea Via was still making audio chipsets. i thought everyone was buying into realtek
Only the higher end boards would seem to use the VIA codecs, but I haven't seen any recently use them :( I like the sound better from it, at least compared to the ALC892A on the Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H I had before this FX. I wish more would use the audio codec on a PCIe x1 card like some of the boards have :)

The REALLY high end sound cards (studio grade) use VIA's audio chips though; the Envy24.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,298
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#33
and Asus is still using relabled Realtek oxygen chips for their high end sound cards lol.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#34

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,298
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#35
Oh yeah -- my bad, but yeah i knew that. Asus has claimed to make its 'own' audio chip for the Xonar STX's but its just a rebadged Oxygen pretty much
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#36
Does this work? I'll try it tomorrow (well after I sleep lol) with a Realtek ALC892.
 

bad.wolf

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#37
If you want to ZIP the .inf files from the drivers package found here:
ftp://download.gigabyte.ru/driver/mb_driver_audio_creative_sb.exe

And post them, I'll take a look, but I don't have the monthly bandwidth to spare on that :( If I had a RealTek audio chip on my board I might, but I have a VIA VT2020.
this links wont contain any .inf or driver file, this is only X-FI MB 2 aplication!

in teory this contain compatible .inf http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Driver/mb_driver_audio_realtek_azalia_g1.exe

but a lot off .inf 's HDX*****.INF, examples ,
HDXCR.inf
HDXC.inf
HDXC2.inf
HDXC3.inf
HDXCNB.inf
HDXTHX.inf
HDXTHX2.inf
HDXTHXD.inf

and more.


Obs. High end studios using Focusrite, Digidesig, M-audio, Alesis and others audio Intarfaces! VIA, Realtek, C-media, Creative, etc. is consumer sound's.

tanks!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#39
this links wont contain any .inf or driver file, this is only X-FI MB 2 aplication!

in teory this contain compatible .inf http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Driver/mb_driver_audio_realtek_azalia_g1.exe

but a lot off .inf 's HDX*****.INF, examples ,
HDXCR.inf
HDXC.inf
HDXC2.inf
HDXC3.inf
HDXCNB.inf
HDXTHX.inf
HDXTHX2.inf
HDXTHXD.inf

and more.
So that link I provided is only for X-Fi MB2? It's not a driver pack, even though it says "driver" in the name? :\

Obs. High end studios using Focusrite, Digidesig, M-audio, Alesis and others audio Intarfaces! VIA, Realtek, C-media, Creative, etc. is consumer sound's.
I'm not a studio audio person, but I know for a fact that M-Audio cards use VIA chips :rolleyes::
http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/media_hqpics/Audiophile2496.jpg
http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/product_pics/big/web_main_pic_Delta1010.jpg (you might not be able to tell it's a VIA, but I can because...)
http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/media_hqpics/AP192card&cable_RGB.jpg (...it's the same chip as this one)
Their other pictures have photoshopped "M" logos over the chips, but I'm sure they wouldn't change their chip since that would require PCB retooling, rewriting drivers, etc.

I've also seen C-Media's OxygenHD used on cards as well, but it's 2am and I can't sit around to find them lol
 

RanCorX2

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#40
Has anyone tried it on the ALC888S codec? I've tried a shed load of x-fi softwares and various modded drivers but they all say "unsupported device", really annoying, my last laptop had ALC6...something and the x-fi software worked fine :(

There was a user on here "seriousclown" who got it working on the ALC888S quite some time ago but when I pm'd him, he couldn't remember which version it was.

And I kinda refuse to give up till I get the software to load!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#41
Has anyone tried it on the ALC888S codec? I've tried a shed load of x-fi softwares and various modded drivers but they all say "unsupported device", really annoying, my last laptop had ALC6...something and the x-fi software worked fine :(

There was a user on here "seriousclown" who got it working on the ALC888S quite some time ago but when I pm'd him, he couldn't remember which version it was.

And I kinda refuse to give up till I get the software to load!
Have you read this whole thread thus far?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#43
yea, but I glazed over at some point, i also read the entire last thread too. Basically your saying it doesn't work, I get you.

;)
heh Actually I just wanted to keep from repeating myself by telling you what I earlier told Bad.Wolf what to try. Have you done those steps? Also if you haven't read this whole thread you might be missing a key component that needs applying in safe-mode.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,313 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#45
My MSI mobo which has the Realtek ALC892 chip and supports X-Fi. Not sure if these ones posted on here actually work but the ones from MSI do with all software and MSI call them Sound Blaster X-Fi MB 2 and they are on version 1.0 at this time.

They have realtek drivers there and THX TruStudio Pro drivers too.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,050 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,784
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#46
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#47
My MSI mobo which has the Realtek ALC892 chip and supports X-Fi. Not sure if these ones posted on here actually work but the ones from MSI do with all software and MSI call them Sound Blaster X-Fi MB 2 and they are on version 1.0 at this time.

They have realtek drivers there and THX TruStudio Pro drivers too.
That's totally different then the people who's boards DON'T support it. The thing that the drivers do is look at two things: First for the chip (Device IDm or DEV_), in your case ALC892, then at the Subsystem ID (SUBSYS_). So having an ALC892 won't do anything, because people aren't matching the Subsys ID, and so the drivers just install the usual Realtek files.

Example, this is from the laptop I'm on, which has no THX or X-Fi MB support.
HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0268&SUBSYS_1179FF66

My chip is the ALC268, and To indicate it's in a Toshiba laptop (a certain line, or range of models I suspect) is the 1179FF66. The modded drivers just remove all SubsysID portions, and make it install the X-Fi MB drivers for all Realtek's chips.

BUT that is only half the battle and is why most people still get the "No matching devices" error, as the X-Fi MB Suite has it's own set of device list files that looks for a match with your system. If it doesn't find it... well that's the result :) This is from the first set of modded drivers which would manage to trick the X-Fi MB suite into working by just installing the files and renaming some parts of the device strings to say X-Fi.

Even then you need a product key, otherwise it's just a 30-day trial. I don't think the Safe-Mode mod addresses that, but I really don't know since my VIA chip is supported and I only have to enter a product key.

(Don't take all of this as fact either, this is just what I've surmised through my own fooling around with drivers to try and get it working on my Gigabyte 890GPA, before I knew about the files that need patching in safe-mode. The fine technical details might be wrong, but overall it gives enough of an idea of how things work.)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#48
Over at driverheaven.net there is modded 2.59 Realtek and Soundmax drivers plus X-fi MB 1.2 and 1.3.

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/pax-drivers/209050-realtek-soundmax-modds-sb-x-fi-mb-1-2-a.html
This here seems to work... it enables perfectly on my ALC 892, if i install it in English! (activator is in the thread,if your search for it)
Crystalizer, CMSS 3D and EAX can be used, dunno if it works, as i normally listen to uncompressed digital,software surround coding is not too useful for me:D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#49
Oh and also, I don't know why anyone would need to get the modded drivers, either. Just need the X-Fi MB stuff.

To 'mod' the drivers only takes adding in your Device ID (don't need Subsys), or I'd assume that what they did in the HDA.inf/HDX.inf, putting in just this would work:
"Realtek High Definition audio" = IntcAzAudModel, HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC

Keep in mind though that you'll want to remove all the other INF files, leaving just the one you want, in order to be able to easily pick out which one you've modded in the Device Manager's "Update Driver" selection list, otherwise a number of different ones will show up, all saying "Realtek High Definition audio" :p

Also Windows will complain about unsigned drivers, since you've modded a file, so you'll have to tell it everything is OK and still install 'em.